We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in Cartagena”
Review of Casa Sweety

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Sweety
Ranked #60 of 173 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent location, just a short walk from the old town, but for the evening we preferred the Getsemaní, it's much more friendly.
The casa has a very familiar and at the same time historical atmosphere.
Staff is very hospitable, charming and helpful. Breakfast is just fantastic, it is made in front of your eyes. Colombians start the day with fresh exotic fruits, and here you get the best.
Our room was unbelievably spacious with simple, but stylish decoration and furniture. However, it was a little bit noisy, just next to the washing mashine of the casa. So if you like to stay in bed late in the morning, try to avoid the room opposite to the entrance in the ground floor :-)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor, they could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 220 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

just a 5 min walk to old city entrance - 1 block off main flow of Getsemani - excellent staff, English, French, Spanish - first room by pool table small but quiet - upstairs room more spacious - pool side rooms looked nice - small pool but didn't use - lounge area hot , need fans on in day time - AC in rooms good - checked out early for flight no breaky or fruit offered.

Room Tip: by pool but cost more. Avoid room by pool table area if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would love to write a raving review about how great this place probably would have been, were it not for the fact that we never actually got to spend a night here. Nevertheless, I want to put this review out here because it could save you a similar trouble.

We booked 2 nights here through a well known website. However upon arrival we were told that unfortunately our reservation was somehow never processed by reception when it had been received. They admitted the problem was on their side, however since the hotel was totally full all they could do was suggest us another place.

While we waited there and did some "emergency research" on the newly suggested place we did get a couple of free beer. In the end, we went for their suggestion, and they did pay the cab ride there (hence they still got a 2 out of 5).

Bottom line: Even though the booking may say "No need to confirm the reservation". Please do so, it may safe you some hassle.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank uncrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My experience at Casa Sweety was wonderful. Nestled in a side street just a short walk from the Old City, Casa Sweety was a great place to relax after 3 long and hot days exploring Cartagena. The staff was phenomenal and unbelievably accommodating. We asked to extend our stay by 1 night and they said it was fine but simply asked if we could move into another room for the last 2 nights. Then they asked us to move to a different room for the 3rd night, and as a gesture of gratitude for our understanding they gave us the deluxe sweet for the same price as our simple room. Breakfast included and cooked for you as you arrive at the table, and they make you fresh juice. Free wireless internet, and they can arrange transportation and tourist activities. The neighborhood appears rundown from the outside, but we never felt unsafe at anytime of the day or night. Really no major complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have less street noise but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First, all the staff at Casa Sweety were so pleasant and helpful (deserving a big hug!), the breakfasts were good, and location about 4-5 blocks to Puerta El Reloj and a short hike to the castle. They were so kind to accommodate us in a ground floor room.
It seems the hotel is advertised to be either a boutique hotel or a hostel (depending on what web sites you read) and I think reaction will depend on your expectation. Given the great photos and the other reviews, our expectations (looking for a boutique hotel) were quite high, setting us up for a disappointment. Our room was nice and very clean, had air-conditioning and a TV, but little light as it was right by the pool where we had to keep the shutters closed. The hotel is a bit overpriced. Someone seeking a boutique B&B in that area might also check out Casa Mary down the street.

I would recommend that they offer some small drinks and snacks for sale as a convenience to guests, let it be known there is a wide range of prices for the rooms (We used booking.com and they only carried the more expensive rooms). I don't know how popular a pool table is. It would also be nice if they could find a way to enclose and air-condition at least part of the common area.

We stayed 6 nights in November/December and my daughter was there for 4 nights. She was happy about the accommodation, but she wasn't paying.

One aside about Colombia: I asked where to find the Post Office to mail a postcard to a friend in China and was directed toward the Cathedral. It turns out Colombia does NOT have a national post office and relies on private services that may or may not be reliable or honest.(See also Lonely Planet Thorntree forum)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jxschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Im sorry to have to go against the grain on this one, but we did not have such a pleasant stay. We were traveling with our two daughters, ages 5 and 8 and feel like this was was highly misrepresented on its website and email correspondence to us. The extra beds they were charging us $50 for were simply sofa cushions on the floor. There was no hot water, clogged sink and +++ Mosquitos in the room. The pool was tiny and the water cold. I will say that Monika and Carolina were lovely and did their best to accommodate us. We have travelled extensively with the girls and though I recognize it was high season, it was definitely not reasonable to charge us $250 for this accomodation. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anju V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The people working here are simply incredible! We stayed for 5 nights (if you go on their website you receive a discount price for extended stays!), and we had a wonderful time. Our room was right by the pool and had AC, a flat screen tv, and fresh sheets and towels everyday. Our breakfast was fantastic- fresh fruit, fresh juice, arepas, sometime omelets. Casa Sweety is walking distance from all major attractions. The staff is extremely helpful, they booked our Volcan Totumo tour, called a taxi for us to the airport, and gave us great recommendations for restaurants. I was sad to leave, and will definitely be back soon. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Old Town Premium B&B San Diego
Old Town Premium B&B San Diego
#20 of 173 in Cartagena
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Colonial
Hotel Villa Colonial
#14 of 173 in Cartagena
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Pedregal
Hotel El Pedregal
#57 of 173 in Cartagena
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Pedro Romero
Hotel Casa Pedro Romero
#39 of 221 in Cartagena
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
#8 of 173 in Cartagena
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#5 of 173 in Cartagena
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sweety? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sweety

Address: Calle del Guerrero 29b-119 | Getsemani, Cartagena N/A, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $45 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Sweety 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Sweety offers an elegant setting in a colonial-style Bed & Breakfast. Cool off from a tropical day full of sight-seeing in our refreshing pool, savour one of our house cocktails or exotic, fresh fruit juices, & sun bathe on our peaceful terrace! We’re located only a 5 minute stroll from El Centro! Free Guided Orientation Tour and bike rental for those staying in one of the 2 Suites or our Single Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa Sweety reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sweety Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing