We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, great atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Havana

Cafe Havana
Ranked #1 of 44 Nightlife in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great bar, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

A great bar with good live music and dance. Don't worry about the neighbourhood - we went past there 3 evenings to our hotel nearby and there was no problems.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    159
    66
    25
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must go - And learn to dance!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Incredible ambience, very fun, I don`t dance but at the end I was dancing salsa as anyone.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Drink & Salsa Music!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Café Havana might be in a seedy neighbor hood, but with the mix of locals, tourists and police you have nothing to worry when taking a walk from within the walls of Cartagena. The Bar is about one street past the park with the obelisk and just a short 10-minute walk from the wall with the clock tower. Of course, as you probably have heard, the Mojitos are famous in Café Havana. You’ll see everyone drinking them! We arrived early and had a mojito, but decided to return when the music would be set to star, which was at 11:30 pm. We returned at 10:30 pm to ensure we had a good seat to see and hear the live salsa. By 11:30 the music was going and everyone was either dancing on the floor or wiggling on the seats. It was so much fun!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seriously Salsa!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Best salsa bar I've been to....decor, music ambience locals ++ only prob expensive cocktails but they are strong....

Helpful?
Thank michellesligo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Nightclub!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Such a great place, full of locals! Could really believe you are in Cuba with fantastic decor! A+++++ !!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank PeterStuart81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Havana also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Cafe Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing