We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cost Benefit Option”
Review of Hotel El Penon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Penon
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A small hotel on a perfect location with an impecable service. Rooms were large. Ask in recepction and they will tell you excellent recommendations at walking distance. Highly recommended for those visting Cali.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank josvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable. The room was huge and air conditioned with a large bathroom.

The public spaces were very comfortable.

Service excellent with very attentive staff who kindly corrected my pidgin Spanish and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My travelling companions and I spent 8 nights at the Hotel El Penon in Cali. Situated in the increasingly trendy El Penon area of the city, the welcome we received from the minute we arrived, late on a Friday night to the minute we left, early on the following Saturday morning was truly astounding.

The cost of a room is approximately £50 a night and includes breakfast. That is approximately a third of the prices of the Intercontinental round the corner. The previous review is right, the hotel is not fancy but each room has a telephone, very effective air-conditioning and a full size fridge where it is possible to store your own water etc. The minibar prices are also very reasonable and toiletries are also available for purchase. The hotel also has free wifi, a service bigger hotels could easily provide. Having travelled in South America some years ago, I must admit I was sceptical about the provision of hot water but certainly for a shower in the morning, the water was very hot.

The only downside is the lack of an English language news channel on the TV but as this is a hotel which is aimed at a local market and not an English speaking one then, I can understand why its not there.

The hotel is exceptionally clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. The staff knew who you were and answered you by name. There are only 20 or so rooms in the hotel and some are much bigger than others with separate living rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room try 1002, 802, 602. 402 but the lift doesn't go to the floors. Corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 5 days at the El Pinon Hotel in Cali and we loved it. It was clean, quiet, safe and all of the people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable with breakfast included. Lunch is also available for a very reasonable price. This Hotel is not fancy, probably a 3 star rating. We will definitely be staying there the next time we go to Colombia. I highly recommend this Hotel for regular, down to earth people. It is also located right in the downtown core so everything is accessible. Thank you to all the staff who work there. Your friends from Canada.

Room Tip: We had room #802, which was a nice quiet room. See photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pilar_ortiz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leonardogm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pidan habitaciones remodeladas
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ISVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
1 mi away
Torre De Cali Hotel
Torre De Cali Hotel
#29 of 92 in Cali
194 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#31 of 92 in Cali
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Jaime Hotel
Don Jaime Hotel
#42 of 92 in Cali
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Obelisco Cali
Hotel Obelisco Cali
#19 of 92 in Cali
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Penon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Penon

Address: Calle 1a Oeste 2 - 61 | Barrio El Penon, Cali 760044, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Price Range: $37 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Penon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel, recently renovated in the best trendy Area of the City. El Peñon Hotel is conveniently located in El Peñon neighbourhood, only 100 metres away from the financial area and the centre of the city. The zone offers a wide range of restaurants, bars, offices and business centres. The hotel's front desk is open 24 hours a day. Breakfast and wi-fi connection are offered at no additional cost. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped with minibar, workstation, satellite TV, air conditioning and a private bathroom with shower. El Peñon Hotel offers an exclusive breakfast area, a business centre available 24 hours a day, and two restaurants open to the public (Chef Burger - Turk House). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel El Penon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing