We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stein Colonial
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great service, clean rooms, home styled kitchen, excellent free WIFI coverage and small park for kids. Good choice for all those who have spend too many nights in Hiltons or Marriots. Suits especially for families.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stein Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We're so pleased we found the Hotel Pension Stein! We were out of luck with the accomodation we were hoping to get and had booked into a hostel nearby, which was awful. So we went out to search for something else and felt like we had fallen on our feet when we were shown around the Pension Stein by their lovely staff. It is in a fascinating building, has big rooms, comfortable beds, a great breakfast. There's a pool and a gym too if you want to relax. The price was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Beautiful historic building, stunning gardens, comfortable and familiar, great host, but in general all the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We moved around the city with the taxi driver that the hotel recommend to us ( Medardo's his name), nice, friendly and very honest. He was always a call away. Don Enrique Frei owner and Swiss Consul always makes sure you feel comfortable and pampered. I'm from Cali and this was my first visit to the city in 8 years and was the first visit to my 4 years old, he was so happy at the hotel we always had to trick him to go out. We've been in two Resort's in Florida in the last year and my son never got there the attention and sense of familiarity as he did in this hotel. Of course, he felt important and comfortable and did not want to leave.
Not a luxury hotel. But it is a comfortable site, very clean, quiet, safe and close to everything. In this hotel you can find guests from around the world, families, couples and solo travelers. We will definitely return to this hotel

Claudia, Alex, Mathhew.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clamesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

a cozy place with a family atmosphere, not far from happening places in Cali, capital of Salsa in Colombia

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marx-engels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel at least 20 times in the last 10 years. This hotel is the best value of ANY hotel in Colombia! The owner is also the Swiss Consulate. He is always very helpful and the staff is like his family. His booming voice and perfect english are always a welcome sound. If you pay with cash, a great discount can be extended to you. I have stayed in the Intercontinental and the Dann Carlton in Cali, but this hotel is a MUCH better value for your money. I absolutely guarantee you will enjoy your stay in this hotel. For what it lacks in luxury, it makes up for with its hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank draimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We moved to Pensions Stein after our first hotel in Cali had no hot water and a large cochroach that resided in the kitchen. Thre rooms are very clean with TV, large bathroom and nice beds. The owner is extremely helpful and we organized a city tour with his driver. Small pool at the back as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazy_Canuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I visited the Hotel Pension Stein because I was considering spending a night there. I was suprised at how close it is to the shopping center Centenario Plaza, definetly within walking distance. If you did not have the address to this hotel, you would drive right past it without knowing what was behind this old 8ft tall rock wall. They had a gate guard that let me in to see the reception. Once you are on the grounds of the hotel it is a very secluded location. Upon entering the hotel I smelled light, old musty smell, with maybe a little moth balls thrown in. Unfortunatly this faint smell seemed to be in the entire hotel and out buildings where I looked at 2 rooms. It definetly needed more fresh air for my taste. With all that being said, this place would still be good to spend at least one night there just to say you stayed in an old mansion. The rooms seemed very basic and a little on the small side, but that is what you would expect for a place that used to be someones house 50 years ago. There seemed to be foryays for each group of 4 rooms or so where you could sit or even go out on the balcony to look at the view. The hotel is located on maybe 1-2 acres and the outside grounds are very cool. The street is a little noisy for being a residential/ comercial are, so with the old windows in the rooms, don't expect them to block out much noise. The people that worked there were very nice and friendly. The price I was quoted was 95 mil pesos per night and seemed very reasonable for this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveljunkie1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
0.4 mi away
Aqua Granada Hotel
Aqua Granada Hotel
#13 of 90 in Cali
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Now Hotel
Now Hotel
#6 of 90 in Cali
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein Colonial

Address: Av 4N No 3-33, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cali
#7 Family Hotel in Cali
Price Range: $41 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stein Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stein Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Cali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing