We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hostel with everything you need”
Review of Iguana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iguana Hostel
Ranked #11 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hostel in cali with everything with everything you could want from a hostel. I arrived on my own and met lots of people to hang out with. There's lots of communal spaces that are colourful, comfy and spacious, I particularly liked the chilled, sunny garden. Free salsa classes and barbecues. The staff are helpful and friendly, there's even hot water in the shower. I'll be heading back sometime for certain!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank thewanderingseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Iguana Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This spacious hostel is a little like a oasis just outside the centre of Cali, yet still only a 20 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride to all Cali has to offer. The rooms are spacious, clean and airy. I'm travelling with 2 other people and the staff made our choice easy by hooking us up with a private room with 3 beds, private bathroom and free morning coffee for around 10 dollars per person per night. Don't miss the free salsa classes every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Plus the staff can help you find all the local attractions and clubs in the area. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4,573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Really well set-up, spacious hostel. Lots of greenery with a nice terrace for BBQ's and drinks. Nice kitchen and dining area. Dorms are clean and comfortable with private bathrooms. The hostel is in a really safe part of town very close to restaurants and bars. Would not recommend the BBQ. We were told it was going to be at 8 and had to wait till 11. $10,000 for small portions and overcooked meat. Would recommend the salsa lessons. My friend and I took a private class and loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 780amy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice rooms, good communal ares, lots of places to chill out. Big, well stocked guest kitchen. Helpful staff. Like this hostal, but id probably opt to stay in a different neighbourhood if i came back to Cali. This neighbourhood is safe...but not the most happening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but we enjoyed our stay. The room was big and clean and we had the shared bathroom to ourselves. It's a good place to stay near ish the bsu station, rather than all the way downtown.
The only problem was when we tried to leave there was no one on the desk. This was pretty odd at 7.45 am and we had to rush to catch our bus. They should have a bell or something to attract attention.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SettledinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed in many hostels in Colombia over the past 6 years and the Iguana ranks up there amongst my top 10 favorites.
Why? It provides the winning combination ...

The Iguana is located in an attractive, safe and quiet neighbourhood, in the Granada district in the northern part of Cali, it is walking distance to everything from supermarkets to nightlife.
The main house has well appointed quiet rooms and a small 5-bed dorm, the adjoining house has dorms, some with private baths.
The gardens provide an urban oasis, including hammocks, where you are tempted to spend way too much time....
Salsa and Spanish language teachers, who teach at the hostel, are excellent and the staff themselves are friendly & helpful.
Recent kitchen renovations have improved the cooking facilities.

The result is a warm, friendly, social hostel which you never want to leave .... except perhaps for some salsa....
I look forward to returning ASAP :)

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraInColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place was crowded with 20-somethings and they partied until well past midnight. We actually blogged about this place because it was so extreme.

The place is obviously well-known with the young international-traveler party crowd.

The staff, cleanliness, and facility met good standards. However hot water was in limited supply, and we got some bug bites.

However, we survived it with a good story to tell and moved on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#27 of 90 in Cali
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
3.4 mi away
OfiHotel Versalles
OfiHotel Versalles
#12 of 90 in Cali
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
1.1 mi away
El Viajero Hostel Cali
0.3 mi away
La Sucursal Hostel
La Sucursal Hostel
#2 of 139 in Cali
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Hostel

Address: Avenida 9A Calle 22 N, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguana has been welcoming backpackers to Cali, Colombia's salsa capital since 1998. The Hostel, with a green garden and excellent location in a quiet and secure residential neighbourhood is an oasis of calm but yet a stonethrow away from the local nightlife and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Iguana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing