We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Than Terrible!!!”
Review of Jovitas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jovitas Hostel
Ranked #70 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Cali, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worse Than Terrible!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I saw a poster for Jovitas in another hostel and then checked out the reviews. Other than a few negatives, this place looked amazing, so I called and reserved a dorm bed. I arrived, checked in, and then it was all downhill from there. They forgot to mention that the whole place is undergoing renovations except for the entrance garden and a couple of dorm rooms. No gym, no running water in the filthy kitchen, a refrigerator that barely works, and very few places to sit because everything is torn up. In fact, one of the few lounge chairs broke when I sat on it and I'm not a very big guy. The lockers are nice sized, but a conventional padlock won't fit them leaving you to rent a smaller one from them. The beds only have one bottom sheet and mine had sand and dirt in it from the last user and the pillow was covered with hair!!! It's warm in Cali so I can understand not needing another sheet, but DIRTY sheets are unacceptable. The showers need repair too - the first I entered had a broken latch, the second didn't have warm water, and finally the third was decent. I wouldn't recommend this place to anybody unless you like paying for crap and being awakened at 7am by jackhammers outside your door.

Just to give you an idea, the next day I found La Pinta Boogaloo a short walk away and paid a buck more for an amazing hostel that includes a pool, breakfast, use of nearly gourmet kitchen, and an impeccable grounds and over-the-top helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
6
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was expecting to stay here a couple of days, but thanks to all the fun activities that Jovitas organises (salsa lessons, yoga, and nights full of laughter and friends) I made this my new home for about 3 months. The hostel has been renovated completely recently, so the quality of dorms and communal areas is great. If you are a salsa addict, expect to have your best dances in this hostel! And if you are looking for great new friendships, Jovitas is your place too. I have never experienced a place where locals are so welcoming and open to show their city to travellers. The only risk that you take when booking this hostel is that it makes you coming back, over and over again... ;)

Big kiss to Anuar, Ronald, Diana, Diana, Victor, Carlos & Francy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaike2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great hostel, people are very friendly and helpfull and they speak english very well. You will really feel at home here! There are free salsa clases every day, free yoga classes and you can take private salsa classes with really good and nice salsateachers. The neighbourhood is nice and safe as well. For me this was the best hostel in my trip of six months, would love to return here some day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karine323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Good

Is near downtown

The bad

The place is pretty dingy.
Atmosphere ???? Where here? lol
They pack people into rooms by having 3 story bunkbeds, the beds are soft, the sheets are really old and there is no fan.
The kitchen is small but do-able.
Staff are ignorant and don´t seem to make the connection between guests and where their income comes from.
Staff let random people come into the hostel at night to hang out, great way to have your stuff disappear.
They adverise "free salsa".....it is not free, it´s $25000 cop a lesson.

I sayed here before and am writing from past experience, today I got in at 6 am and didn´t know of any other hostels at the time so went here...only planned on one night on my way to Ecuador.

So I checked in at 6:30 , put my bags down and fell asleep in one of the hammocks. The whole place went into construction at about 8. By 9 am I realized there is no running water in the hostel. That means toilets don´t flush, no washing hands and the kitchen is piled with dirty dishes. I asked for a refund, or a at least some of my money back and was refused by a 16 year old girl working there. I exlained I hadn´t even used my bed but apparently using a hammock for a few hours costs the hostel money. I had to argue with her to explain she is not the owner and can´t make those calls based on her opinion.
After some time I got the owners number who didn´t pick up...probably a fake number.

There is a hostel a few blocks up from Jovitas where your money will get you more. Also some good ones in the north of the city.

Bottom line
Stay away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cali hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The good:
Nice and friendly staff
Great place to meet people
Surrounding area is safe to walk around
Rooms are dark (good for sleeping in the day after spending the night enjoying the salsa in Cali).
Good Wifi

The bad:
The place is not that clean and looks a little run down....
Beds are not that comfy
Bathrooms are not very clean (and there are not enough bathrooms)
No hot water (however not really needed in heat of Cali).

Friendly staff- great place to meet people- however not that clean and needs some improvement in regards to the rooms and bathrooms.....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroDoyleAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Please forgive me, but I must tell the truth, we stayed at this hostel and without telling anyone they raised the prices and told us that if we did not like it we could go some place else. Without any reservation we were forced to pay 5 times more than we were quoted when we made our reservation. The bathrooms had no paper and no soap, the hot water does not work and the staff never cleaned the place in the five days we stayed there, look somplace else before you stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilaspilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here two nights in a dorm. The place is absolutely disgusting, the toilets are pretty far from the rooms, there is neither soap or toilet paper in the bathrooms, there is hardly warm water coming from an old fashion electricity system in the shower. You get only a bed in this place and nothing further. The common area might be noisy, disturbing the rooms around it. The computers are very old. The location is not too central, and there is nothing to do around there for night life etc. The service very bad, they didn't even ask for a taxi for us when we left the place, they said the phone was broken... Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.0 mi away
El Viajero Hostel Cali
0.3 mi away
Hostal Encuentro
Hostal Encuentro
#1 of 128 in Cali
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#25 of 89 in Cali
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal Mi Tierra
Hostal Mi Tierra
#12 of 103 in Cali
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jovitas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jovitas Hostel

Property: Jovitas Hostel
Address: Carrera 5 # 4-56 Barrio San Antonio, Cali, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jovita’s is a positively energizing experience. In fact, you won’t want to leave and you’ll most definitely want to return.Why? Because Jovita’s hostel welcomes you into the caleño culture. It’s the best place to enjoy the caleño spirit with the kindness and friendship of caleños , salsa culture and latin fiesta.Jovita’s Hostel is a huge house with very comfortable space, gardens, internet and TV lounge with 24-hour home theatre, game room, mini bar, and many more surprises!!!JOVITA’S HOSTEL, THE BEST PLACE TO ENJOY THE CALEÑO SPIRIT WITH FRIENDLY CALEÑOS, SALSA CULTURE AND LATIN FIESTA!ADRIANA, CECILIA, DIDIER, KATY and CARLOS are always willing to share the great Caleño heart and show our guests the most important salsa bars, the fantastic local food, the Caleño-salsa culture, the permanent and unique culturalevents for free as well as other outdoor activities in beautiful and natural settings. Most important of these being the Caleño people.We are the only hostel in Colombia that offers professional SALSA and LATIN DANCE classes with world champion salsa instruction (SON DE LUZ) and also professional yoga classes (ISHKA YOGA), FOR FREE!!But we still have more FOR FREE!!!!:Mini Bar; Gym, Games Zone, 24 hours Internet and Wi-Fi, 24 hours 42″ TV with Home Theatre!!!, Conferences about salsa culture and Guided tours to the best salsa bars.Jovita’s Hostel is centrally located in the quiet, safe, historic BARRIO SAN ANTONIO, recognized as one of the most diverse areas in Cali. It is the perfect place to chill out while meeting the warm and friendly local people in its parks, restaurants and at the best cafés.We are within walking distance from Cali’s hottest night life: Barrio El Peñon, Alameda, Granada and La Sexta (Zona Rosa), plus numerous bars like TIN TIN DEO, cafés and restaurants.Jovita´s Hostel is a few blocks from Cali’s historical centre, with museums, churches, cultural attractions and places for leisure. Close by is the trail to “El Cerro de Las Tres Cruces” (the hill with the three crosses), a challenging and popular climb, with a summit which offers a spectacular view of Cali. We are located only one block from the famous “Calle Quinta” (Fifth Street) and very close to thePASCUAL GUERRERO SOCCER STADIUM.Jovita’s Hostel is comfortable, clean and safe with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.WHY GUESTS LOVE TO STAY AT JOVITA’S HOSTEL…..BECAUSE*. Katy and Carlos, the owners, are from Cali and personally attend to offering anauthentic experience in Cali.*. We love our city and we love sharing its culture with tourists, which is the reason we opened the hostel.*. We love to serve our guests as if they were our own family.*. If you have just arrived in Colombia we can help you plan your travel to optimize your time and expenses!!!*. We are located in San Antonio, the traditional, central and preferred neighborhood in Cali which is only a few steps from the best restaurants, cafés and salsa bars.*. Sandra, Cecilia and Didier, our staff, pamper, care for and treat our guests as if they were in their own homes.*. We love “salsa” culture and want to share it with you.*. We have agreements with some of the best schools of salsa and yoga in Colombia for the benefit of our guests.*. We offer the best and most complete service for our guests.*. and we definitely have the best prices!!!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing