We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The room was great with king-size bed, mini bar, safe, all features much appreciated after a stay in budget accommodation in the walled city, But for location, especially if you don't have a car, I'd recommend staying in the old city. Hotel San Martin is surrounded by other hotels and apartments and there's nothing much to see or do in the area except the beach, which isn't all that great. However, if you do want to stay in Boco Grande then this hotel is good. It's a smaller hotel, spanish hacienda style, with free wi fi and friendly staff. Although it's set on a main road my room was really quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoxleyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 451 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had 4 nights in this hotel and we were absolutely satisfied.

It is nice, that this hotel is no huge one- seems nice on the outside and really is on the inside.
With a price of 70 EUR it was an ok price for Cartagena. We had a spacious and really clean room and especially bathroom. The staff was absolutely friendly.

The breakfast was really good as well, if you are satisfied with coffee, juice, cheese, some meats and several fruits with some bread opportunities.

The walled city can easily be reached by taxi, horse carriage and even by foot if you are eager to walk.
The beach, which is really clean, is just across the street, which is nice, since you do not have to carry lots of items with you.

It was also nice that the hotel has a computer in their lobby for free use.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawdimissclawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Good
Low cost £60 a night for room with 2
Comfy beds.
Effective air condition.
Cheap drinks in the bar.
Helpful waiters.
Location is good as you can walk into old town 15 mins.
Bad
No pool, you need it in this area as the beach is a bit dirty in parts.
Breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we booked 5 nights here but left after only one. The staff are friendly enough and the rooms are large and generally clean. However, there was mould in the bathroom and the AC smelt strongly of mould. People with asthma or allergies should stay elsewhere. Our room had a window only onto the corridor so we felt as if we were in the basement. Despite this the room was noisy. The staff did promise to try to find another room, but by then we had decided to leave, primarily because of the location.

Bocagrande made us feel as though we were at the beaches near Orlando, Florida far more than in Colombia. If you only want chain restaurants, modern shops, bars and night life, this may suit you. However, if you came to see the old city, this is not the place to stay. The old city is at least a 30 minute walk away, but you must walk alongside a very busy road and smell petrol fumes much more than the sea (while continually fending off peddlers). We found a nicer hotel right in the old city for not much more money. The charm of the old city is well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I ended up staying at Hotel San Martin after staying in a recommended hotel for a night. It was a good choice. The hotel is clean, all employees were very attentive to our every need, central to all attractions and a safe area for walking too. You can choose a room with a meal plan or one without. If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel that is reasonably priced, this is the hotel for you. It is in the Bocagrande neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank freespirittraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in Hotel San Martin in Bocagrande then went to the old city to a hotel of similar quality. In both there was Wifi, hot water, nice tiled bathrooms with glass showers, AC, TV, and hot breakfast. I paid my bill at San Martin then was shocked to see the hotel bill in the walled city - it was exactly twice the price.

If you really want to spend most of your time in the old city, a cab ride of 3 dollars or a walk of 15 minutes will get you there. Personally, I enjoyed the beaches and long bike/walkway around the peninsula. There is lots of shopping for great colombian fashions as well.
It's TOTALLY safe and the walkway has charming lights and security guards every block for evening strolls. It has a distinctive COLOMBIAN feel rather than the TOURIST feel of the old city.

I've read many websites dismissing Bocagrande as destination of interest but I'm glad I went to see for myself. On my next trip - I'll be staying at Hotel San Martin in Bocagrande.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
8  Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Big spacious rooms, enormous and very comfortable bed. But, no warm water for our stay was a tad disappointing.
Hotel seemed to be popular with young groups, so in the morning and evenings could be a bit noisey, but very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 159 in Cartagena
1,687 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#84 of 159 in Cartagena
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 159 in Cartagena
1,154 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
2 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Martin Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Martin Cartagena

Address: Bocagrande, Av. San Martin No. 8 - 164, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $58 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Martin Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Martin Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing