We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of Calí”
Review of Hostal Ruta Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Ruta Sur
Ranked #7 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of Calí”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely better than any hostal. It's like a little oasis with a very nice patio and hammocks. There is as well a kitchen that we used to cook and even to make fruit shakes (there is a blender). The owner is a very friendly young women that has already travelled herself. The rooms are lovely and are nicely decorated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crisp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
26
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in Cali over a weekend in December and chose this hostel from the reviews on Trip Advisor.

This is an OUTSTANDING hostel. The beds are comfortable, rooms clean and airy and the place is so quiet that you forget you are in noisy Cali!

Claudia is wonderful and so helpful with everything you ask, not only about Cali. She was giving us lots of advice about other places to go too!

The location is perfect and makes it easy to get around. I would totally recommend this hostel if you are staying in Cali.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hostel is amazing - one of the best we've stayed in South America.

We turned up at the door without a booking on recommendation from another hostel owner who was full up. Claudia was an amazing host - we felt like we were guests in her home and the whole place had a chilled out vibe.

We had a fantastic breakfast in the morning which changed slightly each day but included eggs, fruits, bread, fresh juice and fresh coffee.

Its located in the heart of San Antonio - a really charismatic neighborhood and near some really great restaurants and the park.

The room was right at the back of the house near the rear courtyard and very quiet even given the guests were having breakfast outside - it just attracts quieter, nicer people.

We met up with some other friends there and even though they didn't stay at our hostel we're welcome to wait with us until our night bus - which was an exceptionally nice touch. Claudia called taxis for all of us and provided everyone with a place to keep their bags. Problems with the hostel (a noisy room fan) were fixed the next day.

I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoandPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were supposed to stay 4 nights and in the end, we remained another 4 nights at Ruta Sur. The owner, Claudia instantly makes you feel right at home and will go out of her way in answering any questions you may have regarding Cali. The rooms are cosy, clean and have everything you may need, including TV and long warm showers. Claudia's assistant makes a great healthy breakfast every morning.
The location is in the heart of San Antonio, meters away from good restaurants and cafes. San Antonio is a safe neighborhood allowing you to walk freely during the night.

All in all, Ruta Sur is a charming little hotel where you can relax and feel right at home. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Ruta Sur is in the perfect location. It's very safe and is a short walk to the Rio, Iglesia de Emrita and the restaurants nearby are muy rico! The rooms are adorably decorated and clean. And Claudia is the friendliest hostess. 2 thumbs up :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JaKenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were positively surprised about this location in the old center of Cali. Very clean and cosy with comfortable beds. The Kitchen area is perfectly equipped and the eating area most appealing. The owner is very friendly and helpful with organising a taxi or every other need you have. Very good value, most recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a superb place, really charming and comfortable in the charming area of San Antonio. Close to everything you would like, I spent hours just walking around the neighborhood and park which is seconds away.
The hostal is clean, affordable and so very comfortable. It has wonderful open air spaces where the beautiful sky pours in. However the best part of the place is the owner Claudia. She is an absolute delight and makes you feel like you are a guest in her home. She gave me great advice about Cali, she conversed with me so I could practice my spanish, and she makes sure that all the guests are having a comfortable stay.
I highly recommend Ruta Sur.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique San Antonio
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#25 of 89 in Cali
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 89 in Cali
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Hostel Cali
0.2 mi away
Hostal Encuentro
Hostal Encuentro
#1 of 128 in Cali
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ruta Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ruta Sur

Property: Hostal Ruta Sur
Address: Carrera 9 No.2--41 | Carrera 9 No.2--41, Cali 00, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Ruta Sur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Ruta Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing