We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!”
Review of Casa Pombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Pombo
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Casa Pombo is a wonderful "Havre de Paix" in the center of Cartagena. Ideal to relax and spend quality time with friends and family.

We immediately felt at home. The staff members are adorable and helpful. Yudis (the lovely staff lady) is an amazing cook, preparing typical Caribbean dishes to perfection.
If you are looking for a full Cartagena experience, don't look any further.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablotourrenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

The apartments are excellent, I had a wonderful week with my family, perfect place to relax and work if necessary. Perfect location in the centre of the old city, you can find all you need close the the hotel. And at night they had shows in the central park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Great rooftop pool, amazing service, waking up to sounds of cartegena. Def a great place to stay with friends or a group. We were so well taken care if by the staff. The location is central for exploring the city. Would def return!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! It's spacious and there were very few people there during our stay which provided peace and tranquility.
The staff is very helpful, though they do only speak spanish. The breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Gabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was one of six friends who stayed at Casa Pombo for four nights in November. Our stay there was magnificent! The location is perfect - right near Parque de Bolivar. The architecture of the building is incredible - you can literally walk out of your living room into a pool with a man-made waterfall. The rooms are spacious with air conditioning. The rooftop pool overlooks other Cartagena rooftops and the main church. The workers at Casa Pombo ran errands for us, including buying us groceries and cooking breakfast. A terrific place to spend time. Our group included two Australians, two Colombians, one Venezualan and a Romanian. Despite our group arriving in Cartagena with different opinions on where we should stay, all of us ultimately LOVED Casa Pombo and will return in the future. We recommend it 100 %.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed at the Casa Pombo last week for 4 nights with a group of 12 people (we rented 2 of the suites). An absolutely great experience. The setup of each suite makes you feel as if you're in your own place, very private -- and in an incredible building. Most suites have 3 rooms, a living room, dinning room... The remodeling of this old building is fantastic with several sitting area, pool area's, roof deck all inclosed in traditional Colonial Architecture. The staff is very helpful, the hotel is kept up and has a great pool and roof deck for all guests use. Judy who did the cooking for us while we were there (we paid for the food, she prepared it) was absolutely great. We had traditional Colombian breakfasts, lunches, soups, for a group of about 12 each day and the food was amazing...the best I had in Cartagena by far. I highly recommend this hotel if you're going to be in town for a few days with a group or just a single room this is an amazing hotel.

Food - As above, excellent all the way around. We paid about 100,000 peso's per meal for groceries to feed 12 people.

Service - Excellent (upon request the staff where helpful with everything from bags, directions, groceries, juices at the pool, ironing, taxi's....you name it they did it with a smile)

Location - Doesn't get any better right in the heart of it all, great views.

Noise - No noise when we were there that kept us up.

Value - Great value. If you're going with a few people and are going to use there cooking services the value is exceptional.

The only down side of this place would be for travelers with very limited Spanish. The more Spanish you can speak the better off you will be interacting with the staff to make sure your stay is nothing short of perfect.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the joint. I'd recommend going with a group and renting an entire suite -- th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winklercm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claudio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#28 of 159 in Cartagena
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel LM
Hotel LM
#44 of 159 in Cartagena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#30 of 159 in Cartagena
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 159 in Cartagena
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pombo

Address: Calle del Arzobispado N0 34-14, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $259 - $804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Pombo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA POMBO is located in the Historical Centre of Cartagena facing the Cathedral and the Governor's Residence and overlooking the Plaza Bolivar. CASA POMBO is one of the most important architectural and colonial properties in the city of Cartagena. A recent restoration under the leadership of the architect Alvaro Barrera revealed its 17th century original structure en fabulous wall paintings while rendering at the same time modern comfort and luxury. Renting Casa Pombo will open you to today's intimate living and personalized service in an authentic colonial residential palace. Among the five apartments available in CASA POMBO you may choose the one(s) that best suits your needs, or you might wish to rent the whole residence, or a part of it combining one, two, three or four apartments. Each apartment has its own reception area, a fully equipped private kitchen, individual air conditioning and several 42" LCD TVs. Each bedroom is equipped with its own private bath. You also benefit from the use of two pools, one situated on the ground floor patio, and the other one on the rooftop terrace where you enjoy panoramic views of Cartagena's monuments and the Caribbean Sea. Most apartments have an additional private rooftop terrace of their own. During your stay, you will be taken care of by dedicated personnel who will give you all the special attention you need and deserve. CASA POMBO offers you all the services of a grand luxury hotel: trained personnel, 24/7 doorman, front desk to assist you with restaurants reservations, tours, visits, yachts to "Baru" and "Islas del Rosario" islands, cable television, Wi-Fi connection and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Pombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing