We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dated old quality hotel with excellent staff and good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel American Golf
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bit dated old quality hotel with excellent staff and good facilities”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location, huge rooms, with tons of storage and a large fridge. It looks almost as if it were formerly apartments or studios.

The staff are lovely and couldn't be more helpful. Outside terrace with clean pool and the breakfast is excellent.

Would return and am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badmuscle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalia G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel American Golf, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
The American Golf family want to thanks you to stay at our hotel and for giving your flattering and favorable comments. This makes us believe that our labor is essential for our clients. Our principal goal is to has a great customer service. We are keep working to give you an unique experience.
We expect you to come back soon!
It’s Our Privilege to Serve You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
21
37
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

While visiting Barranquilla, I really enjoyed it. Honestly the food inside the hotel the is AMAZING!! Loved it.. Please order fajitas the barnes, I'm sire you will never forget this hotel when it comes to it and its service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipe0millan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEIDY_POLO_P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel American Golf, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
The American Golf family want to thanks you to stay at our hotel and for giving your flattering and favorable comments. This makes us believe that our labor is essential for our clients. Our principal goal is to has a great customer service. We are keep working to give you an unique experience.
We expect you to come back soon!
It’s Our Privilege to Serve You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

While visiting Cartagena, had to travel to Barranquilla to visit a brother and other family, although it was only for a day, my wife and I had the good fortune to choose this hotel, and we are glad we did, the complimentary refreshment as we walked in towards the front desk, set the good mood about this place, every thing was perfect.
The hotel is rather new and very modern, and happen to be in one of the best area of Barranquilla(Alto Prado). The service staff very friendly and accommodating.
One suggestion though, they should honor the complimentary cocktail at any hour, we couldn't have our because we were 15 min. late. Overall excellent!

Room Tip: get a room with a view to the south of the city if you are in a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jashgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalia G, Public Relations Director at Hotel American Golf, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much, for taking these minutes to comment on our TripAdvisor profile.
Your comment is very important for us and we feel motivate to continue working to satify the needs of our guests.

Thank you very much for the suggestion related to the complimentary cocktail, we will consider your advice for your next visit.

We expect you to come back soon!


It’s Our Privilege to Serve You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have stayed here for the third time in the year. The hotel and its staff are excellent.
Customer service is good. Facility is well maintained .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEIDY_POLO_P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel American Golf, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
The American Golf family want to thanks you to stay at our hotel and for giving your flattering and favorable comments. This makes us believe that our labor is essential for our clients. Our principal goal is to has a great customer service. We are keep working to give you an unique experience.
We expect you to come back soon!
It’s Our Privilege to Serve You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hotel was referred to me by local friends - that live in the neighborhood. I stayed in April,2011- and again now August 16th -22nd.

The place has a charm of old world mixed with Barranquilla - attitude of lay back. The rooms a clean, and tastefully decorated. The staff are great - Manual the front desk person, could not do more to make your stay comfortable. He is more of NY style concierge . ( He knows the in and outs of deals in the city) John the security person, extremely conscious of your well being and safety in the hotel and around the neighborhood ( The community is residential - upper middle class- wealthy ) yet you feel like you are not in a hotel environment .
I truly have enjoyed my stay- and have made reservations ahead for the Carnival, the hotel is a mid stop for the parade . Price and meals are priced accordingly . Loved the place and highly recommend it all.

Room Tip: The rooms are between the Holiday Inn -Deluxe and a standard at the Hilton.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I am a Canadian business man who travels very often travels to Barranquilla, and out of all the hotels that I have stayed in the city, this is by far the best value. I would definately stay here again. My spouse says the service is by far the best when it comes down to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

The hotel is nicely appointed. The service is very good. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast was included and was adequate. A/C in the room worked well but hot water seemed to be nonexistent which I’m told is common in Colombia. The beds are as hard as the floor which seems to be the norm in Colombia; I thought I was sleeping on the box spring.
I didn’t feel that safety was an issue. There may be nicer places to stay but you may have to pay a premium price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beerman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#1 of 58 in Barranquilla
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#25 of 58 in Barranquilla
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#2 of 58 in Barranquilla
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barranquilla Plaza
Hotel Barranquilla Plaza
#17 of 58 in Barranquilla
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country International Hotel
Country International Hotel
#13 of 58 in Barranquilla
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Golf

Property: Hotel American Golf
Address: Calle 82 # 58-41, Barranquilla 080001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel American Golf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel American Golf It is located in the prestigious Golf de Barranquilla, is the most important and influential residential area of ​​the city, close to major financial centers and Stores. We have 76 Rooms, Pool, Gym, Sauna, Business Center, four meeting rooms for social and corporate gatherings, Restaurant and Cafe Bar Rooms: We offer our guests bright rooms with modern design, where we found the perfect combination of relaxation and work, find space and comfort, double bed, work desk equipped with the necessary elements for your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing