We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solsticio

Solsticio
Ranked #84 of 661 Restaurants in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place was a surprise for us because on the outside it looks much more expensive than it is. We ended up eating here twice because the food is so good and the menu is so big.

The salmon with passionfruit was super freaking delicious and both of the chicken plates we had on the first night were also good. Our waiter was attentive and the food was served quickly. The smaller serving size (the default) for the chicken plates was a little too small, so it's a good idea to order appetizers and/or the bigger portion.

On the second night we ordered one of the salads and were blown away by how delicious it was. It had nuts and apples and a light cream sauce that made us inhale it. It was almost a dessert for how sweet it was, but it was a perfect start to the dinner. I ordered an asian-style plate that was just ok. I would probably choose the chicken or fish over it.

We also had drinks the second night that were ok. The mojitos were a bit too sweet and I added tabasco to my bloody mary to give it a bit more bite.

Overall the food here is great for the price and the staff are wonderfully friendly, so it's definitely worth a try during a visit to Cali.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank featherless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the restaurant and we had a great lunch. You could pick the size of your portion (beef, fish, chicken) and add your two side dishes. Everything was fresh and made to order. I ordered fish with coconut & curry sauce and it was delicious! We also had sangria, very refreshing and tasteful. Service was excellent.
If we go back to visit Cali, we'll stop by this restaurant for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigita655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never sit in its "wintergarden"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The restaurant is nicely located within the Granada district, among many other nice places. We went there during a rainy evening and made the bad decision to take a table in their "wintergarden", which is a totally closed "terrarium"-type part of the restaurant. We had not noticed that, and were really disappointed not to feel any of the nice evening air of this tropical city. The food was good, but all in all not a pleasant experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katarina2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were greeted by the owner who made us feel at home! We oredered wine which the owner recommended The service was excellent. Very attentive and the prices were real value for money!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Dishes come with 1 or 2 side dishes. Meat and fish is good.

Helpful?
Thank Conocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solsticio also viewed

Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
Cali, Valle del Cauca Department
 

Been to Solsticio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing