We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a good option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its a good option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a traditional hotel; some rooms has been remodelated. The food is good, especially in Fogon de Piedra restaurant. The people are very kind and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I think is a good option for travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexCrvjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, General Manager's Assistant at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's always a pleasure to find such a good comments about our hotel and the different services we offer but specially for the special attention of our staff, which makes the difference. We will share your note with them because it encourages their desire to always give the best.

It's important to mention that at the present time we are in the process of completing the room refurbishing and re-designing the whole swimming pool area for your comfort and we hope you will enjoy them in your next stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Cordially,

Norma A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    183
    71
    19
    9
See reviews for
76
71
30
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was very nice, the room was cozy and the bandeja paisa is a MUST EAT evry day. I will recommend to you, Before you reserve make sure to register for the Priority Club is free and you can add points, is very near of the El Gato sculpture and the are plenty of restaurants near.

One of the best option for eat is the PIZZERIA You can order the ZAMBA.,.. I am telling You is the best in the whole world.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that has the view to the pool they views are good enough for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexterlab27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, General Manager's Assistant at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments!! We are more than pleased to hear that you were so happy with your stay and specially for the food. We will share your lovely review with our staff because they encourage their desire to continue giving the best service.

We Hope you will continue giving us us the opportunity to welcome you back as our special guest on your next visit to Cali .

Cordially, Norma A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

First, I have stayed at this hotel before, and there morning buffet was excellent in the past!! They have improved there security and spa at this hotel. There employees are excellent, clean hotel, and up-to-date hotel. Here are the problems:
1) There morning buffet has changed to a poor rating of hot food choices. This was a bad decision by new management.
2) They do not give upgrades rooms to Ambassador Plat. members which is a decision by the current management as the employees tried to help me but the management said no upgrade. I am finding out that this is a continuous problem in the IHG corporation and nothing is being done about this by IHG Corporate HDQTRS.
3) This hotel has a promotion gift that they give you from the El Dorado Casino connected to the hotel, however, if you win more money, the casino refuses to give the money to the person. I was not the only hotel guest that this has happened to. This is mis-leading and fraud!!
4) IHG refuses to post my issues of problems of this hotel on the IHG Review Website along with other hotels even though I give excellent ratings to other parts of the hotel. I want to be non-bias and fair in all of my reviews and give the correct information to future travelers!!!

I hope one day that IHG Corporate HDQTRS start to clean-up the problems with IHG Reward Benefits and other issues at there hotels!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, General Manager's Assistant at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your comments. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests, like you, because they enable us to target problems areas and encourage us to improve our internal processes.


Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbances you experienced during your stay. We are really sorry and that is why we have forwarded your comments to the appropriate parties, so they will take the necessary steps to achieve our goal of consistent high quality for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for your comprehension. Your business is valued and we hope you give us the opportunity to offer you our best attention and quality of service you deserve on your next visit to the city of Cali.


Cordially, Norma A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
185 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have family in Cali, but need to go back often due to business. The Inter is the place where I normally stay, mainly because it is the only property in Cali that gives you points with an International chain.
I am normally given nice rooms, with wood floors overlooking the pool and on a high floor.
I arrived on May 2, after a very delayed AA flight... only to find my colleague (without a Priority Club Membership... I am Gold) upgraded to a corner suite, while Iw as put in Room 333, a musty smelling, forgotten room with a view of the A/C units... Awful!
The front desk didn't make the slightest effort to help me find a better room... So i simply packed my things and went to stay with my family.
This place will definitely be going out of business once the new Marriott opens in town... and it will be deserved.
I understand they might have been totally booked (although that did not seem the case) as my colleague received an upgrade. But the arrogant attitude at the front desk was uncalled for and unnecessary.
Can't wait for the Marriott... For now, I will stick to the Dann Carlton across the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranger22miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, General Manager's Assistant at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your comments. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests, like you, because they enable us to target problems areas and encourage us to improve our internal processes.


Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbances you experienced during your stay. We are really sorry and that is why we have forwarded your comments to the appropriate parties, so they will take the necessary steps to achieve our goal of consistent high quality for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for your comprehension. Your business is valued and we hope you give us the opportunity to offer you our best attention and quality of service you deserve on your next visit to the city of Cali.


Cordially,

Norma A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a standard 4 star hotel, the rooms are spacious and clean, altough a little old, the breakfast is ok and the staff is attentive.

The location is average, nothing to talk about.

I recommend it if you are looking for an unpretentiuous business hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, Asistente de Gerencia at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos inmensamente el tiempo dispensado en escribir sus comentarios acerca de su reciente estadía en nuestro hotel ya que ellos sirven de motivación a nuestro personal y nos brindan la oportunidad de emprender acciones en pro del mejoramiento integral de nuestros procesos y servicios.

Confiamos en que nos brinde de nuevo la oportunidad de tenerlo como nuestro huésped especial en un futuro, para que pueda disfrutar de la calidez de nuestro personal, las habitaciones remodeladas, el moderno spa y el portafolio de servicios, en donde estamos seguros, se sentirá siempre como en casa.

Sea desde ya bienvenido siempre.

Cordial saludo,

Norma A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Cali Intercontinental is a good but not great hotel. It is modern and spacious. Service is good, rooms were ok, breakfast was very good. Nothing to complain about but nothing to get too excited about either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, General Manager's Assistant at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you had a great and happy time in our hotel. Undoubtedly your comments encourage us to continue exceeding the expectations you have on the quality of services we offer.

I will forward your lovely review to the rest of our team and we hope you be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Norma A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a very busy executive and travel a large amount of time. I have been at many Intercontinental hotels before, the most recent one before Cali was in Madrid last September (where by the way I was not awarded my points). The hotel in Cali is in very bad shape. For starters I was given a room where there was construction and banging all day on the floor above me. I called the front desk the next afternoon when I returned to work in my room and they send me to another room. The other room had the floor raised in many areas and it was in really bad shape. The shower was awful, it was barely a little stream. The pillows were old. I stayed 3 nights and will never stay again. I was leaving very early in the morning so the day before I requested to have a car ready to take me to the airport, I also asked if I could pay that night so as to not have to stop and make a checkout line the next morning. The gentleman at the desk said it was the best thing to do and he included the voucher for the car in my bill. I told him that I had room service and to make sure it was already included, he checked and said it was. The next morning I went downstairs and asked for the transport which was right there. The driver took me to the vehicle and said he had to get the voucher and he would be right back. Time was passing and I was getting concerned because I had to go to the airport. The driver returned and told me that there was some confusion with my bill, that they were not giving him the voucher. At that point I got off the car and went to the desk where I was informed that they would not release the voucher because I was leaving without paying the room service from the night before. This happened as there were many other customers right there, but you can rest assured the customers actually heard from me how bad the hotel was. Without even checking again I gave the woman my card again and she charged what was supposedly charged the night before. Needless to say a very bad experience and one that I will share in Trip Advisor and twitter, among other places. Never again would I go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma A, Assistant to the General Manager at InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Marco Z.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with our different services you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all these disturbances you experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We are confident that you give us the opportunity to offer you, our best service on your next visit to the city of Cali.

Cordially,

Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
0.5 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 87 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
NH Cali Royal
NH Cali Royal
#6 of 87 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#26 of 87 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar

Property: InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
Address: Av. Colombia # 2-72, Cali, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the synonym of excellence in hospitality. Located five minutes away from downtown and nearby the best restaurants and bars, Intercontinental de Cali, an Estelar Hotel, was built with the highest hospitality industry standards. Complete infrastructure with ample spaces and different ambiances are available for your pleasure and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing