We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“,Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel two nights on a business trip. When I got up the first morning, everything that was in the bathroom was covered with ants. I asked the front desk to change my room, but they did not accommodate my request. Instead, they apologized they could not fumigate the room while I was there (?!).

I had dinner in their restaurant one of the nights and the food was good, but I could not get over having to share my bathroom with the ants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank EDPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mriosspiwak, E-commerce at Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know of your dissatisfaction. We are deeply committed to constantly offering exceptional service and responding to our customers' needs, suggestions, and/or complaints. The hotel's management has reviewed your situation and has applied the administrative action pertaining to the answer that was given to you for this particular case. On the other hand, we would like to let you know that we periodically carry out fumigations for insect control in order to prevent any discomfort. We would like to offer you our most sincere apologies and we hope to have you again in order to have a pleasant conversation with the management.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 871 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

My group of 3 had made our reservations well in advance, which were confirmed by email. Upon arriving at 11:30pm from our flight, the hotel staff indicated they were very sorry, but the did not have rooms for three of us. To say this was major inconvenience is an understatement. Never EVER again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank cladc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mriosspiwak, RM and E- commerce at Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We understand and truly regret any inconveniences you might have had at the Spiwak Chipichape Hotel. Please know that we appreciate your comments as they help us improve. As a result of your various formal complaints, we investigated the incident concerning your reservation and have confirmed that your arrival at our hotel was at 11:30 pm. Please keep in mind that according to our hotel policies, check-in time is between 15:00 and 23:00 hours. This information is displayed under the Policies section of the website where you booked your reservation.
Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee a room to any guest arriving after that stipulated time, especially during a high-occupancy night such as the one in question. As an alternative to the difficult situation, and considering we only had two rooms available and not three, we offered upon your arrival that you and the other guests who arrived with you share a room for just one night. It was a temporary solution; other rooms became available the following day. Nonetheless, we understand the decision you took to stay at another hotel with the rest of your party-one where you could each have your own room. At this other hotel we were able to arrange a lower rate than the rate you booked with us and arranged and covered your transfer expenses to this hotel as a courtesy for your inconvenience.
Please take into consideration our General Manager's apology and courtesies for a future visit. If under any circumstance you are unable to arrive during our check-in time, we highly recommend that you contact us as soon as possible and we most certainly will do everything in our power to maintain your room available until your arrival.

Sincerely

Hotel Spiwak Chipichape

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Spiwak Hotel has everything you look for in a hotel, be it for business travel or for vacations. I stayed with my boy friend for a weekend and being so close to one of Cali´s top spots for food and shops was great, its also very close to most of the sightseeing and getting a cab is super easy! The rooms are huge even their smallest has two separate areas and a sort of kitchennette, they have free super fast wifi which was also great for keeping up with the office. All in all a highly recommended stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arrived rather late and the whole check in process was a bit slow (although part of that was due to asking for a change in rooms). The dining room was closed, but the person who waited on us offered to have the kitchen make us something from the snack menu. That process was also quite slow. Found out later that or "waitperson" was actually part owner of the property and he not only made it up to us, but was a delight and very personable every time we ran into him the rest of our stay. So after that shaky start, I must say that this is one chic hotel. Although all rooms open up to the outside, it's no motel. The rooms are HUGE with sofas, desks, small kitchens, and luxurious baths. (Note that the kitchen snacks are no longer free!) Very different than most hotels in the states, but fabulous. There isn't a workout facility on the property, but I was able to get a voucher from the front desk to use the gym that is in the connecting mall. It was a tad bit crowded, but it's a large gym with lots of equipment and it was no trouble at all to use. Plus the mall is quite nice! For a unique experience in a great location, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbfgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It would be hard to find a better-looking hotel in Cali, Colombia or most cities of the world. Everything here is aesthetically pleasing and well thought out.

The decor is one unified piece of artwork from top to bottom. The rooms have a lot of space. The windows will open to let in the pleasant Cali breeze so one can sleep soundly without resorting to air conditioning. The furniture is both comfortable and stylish. They even offer free 10 minutes/day of calls to any fixed phone in the world.

There is a gym in the mall which hotel guests can use, so going to the gym is not a solitary experience but rather a social immersion.

The food is reasonable and very good.

I would definitely ONLY stay at this hotel when in Cali.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BastiAina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Spiwak in Cali for 5 nights to attend our son's wedding in August 2012.

The room deal we had was a Super Master Suite booked with an Amex card - it was very good value and the room was enormous!!

While we had some initial problems with our room, which was on Level 2 and looked straight out onto a deck, we were changed to a higher level rooms - which solved all the problems.

It took some time to arrange this, but one has to accept that things are done differently and more slowly in Colombia. We were not overly concerned as we had many things to fit in to our time in Cali.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 2 to avoid overlooking eating and smoking decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a quick stay on a biz trip and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and mostly the size of the room, that had a living room and 2 bathrooms. Everything impeccable and modern.

Loved that the frigobar items were free (not alcoholic though), wifi free and breakfast included. Way to go!

Being next to a shopping mall and grocery store may be a plus. Very quiet location tucked against a hill made for a great sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishInTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
1.4 mi away
Aqua Granada Hotel
Aqua Granada Hotel
#15 of 91 in Cali
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 91 in Cali
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
7.3 mi away
NH Cali Royal
NH Cali Royal
#7 of 91 in Cali
452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali

Address: Avenida 6d 18 | Chipichape Mall, Cali 760046, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Cali
Price Range: $80 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali - A Preferred Hotel has opened its doors in order to redefine the concept of luxury in hotels in Cali and in all of Colombia. This is the only hotel in Cali where business and pleasure come together to provide an experience beyond your highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing