We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Ranked #70 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I organized a week long convention for 66 people in this hotel, inclusive of lodging, meals, and the salon, or main meeting room in September 2013. Overall we were pleased with how things went. I wanted to add a special note that the meeting coordinator Esther, and Hotel Manager Mario bent over backwards to help our stay be pleasurable and workable.
The maids, maintenance, and service staff in the dining area were always willing to help and make our stay enjoyable. We were satisfied with our experience, and for the price we have no complaints. Thanks Regatta and staff!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Caribbean Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tshdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    227
    146
    38
    23
See reviews for
169
230
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were able to book this hotel at the last minute and stayed 2 nights. The rooms are large, bed is comfortable, good AC, decent breakfast buffet and located across from the beach in the Bocagrande area.
I didn't like that you would hear construction early in the morning, as they are building next door and they had the electric off for FOUR hours one day! Unbelievable as it was hot and this is a high rise building so no elevator service! The only compensation they offered was a courtesy pass on the "Hop on, Hop off" bus. The problem with the courtesy pass that was given is you could not "hop on and hop off!"
Very few of the staff speaks English, Roberto being the exception, who was helpful. "Concierge" of no assistance. Several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very pleased with the large room, breakfast, and location. Beds were comfortable and AC worked great. Had a lovely beach view and the pool was a great place to cool off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekguy1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Was there a in April 2013. We got a room on the fourth floor that smelled awful. They were renovating the whole floor and started working before 07.00. We got to change room three day later. They hardly understod any English except for the Bell boy. Bad logistics! They had to be three in the reception to be able to take a decision. They were not helpful to my female colombian friends.They are buildning a new hotel next to the Regatta so be aware of noice. Slow elevators. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor on this hotel. The air doesn't circulate on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyWStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Despite the hotel at first glance look very nice, located in fancy Bocagrande and just some steps away from the beach I must say that the staff is unpleasant and even rude. Be careful with the hidden charges specially when ordering something to eat in the room, the room service is three times they say in the brochure, and the prices are not the ones they say in their menues. If you ask for details on the bill they will ignore you, eventually they will print the detail of the bill but even the detailed bill is confuse. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be well treated and have in general a pleasant, relaxing experience in Cartagena.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Regatta is a time share establishment that rents units when not being used. The website is misleading about this and pictures of the hotel are extremely misleading about the type of hotel it is and quality. It is a total farce - essentially an broken down local yocal dump. I recommend the Hilton in Laguito, just down the road. Youll get 5 star service at the same price that Hotel Regatta is ripping you off for. Another great option is Hotel Urban Royal, right inside the city walls (same price and truly the caliber hotel you think you are getting from Regatta). Regatta is next to a high-rise construction site - noisy 24 hours and weekends. On my first night the wind swept against the netting on the building site next door that keeps debris from falling to the ground; all night I heard the debris banging in the nets against the walls of the building only 40 feet away from my bed. I stayed 8 days and there was NOT a single towel available at either of the pools, as guests hoard them in their rooms (trashy and classless - I will leave it at that). On 2 days, the pools were closed for maintenance all day. The new building next door is a mall that looks right into the pools from only 40 feet- no privacy and the new building obstructs the sun from the pools. Room doors use batteries and on 3 occasions I was locked out of the room because the batteries died. They eventually replaced the entire door mechanism, but not after I was woken up at 2:30AM by a loud low battery alarm chirping on the door every 10 seconds. Staff is unfriendly to non-Latinos (I am white, but fluent in Spanish) and they assume non-Latinos do not speak their language. There was only 1 staff member who spoke English, and it was barely understandable. When I complained in both languages they just shrugged; never once an apology for all the inconveniences. Also NO GUESTS ALLOWED in rooms. Oh there is more, but please just DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Construction site next to this building, noisy all day and night - including weekends. DO NOT STAY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

nice hotel!!! right in front of the beach!!! it has 2 pools, near everything . they gave a king size bed all for myslelf!!! has wifi and cable t.v. and a beautiful view of the modern cartagena. cool breeze by ocean in front.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WALTER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#22 of 155 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Lux Hotel
Atlantic Lux Hotel
#64 of 155 in Cartagena
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 155 in Cartagena
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
0.1 mi away
Zalmedina Hotel
Zalmedina Hotel
#128 of 155 in Cartagena
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regatta Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regatta Cartagena

Property: Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Address: Avenida El Malecon Carrera 1 No. 5-82, Bocagrande, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Regatta Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel for business trips, family vacations, honey moons and much more... We are located in Bocagrande in front of one of the best beaches in Cartagena (just a few steps away). We are now part of 'by L'alianXa' an hotel chain at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Regatta Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing