We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa India Catalina
Ranked #59 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Its good, not amazing, but good. Rooms / bathrooms are fine, nothing fancy, and breakfast is adequate - juice, fruit, eggs. They do have yogurt if you ask for it. The location is superb, close to everything. Its reasonable value for money... by Colombian standards, its expensive and there are other hotels far cheaper, but for tourists used to paying foreign prices, the price point is OK. Staff are very helpful as well.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 441 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Overall I had an OK stay at India, but I would not likely return.

The staff are very helpful and speak good English. They easily accommodated my early arrival and late check-out. They offered great suggestions and arranged my airport transport, which I later found out, was a bit of a rip-off. Transport from the airport to the hotel should only cost $6 USD (10,000 CO) instead of $22 which the hotel charged… fyi just hop in a yellow cab instead of a private white one (don’t worry, in other parts of Colombia not recommended, but Cartagena yellow cabs are completely safe).

The hotel itself is very nice. The location is absolutely perfect- you are right in center of the old town and steps away from fabulous local restaurants and squares. They did a nice job renovating the building while keeping the historical elements in tact. The lobby and communal areas are also very nice, and they do have a small pool which is more for looks rather than actual use. The pool rarely gets any sunlight and there is no way to really lie down or enjoy it. In hindsight, it really would have been nice being able to lounge around a pool in the heat of the day.

The room was just ok. It was fairly big and basically appointed (really just the bare bones, nothing overly fancy). My major issue was the sheets, which were literally 50 thread count. They felt like toilet paper and scratchy – to the point where I could easily rip them and were completely see-through. Really did not make for a nice feeling or restful sleep. Usually I am not one to notice sheets…but honestly these were really bad!

The wifi was another story, pretty much non-existent in the rooms. The hotel does have communal computers on each of the floors which is a nice touch. The only way you can get wifi is if you are outside and near the router. I guess on one hand this is nice as it pulls you out of your room ;)

AC was very good – which was a nice relief from the hot weather.

The breakfast, like others were mentioned was underwhelming (from my other experiences in Colombia the breakfasts truly are of great quality). The breakfast was very basic and not much variety. Just some fresh fruit, tasteless bread and eggs. One-day breakfast was made to order, and another it was buffet style. Overall quality was sub-standard compared to my other experiences.

My major issue is the additional 10% tip they add on to the price. When you are already paying $150 a night… for a pretty bare-bones hotel, it is a bit strange I felt to add a tip onto your bill. Personally I feel like the tip really should be left up to the guest to determine….. (or just leave the tip in the room like normal). I am all for rewarding staff and offering tips, but I just felt a bit weird paying an obligatory tip (also felt a bit awkward and cheap asking them to remove the tip…. )

Yes the price is pretty good for Cartagena (which is absolutely beautiful!), but I think you can find a better quality options. I’m sorry to say, but I felt a bit ripped off by the whole experience and would not likely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mulholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very conveniently located in the old town, with plenty of good restaurants and sights within easy and safe walking distance. The staff were very welcoming, and able to advise on where to go if we needed. The pool is more like somewhere to dip in and cool off rather than swim, but pleasant all the same. We had a compact interior room, maybe the street side ones were bigger, but potentially noisy?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a beautiful old building that has been wonderfully modernized and is in the center of central Cartagena and yet on a quiet street. The staff are dedicated to your having a trouble free and comfortable stay. I must mention Cindy at the front desk who speaks English well and was helpful to us on many occasions.
We stayed in a room with a "balcony" ; it was very small but that was our onky disappointment. The bed, an over sized king, had immaculate linens with lace on the pillowcases. The bathroom was also good sized and the shower very hot .
Sofa bed, large closet, nice TV. The air conditioning was quite cold which was nice because the common areas were hot and humid although very beautiful with a large common area with small pool. Breakfast was not elaborate but Chef Simon was always pleasant and eager to provide you with a super pleasant morning experience.
The cleaning staff were hard working and helpful.
All in all, I would heartily recommend this lovely hotel.
Patricia and kip in florida.

Room Tip: Room 201 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciat161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel the pics in the site fall short of what the hotel really is... Great place and staff

Also great location within the city everything is nearby (even the airport about 10-15 mins)

This is a great hotel for couples it has a very nice vibe and there are many things to do in the city

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ABM817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is the sort of place you come into and think wow as it is a lovely old building beautifully renovated with a central courtyard that lets you look up to the sky.

Breakfast was okay, but have to say it would have been nice to have a choice other than do you want your omelette with cheese or tomato. We were given the same 3 rolls and two pieces of dried toast to share every morning and 3 pieces of fruit. There were bowls of tangerines on the table. Coffee was not very good and was the only thing you could serve yourself though you had to ask for milk. Orange juice was excellent. I missed my cereal and yoghurt and it would have been nice to have had other options. As it was quiet the staff seemed to spend a lot of time in the kitchen area.

Rooms were adequate, with excellent air conditioning but as the window faced the inside courtyard, very dark, so you had to have lights on during the day. The products in the bathroom were never replaced in the 4 days we were there and on several occasions had to ask for towels. The bed was comfortable and the television had a huge choice of channels. The safe worked sporadically.

It was great having a desk top computer, there is one on each floor. The pool in the central courtyard was not used while we were there, but we did use the hammock in the communal area which was restful.

The staff add 10 percent onto your bill for tips, the first time I have come across this and you can have it taken off your bill.

Not sure I would come back to this hotel, not because we didnt like it but because there are just so many gorgeous new ones out there, with lots of old buildings being renovated. This is very much a tourist town and there are lots of B&B's to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our first stop in Colombia. What an amazing place to start. We had big bulky kitesurfing kit and had to negotiate getting ourselves to the kite beach in Boquilla playa and then onto Santa marta. They negotiated taxis for us, advised on the best restaurants and gave plenty of useful sightseeing advice(like renting mopeds around the corner-would recommend).

The hotel has a beautiful colonial charm in a good location and the breakfast was fantastic. The only thing I would say was that the sheets appeared not to have been changed as they had quite a lot of hair on them. But when reported to the staff they changed our sheets very quickly.

Thank you for the fantastic service guys!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea_snow_sand_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#49 of 157 in Cartagena
569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#22 of 157 in Cartagena
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#19 of 157 in Cartagena
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
#80 of 157 in Cartagena
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 157 in Cartagena
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa India Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa India Catalina

Address: Calle 5 - 67 | Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $60 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa India Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cartagena, vibrates Casa India Catalina - a hotel with the perfect combination of an harmonious interior and efficient service. Given its privileged position in the Walled City Centre, a few minutes from all tourist attractions business and leisure. Its colonial style and exquisite decoration full of elegance each corner. All rooms are fully equipped. Our team aims to make guests' stay an unforgettable experience. Greetings from this, your house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa India Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa India Catalina Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing