We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurante, not so nice people”
Review of El Santisimo

El Santisimo
Ranked #101 of 796 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The place is very well decorated and the menu is very funny! For example, the desserts are titled "The seven sins". Of course, we fell in one of the seven sins! Everything is about a gourmet menu and we were very satisfied. The staff was not according to such a nice place; they were not affable; they looked as if they were angry, with no smiles.

Thank Corina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantisimoCartagena, Andres Lesmes - Director Mercadeo Online at El Santisimo, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi,

We are happy that you fell in one of our seven sins, we hope you can fall again in your visits with your family and friends. Our restaurant is created in order to give a different experience every time in order to try all our menu. About the staff we are working on it, is important for us that the service and food provides you the best experience in Cartagena.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 281 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Just loved this place - the obatala was great & along with extremely attentive staff & great drinks ended up being my favourite meal in Colombia

Well worth checking out!

Thank Christ0pher_JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantisimoCartagena, Andres Lesmes - Director Mercadeo Online at El Santisimo, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review and we hope you have our restaurant as your favorite. Our staff and menu are suitable for all kind of people with different needs, so you and the rest of the visitors can feel like home.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A bit pricey, but really worth it. From NYC, a regular night out in the city. The steak is phenomenal, and the beef tartar was tasty. Pair with wines and let the games begin. For around $95 a person, all you can eat/drink until 10pm- completely worth it.

Thank shaneof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantisimoCartagena, Andres Lesmes - Director Mercadeo Online at El Santisimo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi, We are glad you had a great time at El Santisimo. Just to be clear the all you can eat/drink is not $95 is COP 95.000 is around 50 USD. This plan is call Plan Milagro and is one of the best options in Cartagena.

Our menu is a great option and we saw you enjoyed your options. We hope you can come here again and have a great time.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very nice space - original menu with religious names - good food - service needs improvement. Good atmosphere for family dinner.

Thank FrancoisT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantisimoCartagena, Andres Lesmes - Director Mercadeo Online at El Santisimo, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review and also we would like to thank you to visit us at our restaurant. We are glad you like our concept and our menu. We are working every day in order to improve our service, so is something that you will definetely will see that we are better in your next visit.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had higher hopes for the 95,000 peso (approx $50 US) prix fixe dinner at El Santisimo. Dinner was good and well prepared, but for the price, I was expecting more creativity in the menu.

The best part is the drink portion of the deal -- all you can drink for two hours -- so we had wine pairings with each course and a few cocktails. There were good cocktail choices on the menu, but we weren't impressed with the wine at this restaurant, or really any of restaurants we experienced in Cartagena. (One note: we live in Northern California, so we might be a little spoiled for choice at home.)

The dinner was solid.We had good ceviche, fish, and steak. For dessert, the profiteroles with hot chocolate sauce are a good choice.

The ambiance of the restaurant is very nice. This spacious room is very comfortable and bustling but still quiet enough to have conversation. The staff is attentive and friendly.

I enjoyed my dinner, but I had more interesting meals at cheaper prices at other restaurants in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LittleMySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantisimoCartagena, Andres Lesmes - Director Mercadeo Online at El Santisimo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for your visit and for your review.

According with your review, we are sorry not giving you full expectations in your visit. Our wine list is very complete and we are looking to give many options for all our visitors but in this case we did not complete your expectations so we are going to check our menus and options in order to know what happened in your visit.

In El Santísimo, we offer a variety of food and drinks in our menu in order to offer different gastronomic experiences in Cartagena and also de environments we offer complement our menu so you can have a wonderful experience at our restaurant.

However we appreciate your positive comments in our service, we always work for excellence and we hope in your next visit in El Santísimo you can live and enjoy 100% our concept combined with the variety of our menu and unique and charming environment.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Santisimo also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Santisimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing