We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel 3 Banderas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 3 Banderas
Ranked #42 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were very pleased with Hotel 3 Banderas.

The location is excellent, it was very clean and the price was decent.

Like most small hotels in Colombia, the room was small but very clean. We had hot water (not always the case in Cartagena), clean towels each day, a big comfortable bed, internet access and A/C that worked great.

The breakfast selection was quite large. Fresh juices, cereals, pastries, eggs, fresh fruit and coffee was available every morning -- served to us by the most pleasant woman.

The common areas of the hotel are really pleasant, with lots of plants and fountains surrounded by seating with books/magazines about Cartagena available.

Overall a good hotel for the price. Not the fanciest place, but definitely a clean, quiet, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DD-and-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    190
    53
    10
    12
See reviews for
52
230
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas 2011, at the beginning of the Colombian high season, so the prices may have been higher than usual. That would be a good thing, as while the hotel was nice, it was overpriced for our stay. We had a room with a balcony (which was nice for evening drinks during sunset). The room was clean, and the water was hot in the shower (not that we needed much hot water!) Some members of the front desk staff seemed to really love their jobs (Francisco was fantastic) while others seemed to be bored by helping us.

The location was great - we walked all over Cartagena from the hotel. We booked in advance over fears of rooms in the area being booked due to it being high season, but plenty of places seemed to have vacancies. If we were to do it again, I would not have locked us in to this hotel for four nights.

Room Tip: I didn't see the inside of the non-balcony rooms, but they opened onto the courtyard, and I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yozul145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Booked on the Internet for the hotel on Isla Tierrabomba for 3 days over New Year weekend…Transport included to the island and a welcome drink - Very favourable first impressions of the room, the facilities and the resort generally…Enjoyed a fish lunch on the terrace and a lovely afternoon sun-bathing on the private beach with fabulous views of Cartagena. Went back to the room in the early evening and there was no water to wash with…It was the same throughout the rest of the hotel. The shower head was blocked so we had to call maintenance in order to rectify the issue…The water from the storage tanks was coming out black :(…We changed rooms…No cable TV (only 3 national channels), no telephones in any of the rooms, stained bed-sheets…It´s important not to expect too much but there were too many bases being missed here for my liking and too many flies in the ointment all told. After spending the weekend on the island we went to the sister hotel in the Historical Centre…It was an average hotel/hostal offering small doubles situated on noisy metal landings, dirty carpets, basic breakfast included and free Internet…No value for the price…Unfortunately location was about all the City hotel had going for it and there are a number of other options in a comparable price range that may do better. Shop around and do your best to grab a better deal...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent three nights here over Christmas 2011 and enjoyed our stay. The basic level rooms are small but have AC and hot water. Breakfast was quite good and the WIFI was fast. Quality of service depended on the staff member we dealt with but was good overall. The location is perfect, in the old city but on a quiet street and well within walking distance to great squares, the old wall, restaurants, bars and museums. Overall a good, affordable option in Cartagena.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

One of the best hotel experiences in Colombia. Had a room with a balcony facing the beautiful courtyard, the room was clean, AC, good wifi reception, comfy bed for sleeping. The hotel is located in the old town but still on a quiet street away from any noise.

The main pro for this hotel is nevertheless the staff, which was extremely helpful with anything we needed to arrange, I thank them very very much and our stay in Cartagena was very pleasant thanks to them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The good, perhaps one of the best free breakfasts you'll find, with a great selection of breads and lovely coffee. The room we stayed in let the experience down a little. The decor did not match that of the pleasant exterior and common spaces. had no problem with room access. though some may struggle with the outdoor stairs to reach the top floor. The room had a balcony that does not get cleaned (bird dropping covered the furniture out there) room service went nowhere near it.

Bit of mix up with our scheduled departure and door to door pick. Staff seem very nice, but some are perhaps too young to run the hotel without more support or adequet trainning.

Room Tip: check all the rooms available prior to accepting one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backbeat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great small hotel that is away from the main crowds but an easy walk to everything. Front staff is great, breakfast fantastic and everyone is extremely helpful. Rooms tend to be small, but so is the price compared to the main tourist hotels in the walled city. Airco is great - essential in hot and humid (steaming) Cartagena. Plenty of hot water and good cable TV. Like all beds in Colombia, mattresses were very firm, but very comfortable.
Just steps from Plaza Fernandez de Madrid with less expensive bars/restaurants on one side and a few steps to the Sofitel Santa Clara on the other side. Lots of art galleries and shops in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Curato
Hotel Casa del Curato
#87 of 154 in Cartagena
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#45 of 154 in Cartagena
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#39 of 154 in Cartagena
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#58 of 154 in Cartagena
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 154 in Cartagena
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#54 of 154 in Cartagena
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Banderas

Property: Hotel 3 Banderas
Address: Calle Cochera del Hobo #38-66 | Barrio San Diego, Historical Center, Cartagena 0575, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 3 Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 Banderas is one of the first hotel boutique of its kind to have opened its doors in Cartagena 15 years ago. With over 200 years of history, this fully restored house has always kept its homelike style filled with history surrounding it. 3 Banderas offers its guests an intimate and peaceful ambiance to make them feel home. A one on one service will make you stay a wonderful experience with the 3 Banderas family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel 3 Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Banderas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing