We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel and friendly service”
Review of Hotel Casa Lola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lola
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is a charming oasis in the middle of not-so-charming neighbourhood. The rooms and the general areas of the hotel are beautiful and nicely decorated. The pool (though very small) is a very good plus, considering that it is baking hot in Cartagena (at least it was in June!). It's hard to imagine looking from the street that this hotel is actually a very peaceful place. Inside, you'd never know you're in the middle of Getsemani.

The staff is extremely warm and helpful and even though not many of them speak any English, they always made sure that all issues were solved (even though it meant combining my poor Spanish, their poor English and LP's dictionary with only few phrases in Spanish).

I admit that the walk to the walled city is not pretty (you have to take a street full of loitering prostitutes) and the street was usually very dark in the evening - actually, coming to think of it, a small flashlight wouldn't have been a bad idea considering all the stray dogs sleeping in the dark. It's, however, only a short and quick walk and we did not see that as a problem. The street to the walled city did not feel unsafe, only unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElinaPauliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 614 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

The design of this hotel was very impressive and I've stayed in boutique hotels throughout the U.S., Europe and Asia. The Getsemani area is close to the walled city but is filled with a bit more hostels and locals than areas there. It was actually a preferable place to stay on the weekend that we were in Cartagena because it was closer to the clubs and live music bars. If you do not plan to party, this neighborhood may be less desirable (but again its a 5-10 minute walk from the walled city).

The service and breakfast was forgettable but I had no complaints.

One thing to mention is that we went during rainy season. The open and modern design of the hotel is very impressive but makes the loungey areas unusable during that season---which sucks if you run to your hotel during a heavy downpour. Fortunately, although it rained during our stay, it was only for an hour or two on the days that it did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dverNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Very nice hotel in the Getsemani Barrio de Cartagena. Easy walk (5 minutes) to the walled city, and great views of Boca Grande and Castillo San Felipe. An eclectic collection of furnishings throughout the property and the rooftop pool is great to cool off in after a hot humid day in Cartagena. Hip (not hip hop) music is piped in throughout the premises and the occasional aroma of incense wafting in the air is very relaxing. Staff (receptionist) are friendly and speak English. My only problem was that the neighbor across the street believes it is his duty to be the weekend DJ. He played his music from noon to about 3 am on Saturday, and then again from noon to 8 pm on Sunday. If you go to this hotel, I suggest you NOT get a room overlooking the street as you WILL be up all night either dancing to you heart's delight or cursing all through the night!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We were going home after comming to Santa Marta, but decided to stay another day in Cartagena just to stay in Casa Lola again! At first we were a bit concerned about the tripadviser reviews, but as we are in low season, the sorrownding of the hotel was very silent and tranquilo. The hotel is just great in every aspect, we felt as we had the entire place just for ourselves, because there are very few rooms with plenty of cosy outside spaces.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in Casa Lola for a total of 7 nights at the end of April. It was my first time in wonderful Cartagena and neither the city nor the hotel disappointed in any way. The location is good. I have read negative things about this, but it's nonsense. It's a 5 minute walk from the old city and situated right next to Bar Havana - one of the most famous bars in Cartagena. The staff were superb and the hotel is designed in such a characterful, tasteful manner. We stayed in two different rooms (we returned for a night at the end of our time in the area) and they were both beautiful. I cannot emphasize what a difference it makes to stay in a hotel that's so full of character. The roof top pool area is small, but also beautiful, complete with a fantastic view. There's nothing nicer than being sat there with a mojito as the sun goes down! I should also add that the hotel's owner is particularly friendly. I would thoroughly recommend the place. Muchisimas gracias - disfrutamos mucho!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel is just fantastic, bijoux chic, great service and the friendliest staff I have ever met.

The location is fabulous, 3 mins walk to the old walled city in an area full of character. this was a very special occasion for my girlfriend and I and I booked the hotel as a treat. the master suite here is a very special room, and the modern artwork throughout is superb.

Other than the room, there are great communal areas for relaxing and reading, the rooftop pool is fantastic and barely used by the other guests, the perfect place to get away from the chaos of the Cartagenan streets. Not only that but we saw it being cleaned every single day. Our breakfast was perfect, the freshest of local fruit and juices, eggs of your choosing, the usual toast and accompaniments and of course the local coffee.

This is a top notch hotel for the money, I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something a little special and not that generic. The pictures on the website dont even do the place justice.

Tip - Always email them directly for the best prices.

10/10 from us!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwilliamfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The hotel is very beautiful and well decorated. However, all this elegance translated in a terrible praticity: the room was very small and everithing simply doesn't work. The bathroom has no privacy, the water was cold and we could listen to everything. Also, the room is like a window set, with glass all over, making almost impossible to sleep.
The more serious thing happening with Casa Lola, however, is his location: although everybody sells that Getsamaní is a borning neighborhood, in fact is still a very problematic area. Everybody recommend us to not walk past 7 p.m., and even during the day we felt very unconfortable on the streets.
The staff, although, was very helpfull and cordial, leaving us a nicer impression... Never the less, we check out previously to another hotel, in downtown Cartagena!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabianat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#20 of 158 in Cartagena
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lola

Address: Calle del Guerrero 29-108 | Historic Center, Cartagena 094, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $131 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lola 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Lola Luxury Collection combines eclectic boutique decoration with high quality services and affordable prices together at the historical city in Cartagena. 10 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, security box, bathroom, international calls, room service, breakfast included, pools, chill out zone, solarium, cocktails, laundry service, massages and other. You can enjoy the best mojitos available in the city, share with friends at the chill out zone with ambiance music or take a sun tan at the privacy of your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Lola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing