We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Santa Ana
Ranked #61 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay at Casa Santa Ana with our baby. Karina made the process very easy from the time we decided to contact them about the rooms. Emails were respoded in a timely manner and all the questions were answered before we arrived.

Special requets were ready at the time of our arrival (crib, additional bed) and they had no problem moving things around the room as we asked.

The ladies who really pampered us: Iso, Gloria, Heidi and Estela treated us like the owners. Even watching the baby so we could enjoy our breakfast. :-)

Good: everything, but to name a few things: spa, Laura and Katrina's tips about things to do/ see in the city, roof top pool with view of the fort, bicycles, etc.

Bad: nothing

Neutral: a bit of noise from the street if you get the suite. Only from the first level (bed is on the second level)
it is about a 5min walk from the old town.

Overall, when we return to Cartagena, we will probably stay at Casa Santa Ana.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJnKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    46
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
85
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved staying at Hotel Casa Santa Ana. The room was beautiful and the hotel is very nice and stylishly decorated. The pool on the roof was awesome and a life saver in the heat. The service was impeccable, with someone waiting to assist you with a smile at all times. They even left us some little cakes and a pitcher of cold water in our room for our last night. We have read lots of reviews saying that the Getsemani neighborhood is not nice, but we personally preferred the Getsemani area to the overly touristy, very expensive san diego/walled city area. It felt way more authentic, especially hanging around the Trinidad church area in the evenings, where there was so much life and it really felt like we were getting a sense of the local life. Also, the food vendors in the Trinidad church area were awesome! The juice lady makes the best jugo de maricuya and the salchipapas were amazing. There are also two great restaurants on the other side of the church across from the hotel: Cafe Trinidad and Cafe di silvio or something like that, both very good! All in all, we loved staying at this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

in Oct 2010, Suddenly my travel agency changed the Boutique hotel I´ve chosed for Cartagena. It was one of the best things to do! I regret having this as a solo trip, cause the place is definitely romantic, but the staff was so great in making me feel like a queen ( I had the luck of being the only one guess for two days) , so I get spoiled at the most! Breakfast great, chocolates in my bedroom, and decoration as fantastic as I could see. Located at Getsemani town, it gave me the oportunity to walk to arrive to Old Carthagena. Conveniently located a couple of blocks of the night life bar zone!..Very cozy place but I absolutely loved the service. No doubt when married, I have to return here!. Weather? absolutely delicious beach-like.

Room Tip: I´ve explored all rooms and couldn´t decide which one is better. There is a master suite for honemoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianaPDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this great boutique hotel. The staff was terrific; so accomodating and gracious! I loved the interior courtyard where breakfast was served each morning. We stayed one night in the 2 story room at the front of the hotel, which I would not recommend because we heard a lot of noise from the street. This is a nice choice if you are looking for a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed with a friend at Casa Santa Ana for 4 nights in total. Had a fantastic time! Rooms are beautiful, the hotel was interior designed and built only recenlty, keeping the old flair but combining with modern boutiquestyle, service is fantastic and the owner one of the nicest people we met during our trip. Extremely helpful in helping us organize a rental car and various other hotel bookings. The location of the Casa is really convenient and also much more interesting than in the boring touristy old town. During hot days we frequently made use of the pool on the rooftop which is small but ideal to relax and refresh after a hot day. I would always come back if I come back to Cartagena. Definitely 5 star rating!

Room Tip: Best room in my opinion is second floor, junior suite, however all of them are great and over the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Casa Santa Ana has quite a number of attributes that lead me to recommend it strongly.

1. Location next to Plaza Trinidad. You're now half a block from the center of Getsemani social life. You can come home after dinner, relax and clean up, and then head back downstairs to relax outdoors in a beautiful square with real Cartagenans and long-term expats while the tourists and cruisers remain in El Centro. Enjoy a refreshing juice, possibly with a shot of rum, and authentic street food and watch three generations of life around you. The peaceful little party goes until at least midnight every night.

2. Rooftop swimming pool with beautiful views of the city and El Convento. There's only five rooms total and probably only one other couple staying there. Go ahead and lose the swimsuits.

3. A young, friendly staff will bend over backwards to fulfill your needs. Enjoy a good breakfast and fresh fruit before you go out for a walk or field trip. Don't step on the little turtles crawling around the lobby.

4. The rooms themselves are very comfortable and adequately spacious. I think we didn't have hot water in the shower one out of the five mornings.

The only potential negative about Casa Santa Ana is that it is in Getsemani, which is not convenient if you think everything interesting in Cartagena is in El Centro and you consider a ten minute walk objectionable. In that case you might want to find a place in El Centro, and never leave the comfort of the inner walls. If you're really intrepid I have just two words - Mercado Bazurto.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzlangerhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

A gorgeous sweet immaculate boutique hotel with only 5 rooms. If you like cute boutiques this is great. It would have had 5* rating if it was inside the old town Walls. The service was so good with little treats every day in our room and everyone so happy to help. There is a sweet roof top terrace and mini pool which we felt like we had private use of which was great as Cartagena lacks a good beach. We loved the hotel and the people here but it is not your big glamourously sofitel santa Clara substitute.

So the old town versus getsamani debate. The old town is definitely the glitz and glamour and where you are likely to spend the time but it is without doubt touristville. Getsamani is a lot less polished but retains some great colonial facades and has a real soul with music enveloping you. We loved it but if you are an upmarket traveller you may prefer the old town. That said it is a 5 min walk to the clock tower entrance to the old town and a 2 min cab that the hotel will arrange for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#27 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#58 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa El Carretero
Casa El Carretero
#68 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#47 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel LM
Hotel LM
#37 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Ana

Property: Casa Santa Ana
Address: EL Carretero | Calle 29 No. 10B-34, Cartagena 05, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santa Ana is a tipical seventeenth century colonial house, located in the heart of getsemani, a central neighborhood of Cartagena de indias, every detail was restored preserving its original architecture, contrasting whit a contemporany decor convined whit handcrafted itemsand antiques. its a caribbean atmosphere where personal attention and confort will make you feel al home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Ana Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing