We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel...great location...wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel 3 Banderas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 3 Banderas
Ranked #55 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a basic 3* hotel....nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable and well located in a quiet part of the old city. Rooms with balconies, on the top floor, have lots of light. Lower rooms have windows that open to the interior courtyard. Paola and the rest of the staff are terrific - very helpful and always were quickly responsive to our needs. If you want a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, this is not the one for you. But if looking for a basic hotel that is quiet, clean, comfortable and secure, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms with balconies. Lots of light and also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jWorld Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 446 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

excellent hotel, in excellent location, rooms are small but its not an issue, good hot showers, air conditioning, good fan, great breakfast. Front desk is very helpful. Great location. Good security in and out of hotel. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on 9/11/13-9/13/13.
This hotel's location is what makes it worth the higher price they charge to stay with them.
The rooms are simple, with basic decor and a/c units that do a somewhat decent job keeping it cool.

The hotel grounds are well kept, with nice gardens which also include a waterfall off a wall, and many plants that surround the common grounds.

Service is ok. It is nothing special. Most of the staff speaks Spanish-only.

We can't say that we enjoyed the breakfast -it was basic and simple, with nothing really to comment on. No greeting, no music during breakfast, no special breakfast feature, just a table and some chairs for your party, and a "how do you want your eggs?".

If it was not for its location this hotel would be too expensive.
Altogether, it was an OK experience and I suppose the local management is happy with that since no one does much at all to go above and beyond basic service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 and really enjoyed my stay. The location is awesome, it's on a quiet street, great for walking around and an easy walk to the city wall and to the main old town areas. The girls at the front desk are extremely helpful and have alot of information and recommendations. They recommended La Mulata for food which was our favorite place and it was a great! They also helped us book some tours, e.g. Islas de Rosarios and the Chivas bus. They were very easy-going as well - they held our bags until we had to leave later that night and their checkout is 1pm (!!). The only thing that would be helpful is if the staff that is knowledgeable and informative were staffed all the time. Seemed like the girls that were the most helpful were there from 7am to 6pm, which was ok because it was easy to book the tours first thing in the morning and leave a couple of hours later. Only thing is, I left my sneakers there and because it was after 6pm no one could help me and I was leaving the city a few hours later - so goodbye sneakers.

The rooms were very large with lots of storage, we could have stayed there for a few weeks and felt comfortable. We stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony, it was nice to have a balcony - although, there was no view, except for the side of a building. The room also had a kitchonette, which we didn't use and the mini bar was so inexpensive, the snacks and beer were less at the mini bar than in the supermarket. The shower had great water pressure and they had a flat screen tv. And the breakfast was really good, expect eggs everyday :)

Room Tip: Some folks had recommended to stay on the top floors in a balcony because of noise. I think they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my idea of a perfect hotel. I had initially booked at a big name chain hotel in the Bocagrande area. Aside from one incident, it was a rather good experience. However, you do not find the flexibility and personal service like you do at Hotel Tres Banderas at sterile chain hotels.

The building is gorgeous, and you can't help but to be impressed by its beauty when you step in through the gated entrance. We were met by Paola (sp?), who was very sweet and was helpful to us on multiple occasions. Check in was no problem and our request for a quiet room with strong WiFi was met completely (our room was immediately next to the router). The spacious room was nicely decorated and clean. The a/c was effective...a blessing! It's true that the a/c is a bit loud, but it helps lull us to sleep. Small minor issue is that the unit is located right above the bed, so the air is blowing directly on you as you sleep. I had to cover my head with the flat sheet. Also, if you leave the a/c on for as long as we had to, you get a little dripping of condensation. The shower had warm water though the sink did not...no problems with that. Construction was a little rustic, but no problems. My concern with mosquitoes squeezing in through the crevasses were unfound.

Service was just incredible. We had a late departure and were allowed to stay well after check out time for just a small fee. Compare this to our prior hotel, which wanted to charge us almost half of the rate. Also, this hotel is HONEST and does not charge the VAT/IVA tax on foreign visitors. Nine nights we stayed in Colombia, and everyone else charges it. The tax rule is that if you are a non-Colombian and pay for a room and say breakfast (that is considered a package), you are exempt from the 16% VAT/IVA tax. The loophole is that hotels can charge whatever rate that includes breakfast and call the breakfast complimentary. This way, the foreigner has not purchased a package and cannot be exempt. 16% adds up quickly and good luck talking your way out of it.

I researched all the available hotels in the area before booking Tres Banderas. I found the management's response to concerns on TA exemplary. Coming from Bogota, I was initially leery of leaving the Bocagrande area, since I felt it must be safer than the old city. I'm so happy that I got to experience this wonderful hotel and wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The receptionist Paola speaks English very well, she studies tourism in the university, we started to chat a lot a few days later staying there. She is very helpful and friendly. The other staffs working there have really good and friendly attitude, greeting us with their warmest smile. The breakfast is quite good, with eggs, fruits, toast breads, cereals and real fruit juices. You can book for tours and trip to the Island via the reception, and not be worry being overcharged, since the people works here are honest and reliable. I definitely enjoyed the place for its price, it is high value for the service they offer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel with no reservation and as previously mentioned in other reviews were welcomed with open arms. The receptionist was really helpful and her english was great. Our luggage was arriving on a later flight which we explained and she said wasn't a problem. The wifi signal is really good best on our trip yet !! Rooms are pretty basic fir the price but cool and comfatable. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#54 of 158 in Cartagena
276 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Curato
Hotel Casa del Curato
#91 of 158 in Cartagena
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#48 of 158 in Cartagena
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#50 of 158 in Cartagena
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#56 of 158 in Cartagena
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Banderas

Address: Calle Cochera del Hobo #38-66 | Barrio San Diego, Historical Center, Cartagena 0575, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 3 Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 Banderas is one of the first hotel boutique of its kind to have opened its doors in Cartagena 15 years ago. With over 200 years of history, this fully restored house has always kept its homelike style filled with history surrounding it. 3 Banderas offers its guests an intimate and peaceful ambiance to make them feel home. A one on one service will make you stay a wonderful experience with the 3 Banderas family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 3 Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Banderas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing