We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT food”

Porton de San Sebastian
Ranked #12 of 708 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Have to try The Cazuela de Mariscos. Just Excellent . Good is GREAT and the PEOPLE very friendly. Really recommend it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FedeCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    196
    63
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Plato del dia only”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to this small restaurant for the special lunch menu which is served only from noon to 1 PM. THe food was plentiful, the chef was personable, and the price, 15000 pesos, was reasonable. My beef was very dry and tough (and I found this to be routine in Colombia in general) but those who had fish were satisfied. Basically a lunch bargain. Don't know about dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room, elegant dining”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Popped in here on a sponteneous lunch having been tipped off by a friend who'd done a reccie of the town before hand.
Calle 2 santo domingo has several high-end restaurants and bars, and Porton blends in well, entering the house into a beautiful courtyard and entering the high-ceiling, well air-conditioned main dining room.
Pasta, fish and meat dishes, with an Italian slant featured on this good sized, well thought-out menu. My friends enjoyed the prawn pasta dish so much, they returned a couple of days later for a second helping. I had salmon teriyaki, which was moist, and packed full of flavour without being over-bearing.

Av $50 pp with bottle of wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Oily experience”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We tried this restaurant after a recommendation from an acquaintance. Our experience was that the food was tasty but very, very oily. My fish filet was so drenched that I tasted oil for a while after dining here. The place is small- only six tables. The welcome and service was friendly. We just weren't wowed by the cuisine. Just average and probably overpriced for average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula Papagayo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Must Try”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant is small only about 6 tables or so but the service and food was great. We ate there a couple of times during our visit. The first time we tried the grilled platter for two. There was enough food for at least three people if not more and top quality. The second time there I tried a pasta dish which was also outstanding and again a very large portion. Enough for lunch the next day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porton de San Sebastian also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Porton de San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing