We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,wine selection super.Best service ever!”
Review of Azul

Azul
Ranked #24 of 739 Restaurants in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food,wine selection super.Best service ever!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Visit Cali for a business trip. Walk around San Antonio and walk in to Azul.. woo for my surprise it was busy. Great ambiance, Diego welcoming me with a big smile. He told me that It was full sow he ofer the bar! Love sitting at the bar . Martha the chef came out and help me with the menu everyone was having a good time you could feel it,She ask me to stayed and star with a aperitif, I order the Zacapa Mijito (most have) ... Diego serve me warm bread with eggplant tapenade . Then I told Martha that I eat everything I let her to surprise me. The people recommend clandestine ( it means that she will do a surprise)
She send me Tuna Maritini Tartare ( is not the menu yet she told me),after she send me a fresh Grouper. Love it. I order also a bottle of cava that a group next to me recommend it. The bartender serve very well. To full for dessert sow they ofer Tinto(Colombian Coffe). The music was perfect from all over the world.
I sow Martha going to almost very table to check if they were please with the food. She is the chef owner . I love Azul and I will be back.
This place is for people that loves eating and is not afraid of trying new things! Good luck to you Azul

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sookie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Quality”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very poor service and the food was of bad quality! Steak was like rubber and the prices ridiculous! The staff took no notice of my complaints and were very insulting when I refused to tip!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Let Martha cook for you ...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had the opportunity and delight of visiting Azul on a Business Trip ... Martha provided me with a great gastronomical experience cooking for me what she wanted, really delicious and unforgettable. Everything was so well prepared, presented and exquisite that for sure I will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming with great food”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

If you go early and during the week, you may have the restaurant all to yourselves with the full attention of the wait-staff. We had three courses and all were wonderful (their chef is excellent) – especially the chocolate cake, covered with chocolate syrup and vanilla ice cream. YUM! They have an excellent choice of wines as well. This is a small and charming restaurant, not seating too many. The tables are a bit close and I am not sure, when full, how comfortable the arrangements might be. We were there when the place was nearly empty and the atmosphere was lovely – quiet with a hint of music in the background. The restaurant is located in the San Antonio district of Cali, which is the oldest part of the city (I think). I find the area very much “neighborhoodish” with a real hip vibe. We walked to the restaurant and took a taxi home, but there seems to be adequate parking. This is not a cheap restaurant so be prepared to pay U.S. prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyKate007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Azul is amazing!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Azul is a fantastic restaurant, located in the San Antonio district in an old house. The drinks, entrees, and desserts were all excellent and expertly prepared. The menu includes many salads, seafood, and meat options. The food is not limited to traditional Colombian dishes but includes many Moroccan and other Eastern inspired dishes. There are also numerous vegetarian dishes (not just salads) which is rare in Cali. I went with a group of 8 people and everyone loved their meals. Since we were a large party, we were seated in a private dining room which was Both before we ordered and at the end of the meal, the chef/owner came to our table to see how we were doing. Also, the restaurant is very cool place with brightly colored walls and eclectic decorations. I highly recommend this place! Well worth the money!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing