We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Restaurante Interno
Ranked #156 of 969 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 11, 2019

This restaurant seems to be only by word of mouth. A super social program put in place at a woman prison giving the girls a purpose and opportunity to integrate with the outside. Woman are super friendly and great cooks ! A little pricey, but it all goes to a great cause ! The only one of its kind in the world ! Great food and a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WandaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019

Worth the Visit , Great Story Behind the Restaurant. The food was very good, standard set menu with appetizer, main course, dessert and non alcoholic beverage. More expensive than most, BUT it's for a great cause. It's staffed by woman inmates of the prison, and is there to provide a second chance for them - gives them job training and customer service skills. The atmosphere is pleasant and staff was great.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We had a super meal with very delicate food made with heart and with and excellent service. We were 11 people and all enjoyed the quality of food which was great and the very nice service. We all like the idea of the foundation of giving a "secong chance", and I'll say, perhaps the first-time chance to people who have the intention of making it. Congrats!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank jreinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Four of us dined there 2 days ago. I agree with a earlier reviewer that the service is speedy but then is only has about 25 seats and with a set menu this explains it.

All our food was great. Modest servings, but 3 courses for 90,000 pesos is cheap. The choice for wine was either red or white, I think there own label, for 120,000 pesos a bottle. You could also get cocktails.

The bars between the kitchen and restaurant reminded us that this was a prison. Our waitress, when asked, said that she was 4 years into a 7 year sentence and appreciated the training and skills that she would have when she was released.

They sell tee shirts and the like at the entrance which some of our group purchased.

Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank David_Albert_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our deliciously prepared 3 course meal from a set menu and served with a non alcoholic drink. The service, if anything, was too quick as we, like other guests too, were finished inside an hour. No beer is served and wine can only be bought by the bottle. However, the quality of the food and overall experience deserves a five star rating.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank LynnJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Interno also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Restaurante Interno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing