We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the full restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porton de San Sebastian

Porton de San Sebastian
Ranked #8 of 660 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the full restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Not great. We shared a Robalo al Ajillo which was a good sized piece of fish, very tasty, but served with uninspired vegetables and very sweet coconut rice. The shrimp ceviche was in a word, disgusting, with kind of a pickled acidic taste. Service was good, prices are reasonable but not cheap. Don't be fooled, it's always full, but there are many better (and cheaper) places in Cartagena.

Helpful?
Thank greengohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    177
    58
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great choice in the Old City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Service in a timely and efficient manner, great food, confortable place, very moderate PRICES for the good quality of the plates. I difinately recomend it to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank augmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food served simply”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We have been back to this place every time we visit Cartagena.

It's a small place and generally never busy which might make you think it is probably not that good, but it is.

It has great food with good ingredients. The cazuela is the best I have had in a standard restaurant.

I have also tried the fillet mignon with a mushroom sauce and it was excellent for the price 40,000 pesos (~£13).

They also do a mean coco y lemonada drink with is great with or without rum added.

It's definitely one of my favourite places to eat in Cartagena

Helpful?
Thank RoryMc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
427 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Dry, drab and unimpressive. Quasi-wine scam....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Disappointed. I really expected much more given its high ranking on TA and another traveller had recently recommended it to us.

Had sea bass. Very unimaginative and simple. I've had better sea bass at home from the grocery store. Fish was dry. Probably it was pan fried with a bit of flour and butter. My patacones were totally dry and flavorless.

The wine. Three times I specified to our server that we wanted a medio ( 1/2 bottle ) of wine. She brought out a full bottle anyway and left it on the table. She poured us a top-off glass and then another server came by and tried to pour us more wine and we had to stop her, explaining in vain that we ordered a half bottle. Then the original server came back and seemed to gleefully indicate that we were about a 1/2 inch below her medio line on the bottle ! In the end she added 5000 COP to our bill.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fantom_Gormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Original - not a tourist trap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Here you will be served as a family member!

They offer us some cambas, not on standard list. They looked and tastes great! So worth asking.

Everything else was also good. And all made with pride, you could taste that!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talend0S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porton de San Sebastian also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Porton de San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing