We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff but just ok room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calidad House

Calidad House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calidad House
Ranked #48 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff but just ok room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were here for one night when we first arrived in Cali. The staff welcomed us with smiles and showed us around the place. Overall it's a nice home with plenty of space and a decent kitchen. They also have a rooftop deck with a nice view of the city.

What made this place average for us though was the room. There wasn't a toilet seat on the toilet in the private bathroom and no hot water in the shower. There also wasn't any circulation in the room at all, making it noticeably warmer in the room than the rest of the house. For the price we were paying we didn't feel it was a very good deal overall, so we decided to move hostels after the first night.

Judging by the other reviews it seems like we may have just not had the best room, but given our experience compared to other hostels at similar price-points it was just ok.

Room Tip: Private room just off the kitchen has no hot water, air circulation, or toilet seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank featherless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here a while back and got to know the friendly staff. fantastic place to meet other travelers if you are travelling solo. Cool city to check out and easy to find location. Highly Recommended from someone who has travelled the world for 8 years

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonocane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice place, very pleasant staff, decent facilities, clean and secure, brilliant and safe location, I can´t really fault this place at all. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Cali then this should be absolutely fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here earlier this trip, but never got around to reviewing it. It was clean, all the facilities you could possibly want, in a great location, with really friendly staff. Since my itinerary brought me back to Cali, it was the logical place to stay. Temporarily, there are different people running it, but other than that, nothing has changed. The current staff are supremely charming and helpful. The bathrooms, rooms and communal areas are spotless, as is the very well equipped kitchen. The hostel is on a particularly quiet cul-de-sac in a very safe area, but just a few blocks from the restaurants and clubs, and a short walk (or very cheap taxi ride) to the centre. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We read the review in lonely planet about poor service but we were treated with nothing but smiles, hugs and some of the best service recieved on our trip. It felt more like staying in a family's home rather then just another hostel. We were there for Christmas and were treated to meals, desserts and even a shoulder massage for the French girl that freaked out after smoking to much weed! Stay here the rooms are big and clean, there is hot water a big tv room and once again amazing service. In fact my mate and I began to call Carolina our columbian nan!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was surprised I was the only guest when I arrived. The price is low, the location was ok, so why were all the other hostels packed and this wasn't?
And soon I realize why: who would stay in such a filthy, dirty place? The staff: two members were were chatting on the net and another was watching TV. And the toilet was broken, ants everywhere, mosquito's were letting because they didn't close the windows. Everything looked done without love, without any dedication, without any effort to make visitors feel at home.
Even the sheets were filthy.
Don't go there, this is a place where the management and staff should learn first how to run a hostel and take care of their business.

Room Tip: don't choose, don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariano_Slutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and the staff were really lovely. It is a family run place and really gives a homely feel and are willing to help you with advice, taxis, directions and are just generally interested in their guests! There was only 3 other travellers staying in the hostel so i had a whole dorm to myself which was great! The wifi was very fast and is in a good area for restaurants and bars although its not in the usual area that tourists stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#26 of 87 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Pinta Boogaloo
La Pinta Boogaloo
#8 of 118 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel MS Estacion Superior
0.4 mi away
Marriott Cali Hotel
Marriott Cali Hotel
#1 of 87 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calidad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calidad House

Property: Calidad House
Address: Calle 17 Norte # 9AN-39 | Barrio Granada, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing