We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lo mejor de Colombia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colombian Home Hostel Cali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colombian Home Hostel Cali
Ranked #3 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lo mejor de Colombia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is great, I have been recommending it to everyone who is going to Cali for a while but I am finally getting around to writing a review. The house is very nice and is kept very clean. The service is excellent. Mauricio, the owner, is an awesome dude, super chill, and he does everything he can to keep his guests happy. He knows his city well and will give you plenty of tips on where to go and how to stay safe. I've been traveling for a few months and stayed at a ton of hostels but this one by far has the best included breakfast. Fresh fruit, and fruit juice, coffee, tee, bread, eggs, and other good stuff. The beds are comfy and the other guests that pass through are great too, obviously the owner has limited control over this but I think his business is geared towards a certain type of person. This is definitely NOT a party hostel, but plenty of fun can be had and if you like, sometimes, Mauricio even takes his guests out to show you what Cali is all about. Highly recommended hostel, perfect for relaxing and If you get bored, there is plenty of stuff to do in CAli!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    19
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
24
127
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Being with this staff has been a 100% positive experience. Under his appearance it is a wonderful Hostel, kind and honest people who bring you special attention every minute.
Pleased to meet you for what you can bring, especially SALSA LESSONS and crazy nights!
I hope to see you again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank varoguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, quiet hostel where you can still have some fun in the evenings. A good option to stay in Cali. I would reccomend it to anyone looking for a good place to stay with nice people. Have fun in Cali!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ziggy216367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

After 2 weeks of traveling around Colombia, and staying in hostels to save money, we landed here with Mauricio and his cousin. My better 1/2 had also succumbed to the frigid temps on board the buses and was not in the best shape. What a pleasure to recover here. Mauricio was a wealth of information and took the time to walk us through all the things to do in the area.

This place is not a typical South American hostel. First of all, it's in one of the best neighborhoods in Cali. Great dining a few, very safe walking blocks away. We were really tired of the (sometimes) forced hilarity at the other places we had stayed at. Here, it was calm, quiet, a proper home rather than a jumbled mix of hardly standing rooms. At this point in our trip, we just wanted something nicer than we'd been in and it really delivered. Breakfast was simple, but good, beds were solid, sheets were nice. We had a standing floor fan which helped keep the warm air moving in our room. Everything was spotless.

There were several dorm rooms but also several private rooms both with and without private baths. We opted for private everything just because it was so nice.

There is a reason this place is #1 in Cali!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed there with my gf 6 nights and you really feel at home. Mauricio is really helpful and knows a lot about the city and the area. Nice and clean kitchen and bathroom. Great place to stay a few days in the capital of salsa. Don't miss the party at Tintindeo (salsa bar, few blocks from the hostel)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1world4eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent hostel. Very clean, nice area, welcoming, great atmosphere, good local knowledge & advice, decent breakfast included, big kitchen for cooking in, small pool & nice terrace. Muy buena gente! Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was everything you need in a hostel and more! In a great location, clean, good breakfast and friendly staff! Comfy as beds too! Showers were not always hot but you don't really need it. Mauricio took us out to a club which was really fun and could tell he was looking out for us. Good place to stay!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BRose33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#26 of 87 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Don Jaime Hotel
Don Jaime Hotel
#36 of 87 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
1.7 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 87 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Miraflores
Casa Miraflores
#1 of 90 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombian Home Hostel Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombian Home Hostel Cali

Property: Colombian Home Hostel Cali
Address: Calle 3bis N 035A-70, Cali 760043, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colombian Home Hostel Cali 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Colombian Home Hostel Cali All rooms INCLUDE BREAKFAST from 8-10 am (variety throughout the week), as well as FREE SALSA CLASSES (basic steps). We also have a highly recommended salsa teacher who we work with if you would like to arrange longer and more advanced courses. We have a living room with a 32" LCD Home Theater with many films to choose from. We also have tourist information about the city and other cities in Colombia, a book exchange, and WIFI. One of the hostel's highlights is our terrace with jacuzzi, hammock, BBQ, board games, stereo, and space to exercise (with strength training led by Mauricio). We have a fully equipped kitchen with everything you need if you would like to cook your own meals. Check in: 14:00 Check Out: 11:00 Please note : Cancellation Policy : 1 day. Accommodation Information COLOMBIAN HOME HOSTEL CALI -We have different types of rooms (dormitories and private rooms) Room #1 Llanos Orientales - 4 Bed Dorm - Mixed (Shared bathroom) No door - Curtain Room #2 Antioquia - Single (Private bathroom) Room #3 Costa Pacifica - 4 Bed Dorm - Mixed (Shared bathroom) Room #4 Eje Cafetero - Deluxe Double Garden View (TV - Shared bathroom) Room #5 Valle Del Cauca - Executive Double (TV - Private bathroom) Room #6 Costa Caribe - 6 Bed Dorm - Mixed (Shared bathroom) Location Information COLOMBIAN HOME HOSTEL CALI is located in the south west part of the city in the historic San Fernando neighborhood, a neighborhood filled with many attractions. It is located only 3 blocks from the Parque de Perros, a great area filled with restaurants of all price ranges. Also very nearby are bars, clubs, bakeries, grocery stores, and ATMs. TINTIN DEO, the famous club, where they dance the best Salsa in Cali, is just a short walk away. Also within five blocks is the Parque de las banderas, Alberto Galindo pools, the major stadium where our futbol teams play, Estadio Pascual Guerrero, and murals created by both Colombian and Europeans. We are situated very close to the MIO station, which is our rapid transport system that can connect you to many other parts of the city. 15 Minutes on the Mio will take you to the historic downtown center of Cali, where you can walk to the main sights in including the plazas, parks, cathedrals, museums, monuments, and theaters. Another fun neighborhood that is a short ride away is San Antonio. Here you can find many people hanging out and enjoying themselves at San Antonio park. San Antonio Cathedral, Sebastian de Belalcazar vista point, Parque de los gatos, and the Tertulia museum are all located in that neighborhood. Close by you can find the Rio Cali where you can enjoy a walk along the river, eating at restaurants along the way. Other attractions in Cali include the best Zoo in all of South America, the botanical gardens, and the mountains nearby like the Cerro Cristo Rey, where you can hike for two hours to the Three Crosses for a vista point where you can see the entire city. On a sunny day you can go to the Rio Pance where you can also hike around and enjoy the river. This city is filled with attractions and you can spend many days here enjoying the city and its surroundings. We are always here to help you with whatever you need and to provide you with information to help you fall in love with our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Colombian Home Hostel Cali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing