We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel at wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa India Catalina
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value hotel at wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Casa India Catalina is a great value at an excellent location right in the middle of Centro. The room was an adequate size, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the staff are extremely helpful. The wifi signal was pretty strong on any floor. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the window in the room which faced the common areas so I could never leave it open.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank VagrantTiger89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    187
    47
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
209
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a beautiful city and this is a perfect place to stay to experience all it has to offer. I travelled with 2 teenage girls who had just completed an 8 week school exchange in Bogota. This is such a safe area and we had a great time exploring all the city has to offer from this well priced hotel. The building is beautiful, clean and we found Cindy and Donovan in reception to be friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful building and the pool and air con were welcomed by the girls on returning from their exploratory trips. There is a great place for smoothies just up the road

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is located right in the heart of the walled city. Everything is but a few steps away, so you can soak up the unique atmosphere of the "pearl of the Caribbean" day and night.

The building is a beautifully restored historic colonial house and in the obligatory courtyard you will even find a little pool, perfect for a short siesta during the hours of the most oppressive heat.

Our room was not actually one room, it was a whole apartment, because we were upgraded - which is always a nice thing... We had plenty of space, a stereo sound system, TV, A/C, a dining area, kitchenette (but not much of equipment), two double beds and a little balcony facing the street. We were a bit worried that this would mean a lot of noise but thanks to an inner and an outer door it was one of the quietest places we stayed in!

The staff were all friendly, but to be really honest I must say that they were not too attentive (especially those attending the reception). No problems or serious complaints, though. The breakfast was good and sufficient - and we especially liked the local specialty we were given two of the three times we had breakfast there.

So, all in all this makes a really nice base-camp for exploring the pearl of the Caribbean, but don´t expect the staff to help you with any travel arrangements, information etc.They are not rude or anything, so don´t let that put you off, just don´t expect any extras (and don´t expect to be able to check in in time).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and were very pleased. It's in a great location right in the heart of the old city, the rooms are comfortable and up to date, and the staff is very friendly. One of the desk attendants even made a point of finding me and wishing me happy birthday. We upgraded to a suite, which was well worth it for the extra space and balcony, but I saw the regular rooms which were quite nice too. There is good wifi, a small pool and a simple but adequate breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have just spent a few days with my daughter in Hotel India Catalina, and wanted to share the nice experience I had. Location is outstanding, in the old city, rooms are comfortable and above everything service is excellent. They are always trying to help you with whichever needs you have. Good relation quality/price.
Carlos Burundarena, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Room Tip: No elevator, so if stairs are hard for you try to get a room in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staying in the old city is much nicer than Bocagrande which is a little nondescript. The hotel is well located near places of interest. Reception staff friendly and speak some english. The courtyard is nice to sit in when it gets too hot and the room was latge wnough, safe, tv, aircon and a good sized bathroom.
Its about 120 USD a night which is very expensive for Colombia but normal for Cartagena. The chef and Donovan in particular were very friendly and helpful. The room did need a few little things repaired,a loose towel rail and soap rack but nothing serious. A good mid price option.

Room Tip: Room 207 was quiet and at the end of the corridor so very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

we love it,rooms are beautifully decorated,staff very friendly and helpful, good breakfast somehow is like you have your own chef,the chef si coming at the table and asks what you like to ate!!!
the breakfat room si very very nice,location is very good, exactly in the old city center,they have a computer on each floor,free wifi in the rooms,just great....air conditioning throughout!!! the room is a bit expensive, but the hosts were wonderful ... we decided to stay 2 nights extra :))

Room Tip: check the mini bar when you arrive in the room are empty because some products are packaged as if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihaelapuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#41 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#39 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#14 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa India Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa India Catalina

Property: Casa India Catalina
Address: Calle del Coliseo No. 5 - 67 | Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa India Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cartagena, vibrates Casa India Catalina - a hotel with the perfect combination of an harmonious interior and efficient service. Given its privileged position in the Walled City Centre, a few minutes from all tourist attractions business and leisure. Its colonial style and exquisite decoration full of elegance each corner. All rooms are fully equipped. Our team aims to make guests' stay an unforgettable experience. Greetings from this, your house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa India Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa India Catalina Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing