We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like salsa...”
Review of Cafe Havana

Cafe Havana
Ranked #2 of 44 Nightlife in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nice, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you like salsa...”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

As soon as you get in you feel you're in Cuba. Great live band, good atmosphere, good mojito. Good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fab959855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    162
    68
    25
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap..”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place is a definite tourist trap; however, I know this will sound crazy, but it is a must visit just for the nostalgia feel & environment that these (foreign) owners have re-created. Very cool throw back feeling like your actually in Cuba, kicking back some Cuba Libres & listening to some awesome salsa. 15,000 pesos just to enter, then 10,000 for a local beer & who knows what a mixed drink costs or anything else! Lol.. we recommend that you get a buzz on (have a few cheaper drinks ) somewhere else before you head over the Cafe Havana; Make sure there is a live band performing as this really brings this place to life!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank elimarcus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mojito Happy Hour 6-8p”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Charming - Great outdoor seating and people watching. We went early and enjoyed a Mojito before having dinner down the street.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Worst mojito ever, and expensive.

Unfriendly staff.

Entrance cover for a bar.. = rip off.

Just tourist clients.

Music ok..


Helpful?
3 Thank JackWasThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice setting, terrible service”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled the world over the last 30 years both in the military and for vacations and have never been treated so poorly. My wife and I (she is Colombian) wanted to take our 20 year old daughter to hear live salsa music before we left Cartagena. We ordered one round of drinks and then the "waiter" proceeded to slap the bill on the table and demanded to be paid. It may be hard for me to blend in with the locals as I am 6'4" and obviously American but we could tell we were unwelcome here. Save your money and find another place to listen to live music in Cartagena.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Havana also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Cafe Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing