We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience!”

Teatro Magico del Sabor
Ranked #8 of 703 Restaurants in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I went there for a family gathering and we had one of the best meals I've had in Columbia. The chef, Michael, entertained us the whole evening with food, drink and singing.

Amazing food. It seems like it changes each night, so just be ready to experiment in keeping open mind (rspecially when he decides to sing about you!)

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a fun meal or a night out in Cali.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KipperBlakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    78
    22
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Teatro de sabor-the theatre of taste.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best steak that I had in Cali, a perfect medium rare. The steak came with a good mix of vegetables and potatoes grilled in a sort of metal basket. You get to see the food cooked in front of you and the chef made jokes and recited poetry to the audience as he did it. My Spanish was not good enough to follow most of it but he speaks English perfectly and translated about half of what he said. The chef takes local ingredients and uses them to make new dishes, so several items on the menu are unique to this restaurant.

Afterwards I had an amazing rice pudding with a kind of caramel powder, called polvo del duende (elf dust)

A good place to visit if you want to chat, hear about Cali and mingle with locals. Excellent food and limited but decent wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barichara, Colombia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a unique experience about show cuisine...”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

if you haven't been to one of these shows - usually the menu is good and it is entertaining, if you go with a bunch of friends. it is located in a nice quaint area of the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marx-engels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Unique dining experience!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My mother-in-law recently celebrated her 50th birthday, and we took a large group of family and friends to celebrate at the Teatro Magico.
This is a one of a kind dining experience. You get to watch and be entertained by the host/chef, Michael, as he prepares a multi-course meal and keeps you appraised of every step of the foods preparation. This is gourmet dining with performance art!
An exquisite salad with an enourmous meal, each guest gets to choose their entre.
At the end of the evening, Micheal regales us with guitar and song. Very entertaining.
5 stars! TAKE YOUR FRIENDS!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 970PatrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing short of magical!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's hard to describe adequately this unique, hidden gem in the historical San Antonio neighborhood in Cali, Colombia. One needs to go and experience it. It's worth making an effort and setting aside the time to fit in a visit to Teatro Magico del Sabor, even if you are on a brief trip to this city on the footsteps of the Andes in the beautiful Cauca Valley.
Led by the culinary show director, chef and owner, Michael Lynch, dining at his place is a non-stop procession of great food, good humor and lively entertainment. The experience revolves around Michael's open kitchen as he faces the audience and leads the show, preparing the his dishes such as appetizers, entrees, and desserts, most of which are based on his recommended or "tasting" menu, which I suggest first time visitors consider. Do you want something different to eat? No problem, as Michael is well prepared with a wide array of choices based on local flavors and ingredients to which he adds his creativity and genius as a cook. Would you prefer fish? He will prepare a made-to-order dish with a wonderful salmon or the local catch of the day. Are you a vegetarian? He will whip up a delightful meal based on locallly sourced, organic ingredients. Have a particular preference? He will accomodate it if at possible. Are you a meat lover like myself? You are in for a treat and great, fullfilling meal. The food alone makes dining here special. However, what makes the Teatro Magico truly unique is the "show" which revolves around the process of preparing a creative and flavorful meal, while having a great time, full of jokes, lively back-and-forth banter, music played by MIchael and his newly adopted trovadour buddy as they improvise musical verses, while playing their "tiples" (a simple string instrument similar to an acoustic guitar), that often will be humorous, mixed with good natured ribbing of the guests present that evening, decent improvised poetry and even romantic verses if the occasion lends itself. This is an interactive dining and entertainment experience, so be prepared to be engaged as Michael leads the show. Last night I dined at his place, and the food and the whole experience were delicious, fulfilling, often hilarious, and heart warming. In short: magical.
Let me advise readers of this review that I have been to Teatro Magico del Sabor a handful of times over the years on visits back to my hometown of Cali, and I have dined there with close family, extended family, groups of friends and as part of a high school class reunion. Last night, however, I went as a couple for the first time with a lovely woman friend who had never been to Michael's place, and we had a wonderful time, laughed and joked, enjoyed delicious food as we savored the products of his culinary brilliance and creativity, and never spent a dull moment.
Teatro Magico del Sabor is not the place for a quick meal or for a private evening. A visit requires an openness to be engaged and entertained, and to try delicious food made from ingredients that are sourced locally, are fresh and are all prepared by Michael and his staff at the restaurant. This is a place for a special evening and while the bill will not be cheap as compared to some local dining alternatives, it will be very reasonable by international standards, and certainly worthwhile given the quality of the food and the enjoyment of the experience. You get your money's worth and more. So if you want to try something new, enjoy great food and good entertainment, then pay a visit to Michael's place. You will judge for your self of course, but I believe most visitors will not be disappointed. And many will find this to be a magical experience, as I did last night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LatAmTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Magico del Sabor also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to Teatro Magico del Sabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing