We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Cali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stein Colonial
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Isla de Margarita
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Cali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

This hotel used to be my home away from home when I was living near Popayan (2 hours south in Cauca) and had business in Cali.
I stayed here with my family when passing through Cali on a road trip from Margarita island, where we live, to Quito, Ecuador.
The hotel is in an old colonial masion located stratigically in an upscale neighborhood of Cali.
Rooms are large and airy and comfortable.
The on site restaurant serves delicious local food and the service is excellent in all aspects.
The small pool is cold but a great place to hang out with the kids.
The owner, Enrique Frei is as helpfull and friendly person as you could want to meet (he is also the Swiss consul in Cali)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone hands down.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank info_posadamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
23
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South America/London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I've stayed here three times for short stays.

Once in 1996, then 1998.

Then last year I just arrived without a booking
straight from panama.

Within a few minutes I was drinking coffee and
feeling at home.

There is free WIFI all over the building, a
pc in the lobby for anyone to use, and
fresh percolated coffee all day.

The breakfast and other meals are top
notch, and staff friendly and very attentive.

There are large gound level rooms which
can be hired for functions/business.

Being hypercritcal I could say the small
swimming pool was quite cold, but this
isn't the owner's fault.

Definitely recommended for a first stay,
particularly if you are not familiar with
Cali. But most always come back.

As for Cali, there is too much for me to say
right now, but I'll be back there soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank closedcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Enrique Frei, the owner, cares about his hotel down to the smallest detail. When you stay here, you can expect 3 full meals a day included in the cost of your stay. Also, area excursions are included in the cost of your stay. Expect to go somewhere different every weekend and sometimes during the week. The food is excellently prepared by a professional staff specializing in the foods of the region, Valle de Cauca. Located in a trendy part of Cali close to interesting shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdwnnbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

I have traveld around the world and stayed at lots of hotels, and this was by far the best stay I have ever had AND it was for 3 weeks.

We opted for the 3 meals a day and I am glad we did. My husband is from Cali and he said the food was the best traditional Colombian food he has ever eaten. Me and the kids agreed.

Our room was great, we got one with A/C. The hotel is an old spanish home, it is huge, quiet and beautiful with lots of sitting room. There is a pool, that is COLD! Also a library for watching TV or visiting. WE also have a honesty policy on get your own beers etc and a place to store cold food if you need to. I cannot say enough good things. Kelly In New Orleans, LA USA

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubatrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

Hotel pension Stein (Swiss owner) is a very clean, old fashioned hotel in a castle like building, where you will feel yourself immediately at home. The rooms are all different and comfortable and there is even a small swimmingpool. The location is very good as from the hotel you can walk easily to the center of town and a 45 minutes pleasant walk along the river will lead you to the brilliant zoo of Cali. We find this place the best in Cali as the staff is very friendly and everything is shining clean, there are also bookshelfs from which you can choose a book and a computer with internet connection is available for guests (free). The reception will keep your valuables in a safe.You can find more information on their website.

  • Liked — the atmosphere and the unusual castle like building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank marjawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
1.8 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
NH Cali Royal
NH Cali Royal
#6 of 88 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 88 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.3 mi away
AcquaSanta Lofts Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein Colonial

Property: Hotel Stein Colonial
Address: Av 4N No 3-33, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cali
#7 Family Hotel in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stein Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stein Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Cali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing