We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility, needs a service upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dann Carlton Barranquilla
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Barranquilla
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed one night in a Suite in Barranquilla, July 4. The room was nice and spacious. The bedding soft, the pool was good. The rooftop is a panoramic jewel that rotates 360 degrees. However, service needs to be upgraded to the level of the hotel. I called in Spanish for room maintenance due to a lack of air-conditioning. It took more than 30 minutes for someone to come to the room and fix it. An additional room service call for a wines took more than 30 minutes and two phone call to make it happen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RogerGCarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dann C, Publicist at Dann Carlton Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,
Dear Mr. Roger.

Your comments and opinion are very important to us. The Hotel will contact you directly to review your service experience in our hotel. We appreciated your kind comments regarding to our facilities.

Best Regards,
Hotel Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 259 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Internet connection throughout was poor, not the most friendly atmosphere especially the check in check out, and way to expensive for what you get. Not a 5 Starhotel. maybe 2 at best. the best part of the trip was the breakfast and closeness to the mall, other than that not my favorite place.

Room Tip: Try the Sonestra hotel a little further away but worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dann C, Publicista at Dann Carlton Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest.

Your opinion and your satisfaction with our services is very important for us, we will ask you to provide contact information in order to be able to know your experience directly.

Best Regards,
Hotel Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have many problems with the airline and the bags, and they take care of everything for us!! It is well located and the pool area is very nice. Me and my husband had a romantic dinner in the roof bar, the food was amazing and the view make it even better. me and my family were very pleased to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 1, 2014

Dear Katerina

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you soon back again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Words are powerless to express my gratitude..excellent service start when you call to book your room, then at registration the day of your arrival, and every time you enter or leave the hotel. Staff are always willing to help you not only with your luggage but with any need that you might have.
Excellent service, stunning professionalism!!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and spacey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dann C, Publicist at Dann Carlton Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Mr Victor,

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards,

Hotel Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My family and I have stayed here on various occasions and look forward to our next trip back! We have family in Barranquilla so we visit frequently and have stayed and different hotels, but this is the best one! It is located directly across from the main mall which is a great, safe location and we can do all shopping there as it has a supermarket on the ground floor. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The restaurant has amazing breakfast, which is great because a Colombian breakfast is one of the best. The pool is perfect and is very refreshing as the weather is always hot. Service is nice and the staff are helpful and friendly. Another plus is the party/event rooms as my family attended a wedding there a few years ago. It's large and can accommodate large number of guests. The hotel is very nice to have a wedding, especially next to the beautiful pool. It's very easy to get around the city with the number of taxis waiting around, just need to be able to bargain with them as they do take advantage of tourists. Highly recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor would be more ideal since the city looks beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 183nicolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dann C, Publicist at Dann Carlton Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Nicole,

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.
We are delighted to here that you liked your stay in our house and that we could exceed your expectation. Looking forward to your return visit,

Best regards,
Hotel Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Basic accommodations, but modern hotel for the area. Hotel lobby and rooms are beautiful - white marble floors, air conditioning throughout. The staff is helpful and some speak helpful English though it helped to be with our Spanish-speaking colleague. The breakfast buffet was basic, coffee was good as I expected it to be in Colombia. The lobby restaurant was closed for renovations during part of my stay, so breakfast one day was staged in the revolving restaurant (that was not revolving that morning). Did not have opportunity to have dinner there because we went across the street for dinner.
Across the street are the Buenavista malls (two malls/buildings) with modern shopping (a lot of upscale brands) and dining reminiscent of any North American mall food court plus additional stand-alone restaurants throughout.
When I return to Barranquilla, I will again stay at the Dann Carlton.

Room Tip: Overlooking the mall/main street, street/traffic noise was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dann C, Publicist at Dann Carlton Barranquilla, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Derek,

In order to your review about your stay in our hotel, our commitment is to satisfy our guests with the highest quality standards, with excellence and the five stars service that characterized our franchise. We are very happy to hear that the hotel met all of your expectations. We will be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel

Thank you for all of your kind comments.

Best Regards,
Hotel Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very modern but pretty basic accommodations. Across the street from plenty of shopping. The views from the restaurant were spectacular. It was a revolving floor. Service at the restaurant was disastrously slow. Go only for a drink. And this was when our group was the only ones present. Great pool. Very clean

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThorMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#2 of 59 in Barranquilla
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
Estelar En Alto Prado Hotel
#12 of 59 in Barranquilla
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 59 in Barranquilla
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
Sonesta Hotel Barranquilla
#14 of 59 in Barranquilla
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dann Carlton Barranquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dann Carlton Barranquilla

Address: Carrera 52b - 10, Barranquilla 080005, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barranquilla
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barranquilla
#6 Business Hotel in Barranquilla
Price Range: $64 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dann Carlton Barranquilla 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dann Carlton Barranquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Carlton Barranquilla Hotel Barranquilla
Hotel Dann Barranquilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing