We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Paella in the world!”
Review of La Cevicheria

La Cevicheria
Ranked #41 of 708 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Paella in the world!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A must visit if you come to Cartagena!
La Cevicheria is situated across from the entrance of my favourite bar El Coro of the Hotel Santa Clara(Sofitel)
A street side restaurant with gorgeous ceviches and the best seafood paella that I have ever tasted.
If Celebrity chef, Anthony Bourdain, had to come to Cartgena to taste and televise these costeno ceviches and dishes,then you better come and check it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,575
    907
    364
    153
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Excellent Ceviche”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went here about 4 times in a 6 day stay in Cartagena, simpy because I couldnt get enough Ceviche. Much nicer outside than inside, but only four tables. Service is not the fastest, but the ceviche makes up for it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMAN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't always trust the travel guides”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I went here because it was the "Top Pick" restaurant in Cartagena. We both love ceviche, so it sounded like a great idea... We were disappointed. We ordered ceviche and a seafood paella and shared both. They were just average and the ceviche ("Ceviche Mexicano") was super sugary and swimming in sauce and included only 8 Doritos-type chips- not nearly enough for the amount of ceviche.

We noticed that on the back of the menu, the restaurant boasts about being featured on a particular TV show. I have never seen that episode, but I imagine once La Cevicheria got popular from the TV show, they thought they could do whatever they wanted and still succeed? In any case, we have no idea how this place got rated Top Pick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious, expensive, long waits”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The red snapper ceviche was excellent, the seafood salad good. The service was sloooooooow, and yes,it's overpriced. 90,000+ for the above plus two lemonades.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cooperllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorgues, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice ceviche at an expensive price...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The place is well known on a lot of guides and does deserve the very good reviews in regards to the quality of the ceviche served there. But having lunch on the street should not be that expensive: two ceviche, two deserts a juice and a beer for more than 140K is definitely out of range from most places, including.... the Sofitel restaurant next door.
Service was OK but smile may have been at a premium.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cevicheria also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Cevicheria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing