We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel (and Pool)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 156 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel (and Pool)”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A good small hotel with rooms around the pool which is a great plus in the hot midday sun. Friendly relaxed service and good breakfast. Good position with easy access to the town. The rooms are simple but very adequate. A good place to stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARRHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    73
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
79
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for the last 9 days of my 20 day trip. The owner is French but was not here (likely because this is the off season). The website says that there are people who speak English whom work here but this is not true. Although very nice & helpful, not a single soul spoke English. No worries, this is a Spanish speaking country but i did run into guests who were disappointed with this. The rooms are quite expensive for the area. They have two different types of rooms. Rooms around the pool & rooms above the living area. These rooms are half the price & this is where I stayed. There is no daylight in these rooms as there are no windows. The air conditioner doesn't work great because the room is not closed in (many gaps in the space). Why do I not regret my stay? The pool! It is a real pool that goes to a depth of 7 ft. It is so hot in Cartagena & I took advantage of the pool daily. The hammocks were nice too. the breakfast is also very good here. They give you a choice btwn eggs or Crepes, there is fresh fruit & they make real jugo (juice). And the people who work here are very nice. You can find better but you can also do much worse. I'm not sure though that you will get the wonderful pool with your better;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Firstly the location of the hotel is excellent, it is within a 10 minute walk of the Historic Centre and also in a safe and secure location. The hotel has a good pool and effective air con which help make the stay comfortable. Breakfast is fantastic and the staff are friendly and helpful.

There are some frustrating aspects of the hotel including a shower that has little/none cold water (which is not the case in the vast majority of hotels in 3rd world countries!), lights that do not work in the shower and a lack of mosquito nets.

For the most part the hotel is very good value for money and the positives greatly outweigh the negative aspects.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluearmyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at casa relax for our 3 days in cartegena, and although it was not what we were expecting, it was very nice. I think the price must be based around the fact that there is a very nice pool available, which is a total bonus since it is just so hot! The air con was also great to have. Breakfast is lovely with plenty to eat and great coffee. The only minus points I would say are that there is the usual problem with water, it doesn't always work if you want a shower (I don't think this is the fault of the hotel, it has been an issue in other places we have stayed too), and there was quite a few ants and Mosquitos in our room, no net made this a bit of a problem. The staff however were friendly and we managed to get by on zero Spanish and sign language! We booked via email with no booking fee and paid the agreed price. All together, pretty good!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasco_De_Gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Good location, ok standard, pool, nice breakfast, good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Looking for a cheap stay in Cartagena then this is the place to be. This is a nice little hideaway with about 11 rooms and a nice little swimming pool in the middle. It is very quiet and the service is great. There are two ladies that work during the day which will attend to your every need. People have to understand you are in a third world country and for what you are paying this was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black_Thunder307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My wife and I booked a double room for two night for our wedding anniversary a week before we were intending to travel. We were fored to communicate via email with the owner Michel, who was in France, and he responded in French half the time.
Michel told us that a had a room available for the dates we wanted and asked us for a 30% deposit. We were very happy to do this and when we asked if we could pay by credit card he said we would have to go to his bank and pay cash directly into his account, which was very inconvenient as we were in a remote part of Colombia at that time. We explained this so he said we could transfer Euros directly into his bank account, which was also inconvient as we live in London so our accounts are in sterling. So again we explained this and told him we could pay the cash into his bank directly the following day. We did this and sent confirmation of the payment and the 7 hours later got an email telling us he now only had 1 room on those dates why don't we wait a few days! Again this is ridiculous as we had booked our flight for that weekend. In short knowing that we were paying cash into his account that day, he made no attempt to contact us and tell us that he had let our rooms go. When we expressed how that had ruined our plans he was short, rude and condescending. On top of that all the latter communication was done in French which is not very helpful when we were communicating to him in Spanish. What a greedy, inconsiderate man, I would not advise staying there. I visited a friend staying there before and the pool is grubby and doesn't get much sun and the rooms were not great. We were only planning on staying because there were so little other availabilty that weekend and it was cheap.
Don't give this man your money!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#52 of 153 in Cartagena
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 153 in Cartagena
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#39 of 153 in Cartagena
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#22 of 153 in Cartagena
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle del Pozo, 25-105 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Relax Hotel Cartagena
Casa Relax Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing