We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charmant boutique hotel au centre de la veille ville”
Review of Delirio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delirio Hotel
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“charmant boutique hotel au centre de la veille ville”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice boutique hotel in the center of Cartagena. Staff very nice. Speak English and to their best to make you feel special and comfortable. Decor all white vey simple and clean.
Good breakfast with special attention.
Rooms are not to large but comfortable,
Location is great near good restaurants and by the time you are out the door you have this great feeling of being in the most wonderful Carribean city.
price/quality excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Partner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Merci beaucoup! We were delighted to know about your great experience in our beautiful Cartagena and at Delirio Hotel. We agree with you, our staff and the hotel location are two good assets of Delirio. We look forward to welcoming you again! A tres bientot!

All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    172
    66
    12
    10
See reviews for
60
228
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Delirio is certainly well located within the old city and, I can't say enough about the staff there - especially Pablo at the front desk. He was happy get get us reservations in restaurants and called sister hotels when we wanted to use the pool (note: the Delirio does not have a pool - one of the major drawbacks). In the Cartagena heat, it's nice to have a pool at your hotel. The hotel is clean and modern but our bed was hard as a rock - like sleeping on a board. Breakfast was adequate and convenient. We had issues with the WiFi the last couple of days and we also didn't have hot water the last night/morning when we departed.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room - ask for one in the back away from the street. We enjoyed looking out of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astranova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Partne at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time on writing to us. We are happy to know that our staff helped you to have a good experience in Cartagena. Indeed our location is excelent as we are in the heart of the Old City, perfect to start all of your daily planning. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you soon again at Delirio Hotel!

All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We did not stay overnight in this hotel, however our interaction with the staff and owner has prompted us to write this review.

In Jan of 2012, we were on a cruise that had a day in port at Cartagena. While there, we wanted to use our wireless internet to send some emails. So, we decided to enter this hotel, which looked clean and modern, to see if they had a lounge or restaurant where we could buy some drinks or appetizers while using their wireless. Upon talking with the front desk person, I found out that the hotel did not have wireless in the common areas. Although I was not a paying guest, the front desk person was kind enough to phone some local restaurants to see if they had wireless.

In the meantime, while I was talking to the front desk man, my husband and friends were in the lobby and had encountered the owner of the hotel, Ms. Bartoskova. She was genuinely interested in us and offered everyone some (free) cold drinks while they waited for me.

After the front desk person was unable to secure us lunch reservations at either of the 2 restaurants that he knew to have wireless, Ms. Bartoskova offered her suggestion for lunch. While the restaurant did not have wireless, our meal was memorable.

I can only imagine that by the care she, and her staff, took with us, that guests of the hotel would be looked after in a similar fashion. If we were ever planning a return to Cartagena, we would definitely look at booking this hotel first.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynp20032003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you very much for your time on writing a review of Delirio Hotel! It was great to know that you remembered well, as I do...., the day you went to visit with your friends from the cruise ship. We have some good news: We have now good wi fi everywere in the hotel, rooms and public areas, even in the Terrace. We do hope to have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you at Delirio in the near future. Cartagene deserves more that a cruise stop over! You are welcome!
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova and the Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve in Cartagena (highly recommend) and were just relieved to find what we imagined were the last 2 hotel rooms in the city. We were prepared for anything and were so pleasantly surprised by this place.

After 2 weeks of travel in Colombia, we were inappropriately excited about the hot shower ( the drain was clogged, so it only lasted 5 minutes each day, but oh what a sweet five minutes). In case you are visiting Colombia for the first time (as we were), you are probably looking at getting a hot shower maybe 10% of the time. If you are in the hot water heater business, have we got an idea for you.

You really can't beat the location of this place, and it's very clean and the breakfast is good. What really makes it stand out though - the staff. They were so kind and attentive, and their pride in the place shows. A special thanks to the pregnant woman at check-in (I'm sorry I can't remember your name - buena suerte! - thanks for all the great tips!) and the man who stayed up late on New Year's Eve to greet us with a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners2007_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

It was great to hear from you, thank you so much for your time on writing your positive thoughts on Delirio Hotel! We agree completely with you, our staff is the best! It is our most dear asset. We will give your message to Alexa, who will be delivering her baby girl in two months, and to Jaime, our night keeper. Thank you for choosing our house to spend such a special date, New Year's Eve! We look forward to welcoming you again.
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were slightly reticent about our visit to Cartagena, and how "easy" it would be. we also were concerned that we couldn't find a hotel others were chatting about. All of that was overcome by the great experience we had at the Delirio. It is a small hotel, 12 rooms i believe, and small rooms and small bathrooms, but it was spotless and very comfortable. and, after all, how much time do you spend in your room when in Cartagena!! We were greeted at the door by Ernesto, who became a fast friend. Alexa and Elana, our new friends at the front desk could not have been more helpful - they are knowledgeable about good food in this wonderful walled city, and sent us off to many great meals. And Johnny, the maitre de at breakfast in the courtyard was great. This is not the BIG Santa Clara nor Hotel Charleston, and certainly there are places with more amenities and larger rooms, but for a small and intimate setting, where the staff is attentive and friendly, and the facility is clean, you could not ask for more.

Room Tip: there are only 12 so ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marktanenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your great lodging experience at Delirio Hotel. We are very proud of our staff and have shared your words with Alexa, Ernesto, Johnny and the other members. We are thrilled to know that you had a good time in our beautiful city and look forward to welcoming you again!
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I work within the luxury hotel industry and when I travel for leisure the choice of the hotel it's important . Delirio Hotel was really the perfect choice : trendy and contemporary rooms, spacious rooms, confortable bed, great shower and amenities, and delicious breakfast with the best fruit juices I ever had in my life. The staff is extremely effective and nice with the guests and all the recommendations about restaurants , daily excursions to Islas del Rosario etc were just perfect.
In addition to that Delirio Hotel has the best location in the historical and most beautiful part of the city and it's completely safe . You can walk at anytime in the area even very late at night with no worries . I had also the opprtunity to meet the General Manager and I can tell you that she is really taking care that the stay of all the guests is perfect . So no hesitations if you like the best at a very reasonable price Delirio Hotel is the best choice in Cartagena de Indias !! I look forward to come back very soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Owner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We are delighted to know that someone from the luxury hotel industry had such a positive experience staying at Delirio Hotel! We are very proud of our hotel team and its leader, Lisette Desmoineaux, our General Manager and we are happy to know that you got the best service from them. Please visit us again, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you one more time at Delirio Hotel!
All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for New Year's Eve and a few days around the holiday. The staff is awesome. The woman at the front desk (Alexis) has great English and gives good recommendations. The evening doorman was the friendliest person ever. Breakfast was a great deal. Location is perfect. AC is great.
Showers were not always hot but sometimes they were. Our AC unit sort of dripped, resulting in a puddle by the end of a full 24 hours. It wasn't quite as fancy as I was expecting for the price, but I suppose Cartagena is just expensive all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evamariacampo, Partner at Delirio Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments, thank you very much! As you said, our staff is great and we are very proud of them. We have shared your thoughts with Alexa, Jaime and Elson and the other team members. December and January are the most demanded periods in the year when high season rates are applied, we hope to welcome you again in some other time in the year, when rates are lower. Cartagena is beautiful all year round....! All our best,

Eva Maria Campo-Bartoskova
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#87 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#14 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#42 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
#18 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monterrey
Hotel Monterrey
#58 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delirio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delirio Hotel

Property: Delirio Hotel
Address: Calle de la Iglesia 35-27 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#21 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delirio Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delirio is brand new design boutique hotel located in the magic Historical Center of Cartagena. We offer 17 modern and high tech bedrooms in a restored ancient building, within walking distance to most of the historical sites, fine shopping and good restaurants. Our services include breakfast, room service, bilingual English and French Concierge, solarium, elevator, medical assistance, laundry, terrace bar, events and free Wi Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Delirio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delirio Hotel Cartagena
Delirio Boutique Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing