We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museo de la Caña, full of history”

Museo de la Cana de Azucar
Ranked #7 of 110 things to do in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Museo de la Caña, full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very informative; brings you back in time. This place gives you an excellent idea of the region's economic strength in agriculture and the whole process in the sugar cane industry. Must visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotelFaroles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    98
    20
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
193 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A look on the history of the progress of this region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Here you will see the corner stone of the XIX and XX century progress of the Valle del Cauca region.
The museum is some hours driving from Cali but it is really worth the trip.
I am not sure if there are english speaking guides on the place so I recommend you to call first if you need this service. I guess the local tourist agencies can help you with info.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Learning about the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

How the native indians made many articles and gold artifacts. We rode around in a Taxi but that is when we found we could have used the MIO Transit Bus system to save money. We noticed the North area is the more beautiful as far as Homes and Hillside properties. The middle of the city is mostly Condominiums and apartments close to shopping centers like Unicentro for one and the LA 14 shopping centers. They are great centers and very modern.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Addison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sugar Cane Mill Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stunning setting and a very creative way to present the different ways to obtain sugar! Not to be missed and also a very relaxing garden. There is no restaurant, just a place to buy snacks and refreshments. Buy the book, it is very well put together.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarenCali_Colombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place. It was an old ranch with lots of its history still intact. Hacienda La Maria it's also a nice place to visit and it's very close to El Museo de la Caña.
You can also go paragliding at Maloca de Los Vientos

Helpful?
Thank Jani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de la Cana de Azucar also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to Museo de la Cana de Azucar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing