We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than a flop house, false promises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worse than a flop house, false promises”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked the room for 4 nights because it is on the list of the South America Handbook. The person I emailed to confirmed that there is a bathroom, breakfast included and free wifi.

The room turned out to be dirty, there are 3 beds but not even a desk, the bathroom is haphazardly put together (the faucet did not stay in one place, you had to use both hands to turn it on). There was wifi, but it was not connected to the internet!

Worse of all, the workers did not think that there was anything wrong. All they did was sit around and wonder why you were not satisfied.

We found a much better hotel the next day at 3/4 the price. When we checked out, the proprietor, who was never there and the workers had to consult her on the phone, first wanted me to stay all 4 nights at a reduced rate (though still more expensive than the other hotel) and when I insisted on leaving, charged me an extra 20000COP. They locked the gate so I had to pay up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    5
    6
    14
See reviews for
15
23
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights only because it was already paid. Otherwise I would had done the same as other couple, who left the hotel early in the morning before having breakfast.
My bed was broken and just after they had "fixed" some bugs appeared all over the blanket. Seems that they were inside bed's wood for a long time.... No hot water, no internet in the rooms, only superficial cleaning. In the last night, rain water flooded our rooms, wetting our luggage. There was no shower in one of the rooms, only the end of the pipe. We had to insist a lot to change the room. I didn't believe in the other testimonies until I saw by myself and really regret for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kátia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Medellin
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our flight was delayed Saturday (after 5 hours of waiting with Viva Colombia we asked them to change our flight to the next day) so just wanted a basic hotel right near to plaza santo domingo. Unfortunately, we didn’t want quite that basic, however our fault for not looking properly prior to paying. The location is great, however the Hostal is in some serious need of renovation – it could be a great place. The rooms are very basic, with cheap beds, a sort of open bathroom and the ‘’window’’ style A/C. It is quite run down and would only stay there again if it was a last option. There is no TV in the room and full of bugs and mosquitos (we asked them to fumigate which they did). The hostal has internet however it was not available in the room. All of this was probably why we were the only ones staying.

The ladies who work there though are lovely, very friendly and accommodating and really nice people. You are able to buy beers and cocktails from the front desk and the little ice-cream shop just out the front is nice.

The cost was 124,000 a night and there was no IVA exemption for foreigners. You can obtain free water from the large bottles in the fridge. We had a late checkout (4 hours later) which cost 20 k which was great value however, and certainly didn’t expect it as we have been refused a lesser rate before for late checkouts at other places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicks_medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotels is disgustingly damp and dirty. The rooms have no windows or locked one. They are wildly over priced for what you get. On top of this, I booked a 60 000Pesos room by email and found out they wanted to charge me 75000Chf for the same disgusting, boxlike room with not even a lock on the door. The location is not everything and it is time travelers avoid this hotel that is in a complete state of decay for the manager to think of service and not just profits.

Room Tip: don't even think of taking a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last february, and came back to Brasil with a pneumony, because the rooms are very dirty, the furniture is old and poor, the walls have humidity and the breakfast is basic. In fact, the hostel is cheap and the location is excellent, but the cheap sometimes is the most expensive choice. Avoid it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabricioKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We arrived having booked over a month ahead. The room was quite nice, clean and had A/C as agreed. The price was what we had agreed as well.
As for facilities, they are very good. The shower does not have hot water as, according to the clerk/manager there, the climate is too hot for such amenity. We agreed but would've used hot water in an occasion or two.
The service was excellent. Always willing to assist in whatever issue arose and with a big smile. There's a nice patio with some tables for having breakfast or a beer at night. On top of all this, the hostel is located in a wonderful area right in the heart of the walled city.

Room Tip: Do choose a room with A/C. The weather there is VERY hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I stayed here 8 nights in February and March 2011.
The Hostal Santo Domingo is on a beautiful, typical colonial street in the old city, within the city walls.
A very short walk - 150 meters - to Plaza Santo Domingo, with several outdoor restaurants, and evening street entertainment.
About 300 meters to the city walls.
Rooms are claen, AC works, showers are not hot, but neither are they cold - ambient temperature, which is OK in a warm climate.
Breakfast of eggs, toast, jam, butter, fresh fruit juice, coffee or tea.
Staff very helpful - not much English spoken, but Google translate available to communicate. There is one internet computer for staff and guest use, plus WIFI.
Excellent security. Hostal is within a walled courtyard - front full metal gates usually closed during the day, very noisy to open, so no one can sneak in.
At night, metal gates are closed and padlocked, and the sturdy street door of heavy wood is locked and braced against entry. There is a bell, so if one is out late, getting back in is simple.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Cordoba Estrella
Casa Cordoba Estrella
#76 of 155 in Cartagena
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torre del Reloj
Hotel Torre del Reloj
#137 of 155 in Cartagena
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#89 of 155 in Cartagena
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 188 in Cartagena
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#14 of 188 in Cartagena
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo
Address: Calle Santo Domingo No. 33-46, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Hostal Santo Domingo Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing