We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like nothing you have done before...promise!”

Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano)
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.60*
and up
Totumo Volcano and Mud Baths Day Trip from Cartagena
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like nothing you have done before...promise!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Keep in mind this is not the spa at the Four Seasons, but it is nothing short of a surreal experience. Your body floats in a large crater of mud atop a 50 cone of mud. Hard to describe, but very fun day indeed! Your skin feels very soft and nice after washing off
the mud in a nearby lagoon....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    377
    207
    84
    85
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

What a totally difference experience this was. Our tour took us to the mud volcano outside of Cartagena. Your climb is up steep, hand-carved steps with a very basic railing. Once at the top you are helped into the water by the masseurs. The mud makes you totally buoyant. You can "stand" vertically without sinking. But just lie back as you are floated to the edge for a mud massage. The cost was approximately $8.00 per person and we threw in a $2.00 tip. There is another $2.00 tip for the woman who takes your sandals and $4.00 for the person who washes you and your suit in the lake.

This is not an activity for the frail or the shy. The climb up is steep with a very basic, thrown together railing and the climb down, covered from head to toe in mud, felt daunting. You are escorted to a nearby lake where women wash you free of mud and slipping out of your bathing suit, she washes out your suit as well. No one speaks much English. We paid our fees through our guide after we were washed clean of mud. I'm not sure how it goes for those who come here on their own. Our guide also gave us guidance as to how much each person in the process would expect.

We celebrated our experience with a beer afterwards at one of the many tropical cantinas at the base of the mud volcano. It is best to come in clothing you can wear over your bathing suit as changing facilities are a bathroom with a toilet that does not flush. I had nylon shorts and a microfiber top, which worked well. Our hotel provided towels for our outing. I did not see any towel available there.

Our mud bath was a unique experience and my husband and I were glad we took advantage of the opportunity, but I can see it would not appeal to some.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This was such a unique experience.”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

At first glance this tourist attraction leaves much to be desired; however, once you get over the initial shock and get covered in the mud it is wonderful. The workers give you a full body massage and you can stay in as long as you'd like. The price was great. But as a warning, one you get ready to leave the peddlers will hound you for tips. It would be much better if their tips were incorporated into the price because it would still be worth it. The ticket is $5,000 Colombian pesos (before the tips).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yoyoforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mud Volcano”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Okay, it was definitely fun. But really crowded with bodies, smelled kind of gross, and was a tough hike up the stairs, and a slippery tough climb down....so make sure everyone in your party is strong. Have lots of small pesos on you. Everything is 3 pesos....the camera man (excellent job of taking pictures with your camera), the massage (wish I'd skipped), the lady who pours buckets of water on your head (you can clean off yourself easily enough), and the guy who washes your shoes (without asking). They do not give credit for USD - it's 1 USD for 1 Peso there, so make sure you bring the proper pesos if that's important to you.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcc444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“**Mud bath and massage**”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is fun. Bathing in a mud volcano. Grab a tour to drive direct as a solo trip by local bus is a long venture. The "bath" is a communal session (15+) and have a quick massage. The local ladies then clean you in a nearby lagoon. Guys take pictures with your own camera. 3,000 pesos for the picture takers, 3,000 pesos for a massage, 3,000 pesos for a lagoon wash. 9,000 pesos total - $4.75ish Canadian

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank elviajero1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano) also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing