We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A piece of theatre set design not a hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lola
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A piece of theatre set design not a hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pretty interior design but with zero thought to safety. Beware this hotel is a real death trap, it's a matter of time before a guest is seriously injured or dies.

In the main staircase of the building there is no hand rail despite it being quite high. There is a shard glass balustrade with big sections missing on the other side.

In our room we had a 3m high platform over a stone floor with second bed. Totally inadequate wooden decorative handrails. No hand rails at all on the stairs up to this platform. The Staircase itself was very poorly constructed and was wobbly.

Highly slippery polished floor finish next to the swimming pool, caused our daughter a nasty fall.

Loud music from the street. Wifi didn't work. Two hour power cut. Shower was cold. Breakfast was poor. Coffee undrinkable.

Finally the quoted price of 280,000 was jacked up to over 400,00. Got hit by 90 000, extra charge for our six year old daughter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Swissdaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    113
    27
    16
    7
See reviews for
33
242
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a nice well-designed boutique hotel. The public spaces -- especially the garden where you have breakfast -- are lovely. However, the rooms are more stylish than they are functional. For example, the bathrooms are small and open to the room so there's little privacy. Overall I enjoyed the hotel, but I wish it had been located inside the old city walls.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
447 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found this property searching boutique hotels and for a change, it was true to it's word...
Amazing staff that really pulled out all the stops to make our stay perfect.
Breakfast was large and really good.
Easy access to the walled part of the city.
Fun fun fun and the perfect little secret for Cartagena...

Room Tip: All the rooms are well designed and face the interior courtyard. There are rooms that are larger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated on a quiet street a short walk from the Centro Historico although some of the surrounding area is a little down at heel. If i visited again i would book a hotel inside the walled old city itself rather than Getsemani.

The public areas are well decorated and stylish and I loved the courtyard with its tented seating areas and beautiful water features. The rooftop pool was also very nice.

First stay here was for one night in a standard room that was fine. However on returning after a short trip to Santa Marta the superior room I'd booked for three nights was poor. There was no hot water, the shower leaked water into the bedroom and I was woken at 7am every morning by the loud noise of a dozen or so air conditioning units on the roof above my room. I accept this is a small boutique hotel but I expected a better room for the $160 a night I paid.

To finish on a positive note, the breakfasts were tasty and the staff always very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

For a full experience, this is the place. Fancy but not upscale. Clean, great service, best location, good price and a wonderful rooftop pool (soon to be another as they are adding on to the rooftop patio). I cant say enough about this place. The photos dont do it justice. If you asked me to give a bad note, the only one I could give would be the lack of hot water in the shower, but that would be it. That in itself wasnt bad enough for us to even complain. Who knows, it may have been just our room and no one elses. We loved the fact that there are very few rooms. We also liked stepping out into the street and being around the locals. After hearing all the skeptisism about safety, we are happy to report we there was not one time we didnt feel safe moving around the city. I will try to write more later as my battery is very low.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at Casa Lola for four nights and was very impressed with the staff, the hotel and the location. I would highly recommend it.

Pros:
Amazing staff- Maria and Rafael at the front desk were helpful, pleasant. Luce the housekeeper was very thorough in her cleaning and happy to grab extra towels etc.
Terrific breakfast- fresh fruit, plus either eggs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt or toast and juice/coffee/tea/chocolate.
Central location- Very easy to walk to Old Town, Bocagrande, Manga or other areas.
Beautiful design- loved the rooftop pool, and the lush garden inside the hotel.

Cons:
Beds- this is the only reason I would not give Casa Lola 5 stars. The beds were very firm / hard.

If you are expecting the experience (anonymity, Heavenly Beds, identical rooms, individually packaged soap) that large American chain hotels like the Hilton provide, this might not be for you. If you want to stay someplace a little different, with an eye towards design, where you'll get to know the staff, and feel at home, Casa Lola is a terrific choice.

Room Tip: As previous travelers have noted- the rooms differ greatly. I loved room 6, Jerez, which is two floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiafalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and ended up staying 1 extra night in our return from tayrona park because we liked it so much. This a very good value for money for a small boutique hotel. We loved the mixture of rustic and eclectic pieces of furniture and detail. The service we received was very good, we had a few trips and transportation organised through reception. The only thing that we would say negative about it would be the Internet connection isn't the best. We couldn't get it in our room and had to go to the communal areas to get connection but this did not spoil out stay. We would highly recommend this hotel if you appreciate architecture and interior detail.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millibilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#52 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.4 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#57 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Property: Hotel Casa Lola
Address: Calle del Guerrero 29-108 | Historic Center, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing