We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Getsemani”
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lola
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem in Getsemani”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at Casa Lola for four nights and was very impressed with the staff, the hotel and the location. I would highly recommend it.

Pros:
Amazing staff- Maria and Rafael at the front desk were helpful, pleasant. Luce the housekeeper was very thorough in her cleaning and happy to grab extra towels etc.
Terrific breakfast- fresh fruit, plus either eggs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt or toast and juice/coffee/tea/chocolate.
Central location- Very easy to walk to Old Town, Bocagrande, Manga or other areas.
Beautiful design- loved the rooftop pool, and the lush garden inside the hotel.

Cons:
Beds- this is the only reason I would not give Casa Lola 5 stars. The beds were very firm / hard.

If you are expecting the experience (anonymity, Heavenly Beds, identical rooms, individually packaged soap) that large American chain hotels like the Hilton provide, this might not be for you. If you want to stay someplace a little different, with an eye towards design, where you'll get to know the staff, and feel at home, Casa Lola is a terrific choice.

Room Tip: As previous travelers have noted- the rooms differ greatly. I loved room 6, Jerez, which is two floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiafalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    132
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
54
302
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and ended up staying 1 extra night in our return from tayrona park because we liked it so much. This a very good value for money for a small boutique hotel. We loved the mixture of rustic and eclectic pieces of furniture and detail. The service we received was very good, we had a few trips and transportation organised through reception. The only thing that we would say negative about it would be the Internet connection isn't the best. We couldn't get it in our room and had to go to the communal areas to get connection but this did not spoil out stay. We would highly recommend this hotel if you appreciate architecture and interior detail.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millibilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Casa Lola was previously respectable. However they now deceive their customers. We paid in advance, and when we got there they told us they were full, and that we had to stay in a nearby apartment. The pictures on the website did not resemble the real place at all. They told us our room would have a jacuzzi, which it did not. The air conditioning was so loud we could not sleep. There was mold in the shower. There was dust on the bed and pillows. When we complained about the situation we were told we would not get our money back. We abandoned the room and looked for a different hotel - actually preffering to lose the money and stay at a decent place. Avoid Casa Lola!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed in July 2012 there, I liked the decor. The staff was very friendly. My room was lovely -
I did not mind that it was not huge - my shower was perfect. The Breakfast super nice.

The pool was very small - also I was on my own - and one couple so I left , as I felt intruding their privacy. But all in all I did like the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Decoration is unique, beautiful, artistic. But rooms are small, particularly the one we were put in for four nights. Bathroom was dark and very tight, shower curtain would not hold the water properly. Room had a mold odor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor, exactly the same bread every day, which is ok for one or two days, but was repetitive for a four-night stay. Close to the historical center, but walking around it was not a pleasant experince - ugly area.

Room Tip: Rooms are different in size. Ask for the larger ones or those with bathrooms with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naraclf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is definitely one of the loveliest hotels I've stayed in! For those that aren't used to travel in Latin American countries the area may be slightly challenging but the hotel itself is stunning with incredibly helpful staff who were happy to endure my dodgy Spanish but who also spoke English well. While the hotel isn't located in the historic centre it is only a 2-5 minute walk away and having stayed in that part of the city previously it is quite enjoyable to stay somewhere less touristy. This does mean a short walk or cheap taxi (approximately 5-6 US dollars) to restaurants however you don't have to worry about breakfast as the hotel provides this. The rooftop pool is small but great to cool down in at the end of a day of walking the historic streets of Cartegena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This boutique hotel is decorated super original, not being located within the wall is a little cheaper but the service is really good, the terraces have a special atmosphere, the breakfast is very good and the staff very friendly. It is two minutes from the clock tower and restaurants of the city making it a good option to have service at a slightly lower price. I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Property: Hotel Casa Lola
Address: Calle del Guerrero 29-108 | Historic Center, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing