We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Marques Hotel Boutique
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$141
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dann Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$313
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$114
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa India Catalina(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corales de Indias(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
95
31
8
6
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
31
8
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelwedding plannerbohemian restaurantold citythe entire hotelcolonial housenice poolwalled citystayed nightsperfect locationpescacourtyardangievendors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 156 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

How cool this place is. The pictures do not do it justice. A perfect blend of old Cartagena history with a modern design aesthetic. Amazing food (probably the best we had in the entire week we were in Colombia). Amazing service--the entire staff from front desk to bartender to maids were so kind and so helpful.
We were in room 301 which is on the street side of the hotel. Take earplugs or a sound machine (we had a sound machine with us) or you probably won't get much sleep. Who gives a crap about WiFi and TV when you are in one of the coolest places in the world?!? Our A/C kept our room freezing cold at all times and the power went out several times while we were there but the hotel has it's own generator.
Cartagena is burning hot with tons of humidity so be prepared for that-drink lots of water. A trip to Las Islas del Rosario is a must and we had a private guide to tour us around the city for the day (definitely worthwhile). I hope to go back soon as Cartagena is quickly becoming a tourist hotspot which will undoubtedly ruin the charm....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PICKYTRAVELER27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, as a frequent traveler I could say the hotel is way overpriced, the air conditioning system of the room just lower the temperature a couple degrees, the room bar is not replenished everyday, the Internet works only sometimes. It has been a strike and the concierge didn't have the slightest idea that the main road was taken and closed, we asked then to inform us when it's over, then they told us it was over, and when we walked over the turmoil and asked the police they ask us who have the bogus information because it wasn't over at all and told us to be careful. Whe you ask about the iInternet problem they react as you are bothering them, and since it was a business trip in the 21st century we needed the Internet. I don't wanna see my roaming bill because I put a lot of megas on my phone since they didn't have the Internet up. When you pay above US$280 you might expect a little bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maximiliano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've been on the hunt for a boutique hotel that will lure me away from the Santa Clara...and i think i've found it...
This is an utterly charming hotel which will enchant you. Just 8 rooms in total so very personalised service and quiet. Rooms are large, modern and simply decorated, kingsize beds, monsoon shower...but it is the setting - the inner courtyard and nooks and crannies - which is to die for. It is soooo beautiful. The pool is also lovely and a decent size for a boutique hotel.

There is a wine cellar (where you can dine), comfy leather sofas (for among the best cocktails in cartagena), a small restaurant dining area, a "wishing well" (where you dine or have a drink) ...

If you are looking for an exclusive, beautiful, boutique hotel in the heart of the old town, this is definitely one i would recommend. It is the ONLY hotel i have found in cartagena which can rival the Santa Clara...(and is almost nicer because it is smaller and feels more exclusive!)

Also - they have just opened up their cocktail bar and restaurant, Bohemia, to the public in the evenings and we had one of our best meals and cocktails here too so if you don't stay, i would definitely recommend the restaurant and cocktails! (Passionfruit and corozo rum based cocktails were amazing!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A jewel of a city, a jewel of a hotel! I find it absolutely insane that El Marques is not near the top of the top of ratings. Our stay there was dreamy. Granted, we had the junior suite in the front and sort of "annexed" the reading room next door as our own, so we felt like royalty, basking through the heat of the day with gently wafting curtains breezing over our books from the flower-topped verandah.
The service was, for the most part, excellent. Leidis at the front desk provided a great sense of welcome and concierge services. Robin is like a great big bodyguard teddybear and brought me fresh suero each morning. Breakfasts were epic: my husband had a variety of local empanadas, and I had a large plate of fresh fruits. We dined in the garden terrace area.
The thing about El Marques is that photos can't do it justice because of how vertical it is. It's really a magical place to explore, but it's hard to get a good angle for pictures. There are lots of great areas: the reception, the inner courtyard, the pool area, the rooms.
And the location can't be beat! It's on the prettiest street in the Old City, near the entrance in the wall, and close to the Cathedral, famous squares, high-end boutique shopping and around the corner from La Vitrola. Oh, and it's next to the #1 hotel in Cartagena (as in attached to it), which we went inside and looks pretty much the same, so El Marques should not be far behind.
Super romantic. Junior suite highly recommended!
Everything fabulous!!
It was so cool to watch the colorful, musical wedding march down the main street on a Saturday night! One tip: the city stays up late, so if you need good sleep, consider earplugs for the weekends.

Room Tip: Junior suite next to the front lounge/reading room!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktimene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a wonderful supper in the glorious intimate courtyard. The food is amazing and the service is discreet but attentive. The pool and lounge areas are gorgeous. Wish we had discovered it earlier as this is truly a fabulous boutique hotel. The only posible complaint was San Peligrino water priced at 15€ per small bottle.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Badmuscle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews