We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A nice and simple Hotel. Staff is gentle and the hotel very clean. 1 block away from the beach and 15-20 min by walk to the city center (and 5 by taxi). I always prefer staying in the city centers, but in Bocagrande there are a lot of bars, restaurants, souvenir shops and beaches, so at the end, I loved the location. I would like to evaluate the Hotel with 5 stars, but is a little bit expensive compared to all inclusive and luxurious hotels in other famous beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 430 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a nice and small hotel with a very friendly and helpfull staff. Simple but good breakfast and very well located within Bocagrande. A very good option if you are not going to stay within the walled city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I chose the Hotel San Martin in Cartagena based on reviews from others. I was concerned about the hotel's location, but it is in the heart of small business and good residential areas. It's just a block from the beach. I walked to the Centro, the old walled city, and the docks where the boats leave for the islands, many times. It was an easy 30 minute walk, but great exercise!

The staff are all friendly and helpful. Even if I didn't always understand them, they tried hard. They served breakfast from a buffet style table. Breakfast consisted of delicious fresh squeezed juices, good coffee, a couple cereal choices, breads, cheese, and generally a hot meat (ham, sausage, etc) and scrambled eggs. Breakfast was reasonably good.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The room size is adequate. There is a refrig, but it's stuffed with mini-bar items, so basically unusable. The towels and linens are getting a bit thread bare and should be replaced. Otherwise, everything was good.

I have only a few complaints about the hotel. No one here speaks any English. If my Spanish were not half way decent, I would have had a difficult time here. The internet wi fi connections are spotty at best. They were responsive to my complaints, and put a router outside my room for a couple days. I think they may have had their IT person fix something, because the internet did get better. However, I still had connectivity problems and spent way too much time trying to get online.

My final concern is that the hotel really doesn't have a tour desk. They did not have maps or brochures about where to go or what to see. They did try to tell me, but it's so much easier to see brochures and have choices, especially when there is a language barrier.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sculptor-for-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved this place: lovely staff, a decent breakfast, a cheap dinner, nice and clean rooms and a very nice terrace for people watching. It has a very good location, close to the beach and to great restaurants. From there to the walled city would cost you only 6.000 COP and take 5-10 minutes. We really appreciated our stay at San Martin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Close to what you would expect from a good business hotel in the US. Needed amenities like well-appointed rooms, satisfying free breakfast, WiFi, and a very accommodating staff. Close to excellent restaurants. A quick taxi ride to the airport.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank fijidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here over New Year, so prices were higher than usual for the holiday season, but we enjoyed our stay. The reception staff were very helpful and got on the ohone straight away to arrange what we wanted. Big rooms, quiet AC, clean bathrooms with hot showers and great accessto the internet from anywhere. Breakfast was a buffet and plentiful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was surprised how clean and modern this hotel was. Great night spot and one block from the beach. Nice sized rooms were very comfortable with AC.
The staff was very polite and helpful. Fifteen minutes from Cortez airport. I will use this hotel every time I return to Cartagena.
I almost forgot, they have a real breakfast. I see that less and less everywhere I go.
No pool. But who needs a pool in Cartagena ?

Room Tip: Crepes and Waffles directly across the street-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbikerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#37 of 157 in Cartagena
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#81 of 157 in Cartagena
625 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#59 of 157 in Cartagena
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#21 of 157 in Cartagena
1,092 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 157 in Cartagena
727 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Martin Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Martin Cartagena

Address: Bocagrande, Av. San Martin No. 8 - 164, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $56 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Martin Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Martin Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing