We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good 'Staff'”
Review of Casa Sweety

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Sweety
Ranked #44 of 155 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Good 'Staff'”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place is fantastic! The staff were very attentive to my needs. Rooms are really clean and nice. They offer different breakfast varieties everyday so you won't get tired of eating the same thing every morning for the duration of your stay. The hotel is in a good location as there were popular landmarks around like Cafe Havana. My favorite part was the rooftop where you can see a panoramic view of the city. The kitchen is pretty awesome too! (I have kitchen fetish).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    47
    15
    14
    10
See reviews for
14
101
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I picked Casa Sweety because of the raving reviews about the staff. It was then very disappointing when one of the staff members tricked us. When we arrived there, we had no idea about local surrounding, etc so we asked Carolina about recommendations for budget restaurants since we were on a tight budget. She recommended one restaurant that she claimed was cheap with great food. When we got there, we were surprised to see the prices but decided to trust Carolina since we didn't know much about restaurant prices in Cartagena. Not only was the food mediocre but it was a complete rip-off since they charged all sorts of surcharges and what not! I am sure Carolina receives commission from them! It spoiled our whole trip because we ended up spending so much on a horrible lunch the first day and didn't have as much money for other days.

The room itself was OK. Fairly clean, the AC worked, and they cleaned the bathroom every day. There was a lizard in the room. Monica was nice and helpful. I just wish Carolina hadn't tricked us and spoiled our trip for us:(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pak86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Casa Sweety for 3 nights to begin our Colombian adventure and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Laura, the receptionist (not sure of her title!) made our stay the best it could be ... giving us advice on where to go, what to see, and how to get there. She happily booked our bus for our next stop. We stayed in the small room just off the lobby and it was great for all intensive purposes. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the walled city with loads of restaurants nearby. Our room was always clean and tidy no matter what time we came back to the Casa. The pool was refreshing after a walk in the hot sun. We didn't have the free breakfast that was offered due to sleeping in late, or taking pills that don't allow us to eat for a while ... I would highly recommend this beautiful, well kept Casa again, and we were really happy with our choice. Thank you Laura, for making our stay perfect, and for all of your help!!

Room Tip: If we return to Casa Sweety, we would choose a room opposite the pool on the main floor, just for ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Arrived to find my girlfriend had booked the room for December rather than November, but fortunately Carolina on reception had another room for four nights and spared us that argument ;)

We stayed in the ground floor room facing you as you walk in. It is ridiculously spacious with a large bathroom. Good bed, furnishings fine. Shower area cool, not hot water but honestly it's not required. The pool isn't massive but a dip in there & the room's air-con are a godsend in 35C heat.

The staff make this place. The ladies in the kitchen are a laugh and the girls who rotate on reception speak great English to help you out if your Spanish is patchy.

Breakfast was good, great fruit & fruit juice of course, plus an egg-based main, or pancakes, as is the norm.

Organised a few things while we were there - Day trips to Volcan Totumo, Playa Blanca day trip & the Rumba en Chiva party bus. All available to be added to your bill at the end of the stay, but expect all buses to be half an hour late! They also sorted out a private minibus for transfer to Santa Marta which is handy rather than trying to sort that all out yourself at the bus station.

Location is in Getsemeni which is a friendly area. On first night we went out for a drink to immediately find some kind of late night dance/zumba session going on in Plaza Trinidad which kind of sums up the lively and friendly atmosphere.

Everything feels close, even walking to the north of the walled city is perfectly do-able and you will soon learn your way around.
Cartagena old town felt just as safe as any Western city and there are police everywhere - use your brain but don't worry too much.

Nothing but good things to say really, thanks all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had an excellent time at Casa Sweety Hotel. The staff make you feel like home. My special thanks to Carolina that gave me a lot of tips of the city and help me to select the attractions.
The breakfast is amazing! They clean the room everyday and the hotel is very secure.
I deftly recommend this hotel to all people that are traveling to Cartagena. It is near to the torre del reloj, the old city, and the muele (where all boats to the island leaves).

Room Tip: The standard junior suite don't have window. For me was not a problem. All the other rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Couldn't have been happier with Casa Sweety, me and my sister stayed there for 6 nights earlier this month and wish we stayed longer. The rooms were cleaned everyday, they have a great pool on the doorstep of your room, the staff were all soo friendly and prepared a great breakfast every morning with freshly made juice, the location was perfect (in the heart of the going out area surrounded by bars and only a 5 minute walk to the old town). The only downside was the hot water wasn't really hot, but that's common in Colombia and with the heat in Cartagena it wasn't really a problem. Other than that, a great place to stay, will definitely be returning there!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kutchykoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you're looking for a good value in Cartagena this is it! The workers here are all very friendly and eager to help. However, before blindly taking their recommendations as far as different vendors or attractions, go out and talk to different vendors and negotiate for the best price. The location is convenient in that you can walk to many of the main attractions including the clock tower, the port, and the wall. However, it is not amongst the nicest areas in town. The rooms are small and not really bright and the doors and walls are paper thin, so if you want great privacy this is not your place. However, they are clean and comfortable with nice cold working air conditioners. Some of the rooms do not come with hot water, but it is warm and at this temperature it is not necessary. There is a very small but very nice pool. In the week that we spent at Casa Sweety we almost always had the pool to ourselves. The breakfast is excellent always starting with a bowl of fresh fruit salad followed by whatever they choose to make that day, but it is always made fresh whenever you are ready for breakfast. There are nicer hotels to be had and better locations, but if you're looking for a great value I would highly recommend Casa Sweety. I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mary
Casa Mary
#15 of 155 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ebano 967
Casa Ebano 967
#12 of 155 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fegali Art Boutique
Hotel Fegali Art Boutique
#36 of 155 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pedregal
Hotel El Pedregal
#46 of 155 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portal de San Antonio
Hotel Portal de San Antonio
#78 of 155 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sweety? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sweety

Property: Casa Sweety
Address: Calle del Guerrero 29b-119 | Getsemani, Cartagena N/A, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Sweety 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Sweety offers an elegant setting in a colonial-style Bed & Breakfast. Cool off from a tropical day full of sight-seeing in our refreshing pool, savour one of our house cocktails or exotic, fresh fruit juices, & sun bathe on our peaceful terrace! We’re located only a 5 minute stroll from El Centro! Free Guided Orientation Tour and bike rental for those staying in one of the 2 Suites or our Single Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Sweety reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sweety Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing