We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“single females avoid this place”
Review of Amber Hostel

Amber Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Hostel
Ranked #131 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The female staff are incredibly indifferent to you, the male staff hound you even when you get up in the night to go pee, the staff are also doing strange things to women including one account of tying a bracelet on a female guest in the dorm while she slept as 'a gift'.. there are many men in this hostel who are not guests but are just guys hanging around, harassing you (beyond the normal level of harassment in colombia) which creates security issues as they have access to the unlocked dorm room and, who wants to be chased to the washroom in the middle of the night? Some stay here because Media Luna refers them or they hear it is quiet--it is the luck of the draw, have heard some people said it was quiet when they were there but it was a street party when I was there--and not a party this party girl wanted to join at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afrinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

Hi

We stayed 1 night with these people and it was a nightmare as it rained the whole night flooding the place. The electrical appliances sparked during the night and were unplugged. The power points crackled all night from the moisture and no fuse seemed to be working. The morning was a blessing to wake up to. We told the reception we were leaving and they didn't care as we had already paid 50kcop. Stay here at your own risk. Some places should be shutdown. 4 star rating from tripadvisor is no reflection of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slider8p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in total. First night was in a small private room with one double bed and private bathroom for 40,000. Had aircon so was okay, but it started raining really heavy around 2am and was awoken by water seeping through the roof and dripping on my head, feet and all over the floor. Rain stopped around 4am and tried to get back to sleep. Next morning told the owner/manager and asked if there was another room which didn't leak. Changed to a much bigger room which usually goes for 50,000 but he gave it to us for 40,000. It had a tv, a king bed and bigger bathroom. However it rained again and leaks seeped through and wet the floor. Didn't fall on the bed so slept ok. A friend of ours stayed in the dorm and had the same problem with leaks. Owner said he's been trying to fix the leaks for a while, but the building is over 180 years old so its a little difficult. Besides the leaks, the place was pretty good. Nice location near the old town, manager was nice and relaxed, so much so it felt at times that no one seemed to run the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This place is great. There are several dorm rooms and privates. There is a nice little oputdoor courtyard and plenty of room inside to hang out too. Free Internet. Kitchen and fridge for shared use. Clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed here after sailing form Panama with the hostel's part owner. It's clean, in a reasonable location (not in the nice part of the old town, but just outside in the slightly run down part of old town, but most of the other backpacker hostels are there too).

We originally stayed in a dorm (18,000 pesos for an airconditioned dorm room) the first night, but were offered the double room for subsequent nights. This was MUCH better as it was only 40,000 pesos for both of us and was a huge room, with cable television and private bathroom including shower.

They have one internet terminal which is free to use and wi-fi. No breakfast included but there is a kitchen if you want to make your own. They had a nice chillout area with hammocks and a seperate TV lounge. Also had a small book exchange. Not the greatest atmosphere as in some hostels but good as a base to explore Cartagena.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazzaDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Crisluzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Arrecifes
Hostal Arrecifes
#101 of 173 in Cartagena
31 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 158 in Cartagena
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Venecia
Hostal Casa Venecia
#46 of 223 in Cartagena
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 158 in Cartagena
1,638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#24 of 158 in Cartagena
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hostel

Address: Calle de la Magdalena No 10-103 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing