We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stein Colonial
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The owner is a very charming man, he speaks many languages and he is always checking that everything is going well. I went to Cali for a course with a couple of co-workers, so the hotel reserved us a separated part in the hotel with the number of rooms we needed, we really did not asked for it but since they found out we were a group, they did it and it was a good surprise. Though I saw many families with small children, I never heard any type of noise. Everything was very cleaned and what I liked the best is that the rooms adjust to the guests. I say this because the first day it was very hot and there was an air conditioner equipment which I used so I could be able to sleep comfortably. The next day the temperature wasn't so high so I didn't use the air but the last days it was cold for me (Cali's weather is hot but I can feel cold even in the jungle) and there were extra blankets in the closet that I used to cover myself. Therefore, no matter the weather, I had a good night sleep everyday. Also, the breakfast was very good and I had dinner once there and it was definitely one of the best meals I had in Cali, I regretted not having eaten there the days before.
I think this hotel would be a great place to go with your family if you have children because the owner cares a lot for them. In the dinning room there are tall chairs for them and he encourages families to have their kids play in the entrance, which keeps them occupied and believed or not, calmed.
On the other hand, while we did find a pool and a mini gym, they weren't in their best conditions. Though I have to say we only checked them the first day, so the people from the hotel might have resolved these issues some days later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria del Carme... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
24
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is not a luxury place, it may not be a standard, modern hotel, but it is pleasant, clean, quiet, well-located and the price is very good. It is visited by foreigners, especially families adopting colombian children, and young, middle-class local families. The building is full of character, service is good and very friendly. There is a small, nice, deep pool. Breakfast is decent. The location is great and security is very good for Cali, a city that has been going through some rough times recently.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanCarlosValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I met friends in Cali and stayed here for 5 nights. We are one of the sets of friends who met James M. back in Sept. 2013 and I agree with his review of Pension Stein 100%!
Situated on a hill behind high walls and a guard gate, Pension Stein is a little slice of heaven in a relatively residential neighborhood. It's an old mansion that was turned into a hotel many many years ago. The owner takes great pride in his establishment and is there to answer questions, suggest places to eat, and if you want to practice Spanish, he is more than happy to engage in conversation with you. There are hidden terraces throughout the property where one can read, have a glass of wine or better yet, both! We had a lovely time here and if we find ourselves in Cali again, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure to stayed at Hotel Pension Stein and I'm planning to repeat my experience this time with my husband. The place is fresh, spotless and tranquil. The service is friendly and location is great.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AccentElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

A rambling mansion, converted into a hotel over 50 years ago, the Pension Stein was a comfortable place to stay in Cali. Staff were helpful, our room was very clean and cosy, breakfast was a fairly standard juice, coffee, eggs and bread, and there was a small pool to cool off in. Rooms vary in size and configuration and when we requested a different room with more light the hotel staff very quickly accommodated us.

A short walk away was a huge shopping complex and many restaurants. A cheap cab ride away was the historic downtown section or, heading south, the excellent Zoological Park which we recommend.

We enjoyed our stay at the Pension Stein and recommend this "oasis" in Cali to others.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to check to see if the room you are offered meets your specific needs. If it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElderTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am surprised to read any bad reviews on the Pension Stein. If you are looking for a standardized hotel like the InterContinental (a hotel that looks the same no matter where you are in the world) this is not it. If you are looking for an interesting place to stay that is beautiful, tranquil and warm this is it. I was first here two weeks ago for a week with two sets of friends joining with rooms and we all loved it, we even book additional days. Today I am back for another week. The hotel is very clean and the staff is great. The hotel is in a very safe and good area of the city, with big walls and 24 hr guarded gate. The owner is onsite and is a world class gentleman, helpful and understands service, which is not something that is found often in Colombia

Room Tip: I have my favorite room but I would never tell as I plan to stay here often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Feb 2013, for 3 days and loved every minute of it. The room was clean, the linens were fresh. The staff was great and they made sure we had a fantastic stay. We spend every afternoon at the cozy pool enjoying the sunshine. This hotel has been a part of our family since the 1980's and my father was proud that I had the same wonderful service that he had then. Gracias Enrique and staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
0.4 mi away
Aqua Granada Hotel
Aqua Granada Hotel
#8 of 89 in Cali
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 89 in Cali
779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#26 of 89 in Cali
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein Colonial

Property: Hotel Stein Colonial
Address: Av 4N No 3-33, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cali
#7 Family Hotel in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stein Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stein Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Cali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing