We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

From the moment we entered this oasis, we knew we had made the right choice. We spent 4 nights in this beautiful hotel where the service was exceptional, the room gorgeous and larger than my NYC apartment, the breakfast delicious and pool a perfect escape from the heat.

It is certainly quiet, and if you are looking for a place with a bar or more of a social scene, this is not it. But if you are looking for tranquility and intimacy, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

One of our favorite hotels ever (and we've stayed in some great places, including various Four Seasons hotels around the world). Casa del Arzobispado is a perfect mix of historical with very comfortable. Great, friendly staff, wonderful location. Every detail is just right, from the strong wifi to the fantastic breakfast to the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoundZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

As a Historian, and former History Teacher, I can attest to the authenticity of this hotel's pedigree. Built as the original hacienda for the Archbishop of Cartegena, this unique piece of paradise is located in the Old City of Cartegena, in proximity to everything of historical interest to the traveller! The staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating. We arrived after a long flight from Toronto that, due to North American winter storms and missed connection flights, took us 23 hours! It was 3 am when we arrived, and the night staff, seeing our discomfiture, immediately offered food and drink to lift our spirits. While just sandwiches and beer, that welcome spoke to us of the kind of care that was the norm here! Breakfast on a terrace overlooking the pool was a daily routine and part of the package we enjoyed. The ceilings and beams were at least 12 feet high, well air-conditioned, and offered views of the atrium. With the excellent bedding materials and amenities, including marble bathrooms and showers our rooms were excellent. I would recommend this quaint little boutique hotel to any of my friends or relatives!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the main floor, but our son and his wife and baby took a second floor room overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoachCam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A very nice building houses this truly boutique hotel. The hotel has 10 rooms and service is very personalized. Rooms are nice and contrast modern amenities with the rustic feel of the colonial times. Ceilings are really tall, 15 ft tall, and our room was very spacious. Rooms are not sound-proof so a lot of noise can be heard when inside the room. All room face the courtyard where the pool is. It has a fantastic rooftop with great views of the city, we enjoyed both dusk and dawn very much from there. Sometimes it felt we were the only guests and had the whole place to ourselves. Breakfast was really good, specially the typical from the region, and the juices where outstanding. The taste of the fruit in Colombia is unbeaten. As there's only one kitchen for the whole hotel and I think only serves breakfast, the order was taken by the server in the dining room on the second floor and brought by another member of the staff from the kitchen on the ground floor, kind of what would be in the colonial times. Also, you had to ring the door everytime you wanted to come in to the hotel and announce yourself in order to gain entry. Location-wise, one of the best in the old city, very close to the more lively areas in town, the clocktower square, the Bolivar square and the Santo Domingo square, also very conveniently located next to banks and convenience stores that are open until late. I thought prices were a bit steep, given that services rendered where very basic and the facilities lacked the extra luxury provided by other hotels in the area. We had a great and relaxing time here, but I think it's only going to be a one-time-only experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

When the door opened and we stepped into the courtyard, we couldn't believe how beautiful it was. The staff was so accommodating. We had cancelled flights and had to change our night at the hotel. The room and bathroom were great. Breakfast was made to order and the eggs were quite tasty. Really loved this place

Room Tip: We were in the room on the ground floor by the pool and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djcook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great Hotel very well located in the Old City of Cartagena de las Indias. Great staff and very good cost benefit. To get perfect, the hotel need a Gym and also a restaurant that server lunch and dinner. Besides that, I sure recommend it if you are on a family trip or a couples trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I am not sure if we were there when Himelda was there - but we had the same extremely noisy experience, even ear plugs were not helping at all. The hotel is very nice with a lot of historic character, the service was very good, the location is excellent for exploring the old city, but the noise ruined our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.1 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.2 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#30 of 159 in Cartagena
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 159 in Cartagena
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Casa Pombo
Casa Pombo
#38 of 159 in Cartagena
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Arzobispado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Arzobispado

Address: Calle del Arzobispado 34-52, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $218 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa del Arzobispado 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Arzobispado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Arzobispado Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing