We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a very confortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lola
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

in familiar climate,with polite workers a very confortable hotel.Its garden is so beatiful!!
We felt so confortable in a very polite environment.
The breakfast was served in the small paradise garden,with tall trees,beautiful flowers and confortable design.
The bathroom will change with more protected clear design,I think it is the small mentioned problem.
The area that it is located is difficult.It should be protected from noises and unconfortabe situations

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimitraS552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 623 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel has an extremely beautiful and cozy decoration. The service is excellent in special the recepcionists.
The location is good because it´s near from the historical center but the neighborhood isn´t so good but the confort of the boutique hotel worths the ugly surrouding area.
I really recommend Casa Lola.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really unique interior, like an oasis on the back terrrace. Rooms are very comfortable and modern - wifi everywhere and awesome aircon which is crucial in Cartagena. About a 2 block walk to the more traditional old city center, along a well traveled street. The Getsemani district is not as touristy as the other half of the walled city, which has good and bad implications. Definitely recommend this place if you want to stay in Getsemani -

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dp750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Casa Lola hits right away - modern architecture within an old style villa, small pools along side the bedroom alley, filled with art. Super chic and fancy!
But the best of it is not just it great location, beautiful decor or vast and delicious breakfast - is the service! Amazing staff that wants you to feel welcomed, at home and supported in each and every experience in Cartagena. Definitely worth!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

There is much to love about this hotel: its secluded patio with lush vegetation, fountain and water channels (reminding me of the Alhambra in Spain), its unique design (by Spanish architect/owner), intriguing and almost eccentric decor (even including art from or inspired by Mao's China), its rooftop terrace offering a great view and a pool (albeit it's very shallow and small, and reached by 2 floors of narrow outdoor steps), its spacious rooms (at least ours, #9), its good breakfasts served in the patio, and its value for money (because of its location outside Centro). They even serve basic suppers, also in the patio, which is v. cozy/romantic at night.

In fairness, there are a few less-then-ideal features, starting with its location. To some, Getsemani is "trendy", "bohemian"; to others it is "still run-down, despite the beginning of renovations". The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk to the historic centre ("Centro") and is is a bit off-putting - my wife did not feel comfortable walking there after sun down (so we took a taxi - cheap and reliable in Cartagena luckily). Most rooms (including ours) face inwards, many onto the public walkways of the hotel, meaning that the sheers must always be drawn for privacy, and there is no outward facing window. (The few rooms facing the street may well be noisy from the traffic.) Also, on weekdays, there is often industrial noise (even at 7:30 breakfast) from a workshop behind the rear wall of the patio.

But on balance I still recommend this hotel, for the reasons mentioned at the outset.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Quality boutique hotel in the old town. Friendly and helpful staff. Architecturally very impressive. Definitely worth the extra for the master suite.

In Cartagena I would definitely stay in the Old Town.
Our trip to Bocagrande (part of Cartagena) where most of the chain hotels are, was unpleasant. Modern, characterless and non-stop pestering by hawkers.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is probably the best room I've ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7777000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We really enjoyed the hospitality here. The staff were very friendly and courteous. Raphael was very helpful (spoke french and english well) with all our travel and excursion needs and always offered good advice and the girls that cooked and served breakfast were super friendly with big smiles every morning.
The decor is unique and stylish. With interesting selection or art and sculpture. I shared a room with two friends (the room with the loft) and the room was always spotless and cool with the A/C. My only issue was the comfort of the small single beds in that room. they were a little too firm.

The hotel is located in Getsemani, which is more colourful (read transitional) then the old citi but there are so many great little restaurants and bars it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Our room with the loft was facing the street and was a little loud Saturday night because of a house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 158 in Cartagena
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Address: Calle del Guerrero 29-108 | Historic Center, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $141 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing