We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb boutique hotel in historic centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb boutique hotel in historic centre”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This beautiful small, boutique hotel previously the home of an archbishop is an absolute gem. Located within the historic centre and entered through an unmarked wooden door off a narrow street the hotel rooms are set around a lovely courtyard swimming pool. The whole property oozes history and is an absolute delight. I can think of no better place to stay in Cartegena. Hotel staff have great local knowledge and happy to suggest sightseeing venues, restaurants etc

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandgrounderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    39
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
134
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is one of those hotels you don't want to tell anyone about because you want to keep it to yourself!

We originally wanted to stay at the Santa Clara, just because its the fanciest - most talked about hotel in town. After looking at slightly cheaper prices - we found La Casa Del Arzobispado, and, after staying there for 2 nights, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cartagena.

If you're really particular about hotel design and you're after an authentic colonial Cartagena experience, then this is the place. The mansion and its rooms have been renovated respecting the original architecture and its history. It has 10 rooms we think, but it feels smaller and cozier somehow. Our room was enormous, full of antique furniture and art - with a a juliet balcony overlooking the Calle del Arzobispado. The bed was super comfy (amazing), and had all the expected perks.

It had a very inviting lounge outside our room and beautiful pool in the centre of the building. The service was excellent, with super friendly people that called us by name every time we sat down for a delicious breakfast by the pool.

The hotel is close to everything and you won't have any problems finding it (we walked past it oneday and realized we were right in front of it because we could smell the hotel's beautiful fragrance emanating from the big wooden colonial door - SERIOUSLY).

This hotel is like a time machine, step inside the door and you're transported to old Cartagena, you almost expect to pass the Arzobispado on the stairs.

So now we've told you, don't tell anyone else or we'll never get a booking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanchandbinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brasil
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The whole stay was wonderful! They were already waiting for us, and offered a welcome drink the moment we stepped in. Helis from the front desk was lovely! Got us a reservation at La Vitrola and was very helpful during our stay. Great breakfast, they will do whatever pleases you, I only wish they had a written menu. It was raining a lot, so they lent us a umbrella. The room was really comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetecarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We'd been staying at the Santa Clara for a week before we arrived at the Casa Del Arzobispado (House of the Archbishop), and we weren't sure what to expect. Well i've never been so happy to stay in such a wondrous place - it's small but perfect in so many ways. The small pool/jacuzzi is just the right size to relax in, the room was a glorious size with all the necessary facilities. Even the L'Occitane shampoo in the bathroom was better than the one (also L'Occitane) we had at the Santa Clara.

The breakfast was lovely, the common areas were like living in a comfortable stately home and the service was top-notch.

The only drawback being the mosquitos! you can't escape the tyrants, so make sure you take some repellent with you - but that's a problem with nature and not the hotel.

I recommend this place wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatmacsgrillshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at Casa del Arzobispado for two nights in Cartagena. So very nice and friendly. Very beautiful. A lovingly restored 17th century mansion. They upgraded us to a gorgeous enormous suite just because. It had its own private patio with a hammock. Big flat screen TV in bedroom. Beautiful pool in courtyard. Bikes to ride around in early morning. Breakfast whenever you like. Delicious fruit and eggs, toast, cafe con leche, juices. Spa treatments whenever you like. Feel like home when you are welcomed back with warm smiles into their cool haven from the sunny heat. Arranged driver to take us to sights and wait for us. When we asked what time was check out - they replied, "Whenever you wish". Would return in a minute.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favoritething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I recently visited Cartagena and had a great time! The Arzobispado is a great hotel, with fantastic rooms, very colonial style. Very good breakfast and service. Caribe Cordial recommended us the hotel and it was a fantastic choice and the tours in the islas made the trip fantastic. Thanks to everyone there for the excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#53 of 155 in Cartagena
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.0 mi away
Casa Pombo
Casa Pombo
#35 of 155 in Cartagena
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel LM
Hotel LM
#46 of 155 in Cartagena
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Arzobispado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Arzobispado

Property: Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Address: Calle del Arzobispado 34-52, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa del Arzobispado 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa del Arzobispado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Arzobispado Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing