We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!”
Review of Casa Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Santa Ana
Ranked #68 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We loved Casa Santa Ana. The staff, service, location and our room were top notch. Yeimis spoke English, however the other staff did not. I had an opportunity to practice my rusty spanish! Breakfast was plentiful and well prepared. Although the B & B is outside of the old city, once we found our way, it was a 10 minute walk. We live in South Florida with a similar climate, but for some reason, it felt much hotter there. It´s probably wise to enjoy a relaxing lunch during the hottest time of day--between 12PM and 3PM. We found a great restaurant in the Bocagrande area called Restaurante Arabe. If you like Middle Eastern food, this restaurant serves authentic meals. Ismael, a waiter there, spoke perfect English.

We stayed 4 nights, but we think 3 nights would have been sufficient.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Delirio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

This B&B is a really cool & stylish place. We stayed just 1 night and a service, food and everything was perfect. Owners have a good taste when it comes to decoration. Rooftop pool is fabulous. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I were there for part of our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. We chose this as the last leg of our journey since from all the reviews here it seemed like the perfect quiet getaway ... and it was!! From the moment we were picked up by 2 of the ladies from our other hotel (normally it's airport pickup/drop off but they were more than happy to pick us up from a hotel in the area) the hospitality was amazing, they gave us tour guide-style informatino as we drove through the city. We got welcome beverages as we stepped in through the doors and it was exactly as the photos showed - beautiful, tranquile etc. We were given maps & directions of good places to go, where to avoid @ night etc - all very useful information.

They really value your privacy there and breakfast was amazing - we pre-ordered some of the local fare on their menu and it was all delicious. The room was spotless as was the entire house including the roof top pool and lounge area which are soooo relaxing. We spent an entire day up there and had lunch delivered for us there so we didn't need to leave at all.

The location was very close to the central area of the restaurants/entertainment - about a 7 minute cab ride. I'm sure we could have walked but we normally left at noon when it was very hot!

I would definitely go back again and recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet getaway with topnotch service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontogal_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Initially I must emphasize that we are an older, (by age!) baby boomer couple from Wisconsin without much tolerence for heat. While we loved the charm, warm service, and intimacy of the Casa Santa Ana, the intimidating heat and humidity of Cartagena knocked us out! Once we walked 2 blocks from the Casa towards the old city, we were wet from head to toe and burning more then Eldred Cleaver! Unfortunately, this made the 20 minute walk almost unbearable and we were unable to enjoy the obvious unblemished charm of Getsemani. This neighborhood has what every true traveler would want as it resonates with authenticity. Yet, because of the heat, we probably would choose a hotel in the heart of the old city next time. The Casa Santa Ana had air-conditioning and a refreshing roof top pool that we used several times a day, but the walk was just too much for us. (We are probably too spoiled.) Caratagena itself was gorgeous, but we searched out air-conditioning like an oasis in the Sahara. However, if you enjoy sun and heat, the Casa Santa Ana would be sublime.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We had a truly wonderful stay at Casa Santa Ana and highly recommend it, especially for couples. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and very romantic – each of the five rooms is unique and very comfortable. The rooftop is serene and also very functional—we appreciated being able to take a dip in the pool during the hot afternoons. These factors alone are enough for us to recommend Casa Santa Ana to future visitors. But what really blew us away was their amazing personalized customer service. Neither my boyfriend nor I know any Spanish, and hadn’t realized that English is quite uncommon in Cartagena. Jaime and Laura helped us immensely by calling local vendors to get any information we needed or to set up excursions we were interested in. This would have been very difficult for us otherwise. The entire staff was very warm and friendly, and took great care of us—by making sure we had everything we needed and leaving little treats in our room for us when we got back at the end of the day. After a few nights, we moved to a different hotel within the walled portion of the Old City—to experience a different neighborhood and be closer to a friend’s wedding—and we missed the tranquil luxury of Casa Santa Ana so much! In hindsight, we should have stayed there the whole time.

I was initially unsure of whether to stay in Getsemani because of what I’d read in other tripadvisor posts about safety and its location away from the Old City. I was surprised to realize that Getsemani is literally less than 5 minutes (walking) from Centro! Also, I want to emphasize that I felt incredibly safe! I really appreciated that Getsemani has fewer tourists, more local eateries (the ones in Centro are expensive), and a very relaxed charm to it. The plaza next to Casa Santa Ana is a great place to people watch in the evenings. There’s also a conveniently located shop down the street, where we could buy water, snacks, etc. Lastly, we called the US number on the website and made our reservations through Sylvia, which was very convenient. Thanks to everyone at Casa Santa Ana for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We went during carnaval (Cartagena's independence), although the streets were quite hectic we found tranquility in this wonderful hotel. This hotel is great, nicely decorated and the staff that worked here were amazingly helpful. The room we stayed in was fairly large and we were quite happy with our accomodations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttercup5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Everything about the facilities in the previous reviews is true. They are excellent. However the staff are what makes this a one of a kind facility. Their desire to please brings new meaning to customer service. The only slight negative is that for somebody that does not speak Spanish communication will be limited but not impossible. Don't let this stop you. They rival any boutique hotel in el centro

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkeyeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Casa El Carretero
Casa El Carretero
#89 of 159 in Cartagena
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 159 in Cartagena
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#40 of 159 in Cartagena
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#72 of 159 in Cartagena
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#61 of 159 in Cartagena
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Ana

Address: EL Carretero | Calle 29 No. 10B-34, Cartagena 05, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $130 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santa Ana is a tipical seventeenth century colonial house, located in the heart of getsemani, a central neighborhood of Cartagena de indias, every detail was restored preserving its original architecture, contrasting whit a contemporany decor convined whit handcrafted itemsand antiques. its a caribbean atmosphere where personal attention and confort will make you feel al home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Ana Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing