We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$158
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$390
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
250
180
27
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
180
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterbread optionsold citywalled cityhotel lobbycab ridespent nights heresimple hotelplace to staygreat air conditioningminutes from the airportthree nightssmall balconythe hotel is cleanexcellent locationmini barboca grande
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 468 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our first three nights in Colombia were spent in the Hotel San Martin in the Bocagrande section of Cartagena. It's a small hotel in a great location. Clean, comfortable rooms with a/c and enough hot water. Nice breakfast with some variety. Very friendly staff. We booked online and were offered only triple rooms. In spite of our being only a couple we went ahead and booked. We were given a large room with room for four but when they realized we were only two they lowered the price of the second and third night to the double rate. I explained that double rooms were not offered on the website for the days I wanted. They understood the misunderstanding and gave us the benefit of the doubt. I can't say enough about their kind offer that saved us $45. It was a touch of class.

Room Tip: It's on a busy street corner so rooms toward the back will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globecrawlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

If you want to save some money (even though you will pay cab rides) by not staying in the walled city, then it maybe a good choice. Most customers are locals, it is a clean place, rooms are a little better than basic, breakfast is average. There are a few good food options around in the next few blocks toward the old city. Oner AYAN

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ONER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The room was great with king-size bed, mini bar, safe, all features much appreciated after a stay in budget accommodation in the walled city, But for location, especially if you don't have a car, I'd recommend staying in the old city. Hotel San Martin is surrounded by other hotels and apartments and there's nothing much to see or do in the area except the beach, which isn't all that great. However, if you do want to stay in Boco Grande then this hotel is good. It's a smaller hotel, spanish hacienda style, with free wi fi and friendly staff. Although it's set on a main road my room was really quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoxleyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had 4 nights in this hotel and we were absolutely satisfied.

It is nice, that this hotel is no huge one- seems nice on the outside and really is on the inside.
With a price of 70 EUR it was an ok price for Cartagena. We had a spacious and really clean room and especially bathroom. The staff was absolutely friendly.

The breakfast was really good as well, if you are satisfied with coffee, juice, cheese, some meats and several fruits with some bread opportunities.

The walled city can easily be reached by taxi, horse carriage and even by foot if you are eager to walk.
The beach, which is really clean, is just across the street, which is nice, since you do not have to carry lots of items with you.

It was also nice that the hotel has a computer in their lobby for free use.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawdimissclawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Good
Low cost £60 a night for room with 2
Comfy beds.
Effective air condition.
Cheap drinks in the bar.
Helpful waiters.
Location is good as you can walk into old town 15 mins.
Bad
No pool, you need it in this area as the beach is a bit dirty in parts.
Breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews