We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and chic Cali Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It would be hard to find a better-looking hotel in Cali, Colombia or most cities of the world. Everything here is aesthetically pleasing and well thought out.

The decor is one unified piece of artwork from top to bottom. The rooms have a lot of space. The windows will open to let in the pleasant Cali breeze so one can sleep soundly without resorting to air conditioning. The furniture is both comfortable and stylish. They even offer free 10 minutes/day of calls to any fixed phone in the world.

There is a gym in the mall which hotel guests can use, so going to the gym is not a solitary experience but rather a social immersion.

The food is reasonable and very good.

I would definitely ONLY stay at this hotel when in Cali.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BastiAina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 900 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Spiwak in Cali for 5 nights to attend our son's wedding in August 2012.

The room deal we had was a Super Master Suite booked with an Amex card - it was very good value and the room was enormous!!

While we had some initial problems with our room, which was on Level 2 and looked straight out onto a deck, we were changed to a higher level rooms - which solved all the problems.

It took some time to arrange this, but one has to accept that things are done differently and more slowly in Colombia. We were not overly concerned as we had many things to fit in to our time in Cali.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 2 to avoid overlooking eating and smoking decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a quick stay on a biz trip and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and mostly the size of the room, that had a living room and 2 bathrooms. Everything impeccable and modern.

Loved that the frigobar items were free (not alcoholic though), wifi free and breakfast included. Way to go!

Being next to a shopping mall and grocery store may be a plus. Very quiet location tucked against a hill made for a great sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishInTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I reserved online for a "PrePaid" package and at checkout the Front Desk/Reception tried to hit me with additional charges like "Security Fees" for my 2 year old son (what a joke). At check-in, the front-desk is not very friendly, uninformed and very confused (as if it was their first day...generally speaking, all where like this which tells me there is no training for Customer Service at this hotel). I've traveled the world and am Diamond with Hilton, Platinum with Marriott, I thought this was a very nice deal and nice hotel for the area (on the surface) but the details left me with a bad taste in my mouth. For starters, we checked in for 2 rooms (1 for wife and 2 kids and 2nd for Inlaws). They gave us a room on the highest floor (with a Balcony)...which I thought was nice until I realized the balcony doors don't have a lock and can be easily opened by my 2 and 5 year old children (this, I thought was insane not only for the safety of Children but anyone can walk in through your balcony door. Until this is corrected, I rate them as terrible as this is a big flaw and poor thinking by Management in not having a lock that cannot be opened by children). Then there was the breakfast incident, after I was told that breakfast was included, on the 5th day (of my 12 day stay), the restaurant greeter told me that there was a mistake and breakfast was not included. Of course, I went balistic on her and told her that she needed to take this up with the front desk (which of course was another mistake as they were clueless). The pool had dangerous pipes sticking out within the pool and anyone can easily slip as they used regular tiles which anyone can slip and break their neck.
The rooms look very nice but when I wore socks to walk around, the socks were black from the dirty floors (they don't do a good job of cleaning...just looks clean).
On the positive side, the hotel is nicely situated and appears very secure (except for the lockless balcony doors). It is very modern and has free WiFi everywhere. The breakfast fresh fruit and local cuisine is very nice.
All the positives, however, are shadowed by the lack of training and customer service from the front desk. I would fire every manager from the front desk as they obviously do not understand the importance of training or customer service to the Jr. Level staff. Another point to make is that if make a reservation online, they don't seem to understand that a reservation and the rates have to be honored at check-in and check-out...not just when reserving.
I did make complaints about these issues and not once was I called by a Hotel Manager apologizing or acknowledging the problem and the solution (I guess they think they are too good to speak with Customers).

Room Tip: Don't bother doing the prepaid. You are just saving $5-$10/Night and not worth the aggravation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sapwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here with a friend after booking online via Expedia. Nice location with shopping attached. New modern and very clean rooms. Minibar was include in our 1 bedroom suite-style room. Nice touch that the hotel water is ozonated - never had a problem in Colombia but for those who worry this is a great amenity. Room service was mixed - meals and sandwiches were good, did not care for the pizza. Staff was excellent. If in Cali again would absolutely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Loved this place. Having never been to Cali before, I was advised to stay more north (lots of good clubs/night life up that way) and this place certainly didn't disappoint. Great service, huge room, comfortable and located right in a huge mall. Great for down time so you can shop with the locals. Also right next to Carrefour a giant wal-mart type place for some cheap snacks, etc. The breakfast (included) was amazing and was very welcome after nights out and the pool area was also another bonus. But hit the pool in the morning, only downfall of the hotel was the sun shifts behind the hotel and shades the pool way too early for my taste. The mini bar is complementary, the staff is very very friendly and the whole place is clean and comfortable. Great price and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZTAKPsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Located in Cali's Northern Chipichape neighborhood is where you can practically do all your buisness. The Spiwak offers great accomodations, wonderful rooms and excellent service. It is within the Chipichape shopping malll that in itself is like a small city that has great shops to buy anything you might need expensive or even cheap but great quality clothes, food of all kinds. It has banks, great movie theatre and on and on! It's great small restaurants with typical food are great too (like the empanadas and arepas...yummy!) and coffee and liquor stalls at every turn! At a neighborhood nearby of Menga..there are adult disco and bars great fun for drinking and dancing and to watch those HOT CALENOS dance SALSA!! The hotel is in a great neighborhood that is upper middle class therefore you feel very safe. It felt well guarded and everyone was very friendly. If you have children there are great activities wihin the mall itself to entertain them for hours! The Spiwaks Hotel personal and only complaint is the pool, very small and it's location close to the outside dinning area that seemed odd, but they have one! I was happy to find a replacement for the " getting old" Intercontinental, besides it's all about location right?

Room Tip: Best to choose the NORTH ones that aren't above the restaurants I believe. But if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brujula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
1.4 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 92 in Cali
841 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
7.3 mi away
NH Cali Royal
NH Cali Royal
#7 of 92 in Cali
458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torre De Cali Hotel
Torre De Cali Hotel
#31 of 92 in Cali
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali

Address: Avenida 6d 18 | Chipichape Mall, Cali 760046, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Price Range: $77 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali - A Preferred Hotel has opened its doors in order to redefine the concept of luxury in hotels in Cali and in all of Colombia. This is the only hotel in Cali where business and pleasure come together to provide an experience beyond your highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing